We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless stay, hugely impressed....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites in West Ashley in October on a weeks holiday from the UK to see Charleston and the surrounding area. We specifically booked a 2 room suite with jacuzzi and paid a mixture of rates across the week which averaged out to approximately $100+tax per night.

First things first, this property is not hard to find, I really don't understand the negative comments on reviews about this. Once on Highway 17 (the Savannah Highway) it is an easy turn into Ashley Town Center Drive and then a right onto Citadel Haven Dr where the hotel is located. There is plenty of free parking available and even on a busy Columbus Day weekend we didn't have a problem finding a spot.

The welcome was a strange one as the guy who checked us in was on hold on the phone so we didn't quite get the great welcome we were expecting. However, it was efficient and we were up to our room in seconds.

We were on the 4th floor (room 402) and it was a lovely room. On entry the lounge part of the suite was huge and spotlessly clean and although we didn't spend too much time in this room it was handy for additional storage. We did have an occasional sit down on the sofa watching some TV or when we need to use the iron and board it was good to have this extra space. The next room was the bedroom which again was a nice size and featured the most comfortable king bed, truly exceptional and again very clean. The jacuzzi part of the suite and bathroom itself was a bit dated admittedly but once again, absolutely massive and clean. Overall we were very impressed with the suite and enjoyed coming back to this comfort every day. The maid service was second to none, absolutely fautless.
The breakfast I have to say was amazing. The staff really did make us feel at home on the first day and everything was kept nicely topped up even at busy times. The hot items were particularly good and staying for a week enabled us to see the variety on offer but for me the waffles were the highlight and the occasional Krispy Creme doughnuts that were provided. The breakfast room itself as well as the rest of the public areas is stunning with plenty of chairs and tables. There are also tables outside if you fancy some al fresco dining and with 80f+ temperatures in mid October, why not?

The location of the Hampton Inn is very good for seeing Charleston. It is a straight 15-20min drive down H17 to the Historic District and also provides easy access to the other areas such as North Charleston, Mt Pleasant and the beaches. If you stay here you do need a car but if you intend to head out to the plantations or beaches you should have one anyway. Comparatively, price wise, the Historic District was over double, and even three times as much as we paid for our suite at the Hampton Inn West Ashely which just goes to show how much of a bargain we got! Sure it is nice to walk around the Historic District and staying there is convenient but it isn't as bigger deal as some make out. There are plenty of restaurants on Savannah Highway, mostly national chains which is to be expected but also some local finds as well. There is a CVS practically next door to the hotel also. One meal we particularly enjoyed was at the West Ashley branch of T Bonz which is about a 10 minute drive from the hotel (they also have a restaurant in the HD).

Overall, we were glad we chose the Hampton. We got the consistentency expected from the brand but also some extra friendly hospitality, particularly at breakfast.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ju123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for a class reunion in Charleston. A gem of a hotel convenient to historic downtown Charleston, the Airport, shopping and restaurants. Nice location that was surprisingly quiet based on proximity to busy Charleston roads. Great friendly staff. Price is right compared to the much more expensive hotels close to The Citadel and downtown. Easy drive to any and all attractions. Quiet property with clean rooms and good beds. Good sleeping and I usually don't sleep well in hotels. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank JuanATravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great Hotel. Breakfast was very good. Hot and always in supply. The only thing that was a con was that in previous Hampton Inns, there was a USB plug/outlet attached to the wall. This hotel didnt have one so it was difficult to charge our cell phones, and ipod. We only had the USB charger with us so we had to charge in the car taking turns. I didnt realize that it varied from hotel to hotel and just assumed all Hampton Inn Hotels were equipped the same.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

As part of our driving vacation this year we decided to spend a couple of days in Charleston to see some of it's numerous sites. We needed a reasonably priced Hotel close to everything. This Hotel was excellent only 10 mins from downtown Charleston and easy access to Mount Pleasant and Plantation Houses. The Hotel itself was fantastic with a great atmosphere and very comfortable rooms. Could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My two night stay was great. The king suite is very spacious and comfy. Everything was clean and well maintained. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. While it is not right downtown, getting to the attractions is easy and problem free. There are ample restaurants and stores and the area feels very safe. Breakfast is varied by day and keeps things interesting with a full array of items for everyone. All in all - a great value and a great stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank gwinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our family group of six had three rooms. As requested, we got the three rooms together. The hallway and rooms were very quiet. Our room didn't have a microwave nor fridge when we got there but it was taken care of within minutes after I called the desk. Cookies in the lobby in the late afternoon was a nice touch. The sizable lobby was very comfortable for us to gather and spend time together. The breakfast was nice with a very comfortable place to eat. Rooms were a good size and large bathrooms. I did think it was a bit over priced for the distance it was from downtown Charleston. And, it was difficult to find out how to drive into the parking lot. It seemed that the entrance from the highway had been an afterthought when the motel was built.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel was excellent for the price. Great location, easy parking and check-in, comfortable and spacious room, clean, attentive staff, good breakfast with wide choice of food. TV and wifi internet worked well. And just 110-15 minute drive to the center of Charleston's historic district. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
0.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
250 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Address: 678 Citadel Haven Dr, Charleston, SC 29414-5642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £100 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing