We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Tired Hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stay in Hilton properties whenever we travel. This was the only choice due to the location of the event we were there to celebrate. Nothing broken or shabby, just well worn. Staff was bored with the front desk position. Breakfast was well cleaned out by 9:30.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank rbp1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your travels to our area. I appreciate your feedback and we continue to look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and refresh opportunities are something we actively examine. Renovations are being planned and we look forward to sharing our new product with each of our guests. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share and hope we can invite you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Excellent location to everything you need. Restaurants, gas and groceries within a 1/2 mile, Scottish games site 15 minutes away and downtown Charleston only 20 minutes. Easy freeway access and a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

4 of us traveled to Charleston to visit my niece who is attending the College of Charleston. We stayed here because all the downtown hotels were sold out due to several conventions in town that weekend. So it was located farther away then we preferred but we rented a car anyway so it was not a big deal for us. The staff was friendly and welcoming. Our room was ready although we were checking in early. It was clean, the bed comfortable and it was quiet so we slept well. In the morning, there was full, free breakfast in the lobby, buffet style with plenty of coffee. It was very pleasant, clean, and comfortable with friendly staff. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have been on an extended road trip and have stayed in a variety of hotel chains, b&b's and Mom and Pop type hotels. All in all, as far as the chains go, I am becoming a fan of the Hampton Inns. They are sometimes a bit higher priced than other chains, but "you get what you paid for". They come with a hot breakfast, complimentary, and the Daniel Island location is no exception. It is staffed, and the woman working was extremely friendly and helpful. Graham at the front check in = check out was efficient, friendly, and accommodating. This location as a nice outdoor only pool, and a fitness room with newer equipment and free weights. The location is within walking distance of all things in the small, quaint "downtown" area, as well as the Family Center tennis center. If you are going to this area for any reason, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had an end room on 5th floor - amply sized, very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellaire56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Not only did the room smell but the front desk employee. Refered me to the Marriott. I continued to advise the employee that I was a Hilton Honors member and wanted to stay at a Hilton property. He again told me to go to a Marriott. The one thing that was good was the breakfast and the next day the evening front desk person was friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you so much for your loyalty to us and to our brand. We appreciate your valuable feedback and are just as perplexed about your experience with our front office staff. We appreciate your review and addressing your comments accordingly. We hope to welcome you back soon and demonstrate our true hospitality through and through.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Found this location to be perfect for seeing the city, easily accessible to all main roads. Bedding quality high, furnishings a little dated but in reasonably good shape. The pool was nice, but needed some cpoing and tile work where cracks had appeared.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Quiet wooded area just a short drive from downtown. The post it note on bed that duvet and sheets were fresh and clean made me chuckle - shouldn't they be clean but I guess it was reassuring to know. The room reeked of what smelled like urine which appeared to be emanating from the carpet.....so bare feet never touched the carpet. If this had not been such a short trip during which we spent very little time in the room, we would have switched rooms or hotels, if necessary. Breakfast is a your ordinary restaurant buffet food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback. As part of our brand standard, we place notes on the headboards to alert guests that a fresh duvet and linens have been provided. We're sorry if this was confusing for you. We're also very sorry to hear there was an unpleasant smell in your guest room and have asked our maintenance team to look into this. We hope we can invite you back again for a great stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island

Address: 160 Fairchild St, Charleston, SC 29492-7504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £107 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing