We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpfullness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had never been to the area before. The checkin people listened to our questions and made good thoughtful recommendations. Not only was the hotel experience top notch, but they helped make our visit to the area much easier.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Eugene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great VAlue for the price. Used the snooze and cruise option. Only problem was the delay in the taxi picking us up upon our return to the port. The hotel was great with ample parking and large area for breakfast. The hot breakfast was lacking any hot breakfast meat eg. bacon or sausage. We had a suite that was very nice albeit the couch and chair were quite uncomfortable. The bathroom was almost the size of a cheaper motel room. All in all it was worth the money spent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Easy access to historic district, shopping and I-526. The Hampton complementary breakfast is tasty and filling, including waffles and hot entrees. Rooms are clean and quiet. Location is safe, with a beautiful, secluded pool area. Lobby is friendly and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A great place to stay and leave your car while on a cruise! The facilities and service were outstanding! The staff at the desk were both knowledgeable and friendly. Our room was spotless and all the linens were spotlessly clean! One of my pet peeves is having fitted sheets which pull loose during the night. This was not a problem with this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton. The rooms were nice and the beds were very comfortable. We both got a good nights sleep and the breakfast was good also. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay close to Charleston.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great value and great room. Thought we would take a chance and stay here. Everything was clean and welcoming. We were close enough to drive to the Historic District each day. Staff at the front desk were great. We will certainly return on our next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gsnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while visiting family in Charleston. The Hampton Inn West Ashley is about 20 minutes outside of the historic district. Downtown Charleston is a great walking city, but staying here means you must use your car each day. In Charleston, parking can be expensive and hard to find. However, for those who need a modestly priced alternative to downtown hotels, this place is worth considering.

Rooms are large and quite clean. Housekeeping was excellent considering that my wife and I are very particular (O.K., maybe even mildly OCD), so our standards are very high. We were on the first floor, and busy Savannah Highway is close by; yet we found this place very quiet.

The breakfast area is huge, with what must be 25 foot ceilings. Breakfast is included. In fairness, it is quite ordinary; the usual Hampton Inn fare. But hey, the money we saved was put to good use sampling Charleston's many very good restaurants (Hominy Grill and Al di La are two great choices).

The exercise room is also Hampton Inn quality: a mat, and exercise ball and three cardio machines. But this Hampton Inn makes a serious effort at paying homage to Lowcountry architecture: pine floors on the staircase are stained to look like cypress; there are southern style vertical shutters; and the owners planted as many palmetto trees as could be shoehorned into the snug footprint. The neighborhood is safe; there is a drugstore within walking distance. Citadel Square Mall is next door (but if you spend time at a mall while in Charleston, you should have your head examined). That said, the Target in the mall is a good stop for everything you forgot to pack. Citadel Square also has a very nice multi-plex if you want to see movie on a rainy day.

Charleston is, to some extent, a victim of its own success. The desirability of being in the middle of things has sent hotel rates on the Peninsula into the stratosphere. Everyone should be able to sample the delights of my beloved hometown. The Hampton Inn West Ashley can make a Charleston holiday an affordable pleasure. While it will never be mistaken for the Planter's Inn, it fills a niche for affordable accommodations within striking distance of downtown. We paid $85.00 per night in January, and I suspect that "in season" rates are significantly higher. However, this place will always be cheaper than comparable places downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stropertre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
4.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Address: 678 Citadel Haven Dr, Charleston, SC 29414-5642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £82 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing