We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, SC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
ohio city
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, SC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Located on Hwy. 17, it is an easy drive into Charleston, about 6-1/2 miles away.
Besides offering all the amenities expected at Hilton's Hampton Inns, the staff was exceptional here. Gernette at the front desk was very professional while being very friendly. The breakfast area was well stocked and quite clean. I didn't see anything during our one-night stay that wasn't well-cleaned. It was a great stay for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pep1per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    211
    70
    43
    31
See reviews for
277
269
40
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
buffalo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed for two nights at this location while visiting family nearby. The property is modern and comfortable, and on-par for most Hampton Inns I've visited. Our room was generally clean on arrival, although I did spot lots of tiny bugs in the bathroom sink - nothing alarming, but not pleasant either. Housekeeping was a bit lax as I noted the bathroom was still a bit messy after they (presumably) cleaned (and we aren't very messy people). Breakfast looked good but it was crowded and we were in a rush - we did grab a few warm biscuits to go which were delish.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston/West Ashley!

I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect. I have taken your comments to the housekeeping team in order to better serve future guests.

Please let me know if there is anything else I can do to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

When we first arrived we were given our keys to our room the staff was very friendly. Unfortunately it went down hill from there... We opened our hotel room to find guest already occupying this room. Not only did this startle us but definitely the people stayin inside! This was VERY uncomfortable. We were then given another room to which looked nothing like the pictured showed as being roomy. The beds were comfortable and the down comforters were a bonus. The next morning we woke up with our check out paperwork under the door and it had the first room we went to occupants address on it! I would be furious if some stranger had my address! The bad definitely outweighed the good in this stay. The prices are definitely over priced for what you get. We will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
It is extremely unfortunate to hear that there was a mix up with your paperwork for your room! I have addressed with the front desk staff so that we can avoid this in the future. Pleae let me know if there is anything I can do to assist you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a nice weekend in Charleston, everyone at the Hampton Inn was wonderful. It was clean as a pin. We thought it might be noisy, but heard nothing from outside. The breakfast bar was fully stocked, nothing was running out and the girls working the area were friendly, speaking to each guest they encountered.
When we checked out, I did the usual check of the room...however my husband had some items hanging in the closet that we missed. He called and Lashae was so kind and found the items and had them shipped to us in two days. Great Job!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenethumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

No complaints. Staff was always smiling, helpful and kind. Entire hotel from the lobby to the rooms and bathrooms was very clean and tidy. The beds were clean and very comfortable. It seems the Hampton has thought of everything you might need on a trip away from home....hair dryer, iron and ironing board, toiletries, coffee maker....magnetic inlays on shower curtains to keep them in place. Most of all, it was so quiet you could not hear any noise from above, below or next door. The breakfast included was all we could ask for....of course, there is always room to improve on scrambled eggs...maybe boiled eggs? We will definitely seek out a Hampton Inn on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I liked the old south, but updated feeling I got upon entering the hotel. The location is perfect to visit Charleston and the plantations. The double rooms have two queens and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast room overlooks the lovely garden terrace and pool. There are tables outside for a great outdoors breakfast or relaxing cup of coffee. The pool is not heated and there is not a whilpool which my family really prefers, however this hotel has the location. We were at the battery in minutes and it is a short drive up to the plantations. The exercise room is typical of Hampton. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again up return.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/garden view when booking the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel itself was not bad, a little dated and musty smelling, but not bad. Our overall experience was however. We stay in hotels at least 15 weekends a year with our children's traveling sports teams and are loyal Hilton Honors members. We arrived on Friday and left on Sunday this particular weekend. My daughter has an elephant that she has had since she was born and turned 10 yrs old while staying in this Hampton. On Sunday we were packing up and failed to look between the sheets and the elephant was left behind. It wasn't until I tucked her in her own bed on Sunday night that we discovered "Ellie" missing. I immediately called and was told that lost and found was locked up for the night and to call back in the morning. I called at 8 AM Monday morning and spoke to housekeeping. At noon they called me back to tell me that housekeeping had found "Ellie" but had discarded her because she was "too worn"!!!!!! Who throws out a child's well loved, not worn stuffed animal? That is hotel housekeeping 101. I called later the next day, not with the expectation or need of anything, but just wanting management to know what a horrible mistake that was. Management told me that although they keep things in lost and found for up to 3 mo., items left behind are not their responsibility. Wrong answer again and that is Customer Service 101. I am a loyal Hilton Honors customer and I was terribly let down by this property, not to mention the heartbreak of my 10 year old.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bballhorsemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
4.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#27 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Address: 678 Citadel Haven Dr, Charleston, SC 29414-5642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing