We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice at times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Kernersville, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice at times”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

have stayed here 2 times. area is work in progress, parking taken up by large equipment working next door. (at least 15 parking spaces, which were needed, they should have parked the bulldozers on the side street) woman traveler, they put me on 1st floor, which would have been nice, but the parking lot is RIGHT OUTSIDE YOUR WINDOW. RIGHT OUTSIDE, inches away. sofa showing wear, but biggest problem was the airconditioner, my eyes were red 30 minutes inside the room. on the plus side, nice take out chinese in the strip shopping center next door.

Room Tip: ask for the second floor if you want to use the computers. also better since you have stairs from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fittobeblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan O, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for being a repeat guest at the Hampton Inn and Suites West Ashley, we appreciate your business. Just to clarify a couple of items from the review entitled "nice at times".
The Toyota dealership next to the hotel is under renovations and has large equipment parked in it's lot they do not park those vehicles inthe hotel parking lot. We do however have other regular guests that have trailers attached to thier large trucks which is at times inconvienient but they are other guests of the hotel.
As for the air conditioner in the room;we do appologize for making having the stay be less than expected.
There was no mention of a report being given to our desk associates or a member of the management staff during the stay. If we don't know there is a problem we can't fix it to ensure our guests have the best stay they deserve. There could have been a room move to make this guest more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    223
    79
    51
    32
See reviews for
301
291
45
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here on one of our recent beach trips. We chose this hotel because it is a short drive to Folly Beach, and we thought the price was decent.

Getting to the hotel is a tad tricky because of the traffic pattern and some construction. When approaching the light where you turn, you MUST be sure you are in the far right lane-also, be aware of which parking lot you are turning into. I nearly had us going to the business next door. But, not their fault-the city is working hard to make improvements, and sometimes we have to put up with a little inconvenience, right?

When we pulled onto the property, it was very neat, orderly and clean. The landscaping was beautiful, and we saw the pool area had a tall solid concrete wall around the pool area, with an occasional secure iron gate. The lobby was beautifully done also-very ell decorated.

When we walked into the room, LOVED the smell! My guess is they have scented air filters in the rooms so you always walk into a fresh smelling room. Shortly after we got to our room, the guest services person called to see if we approved of our room. Thought that was great customer service! We had ample amount of towels, and the toiletries in the room were very nice.

The wireless signal worked very well, and seemed to stream at a decent speed. Not once did I experience any lag time while using my laptop. The beds were very comfortable, and the pillows felt like they could have been feather pillows.

The breakfast was decent. We had the typical choice of cereals, muffins, bagels and some danishes. The hot breakfast area had oatmeal with a limited selection of "extras" to put in the oatmeal (brown sugar, slivered almonds and a raisin mix), along with the choice of instant oatmeal. They had seasoned potatoes that were rather good, omelets and sausage links. Of course the waffle maker was there, and they had a few typical items for the waffles. The juice selection was good-really enjoyed the guava passion orange juice!

Overall, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We felt safe and comfortable, and enjoyed the easy drive to the beach

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbower0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Mgmt sold my Guaranteed room & I am Hilton Honors Diamond Member (highest level available) & to make matters worse it is the 2nd time it has happened at this location in less than 30 days, I'm convinced that they sell out all rooms & charge no shows (double dipping) Please Stay Somewhere else!!!!!!
They put you out in street & could. Are lass a out you!
This my 1st Bad revue Ever but Deserving. !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank55065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Ms G DINGLE help me make my reservation walked me thur step by step which made it all very heilpful .The staff thur out was very friendly The breakfast had nice varitey ,the pool was very clean,the grandchildren enjoyed the five o'clock fresh baked cookies.our room was freshly cleaneach day .You couldn't ask for anything better.will vist again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte ,NC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We used this hotel to stay the night before a cruise,the price includes car parking, breakfast and a shuttle to and from the port.
The hotel is extremely nice, the breakfast plentyful, close to local resturants. The pool was quite and nice

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMomCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

My family were in town and decided to stay at this property because the site was close to our family outings. The hotel was clean.the carpet in our room needed to be cleaned it was dirty but had been vacuumed. The sinks stopped up easily. The shower pressure was not good at all more water went in the tub than through the shower head. My husband called about those items. They fixed the kitchen sink but not the other items. We went to breakfast and all the guest warned us to heat our eggs because they were cold! The room was just ok! They could use some renovating. We stayed in a suite! We will not return to this Hampton Inn.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sexysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here 3 nights while visiting Charleston. It is a little bit of a drive to the downtown area, but we like staying in a more suburban area and didn't mind the trip. Lovely hotel, nice pool, very nice guest room, good workout facility and great happy hour with wine, beer and appetizers. We didn't need to go out to dinner afterwards! Used the guest laundry, which required a small fee, but was convenient. Cookies and ice water in the lobby were nice features. Didn't care for the touch screen computer in the business center. Too difficult to use. Desk clerks were helpful with maps and directions.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retireewannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 62 in Charleston
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,174 reviews
4.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Address: 678 Citadel Haven Dr, Charleston, SC 29414-5642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing