We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Couch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Couch”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This room was with King size Bed and also had a sleeper/sofa. So often simular rooms have 1-2 chairs but the sofa made it more comfy. Hotel was in a nice location for us, close to downtown Charleston and close to Folly beach

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sterry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    217
    76
    46
    31
See reviews for
284
283
44
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel was very clean and modern, probably one of the nicest Hamptons we have stayed in. Check-in was easy and all the staff were very friendly. The location was right off the freeway, but seemed very quiet and safe. The rooms were good size as well as bathroom. The breakfast and eating area was large and seemed to be able to accommodate large groups. The decor of the hotel had a West Indies feel with palms and shutters. We had an easy time driving into downtown Charleston and back. Would recommend this hotel as a great option. We saved a lot by staying just a little outside the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkiemom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a nice easily accessed location for a short stay in Charleston SC. There's lots of parking and the hotel facilities are very good. Although a modern hotel the internal design is like a plantation building which is an added interesting feature. The self-service breakfast choice and quality was great and better still it was included in the room rate. The staff are very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drawoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The check in was smooth and the staff very helpful. The evening bar and snacks were a pleasant treat after a long drive. In the morning the breakfast was well presented with a variety of food to chose from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M. I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
209 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I'm a big Hampton Inn fan but this Hampton Inn has got to be the nicest one I've had the pleasure of staying in. Despite a long history with Hampton Inns, I had never stayed in one where I had an actual 2-room suite (akin to the Embassy Suites concept). This Hampton appeared to be relatively new and it was very clean and very well maintained. But - the 2-room suite was fantastic. Lots of space to spread out and relax.

There was a "manager's reception" from 5-7:00 with complimentary beer, wine and assorted appetizers and, of course, there was the requisite free breakfast. We were here 2 days and the complimentary breakfast was different both mornings. The manager's reception is a Monday-Thursday event - nothing on the weekend.

This Inn is in West Ashley (about 6 miles from downtown Charleston) and close to the river plantations and to the Charlestown Landing State Park. Its considerably less expensive than the downtown hotels and makes a good base for exploring the plantations before moving on to the downtown attractions.

One minor complaint (and this applies to Hampton Inns in general - not just to this particular location). The heavy DUVETS that are used on the beds are not real practical. Often times using just a sheet is not enough - but MOST times, the duvet covers are much too heavy. Hamptons really need to provide plain old blankets that are heavier than a sheet but lighter than a duvet.

Again - this was probably the nicest Hampton Inn I've visited and I like Hampton Inns in general.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaufort, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is amazing it is filled with smile makers and one in particular is Lachase at the front desk, she always has a smile on her face and is most helpful.. I enjoyed everything thing about my many stays here and consider it a home away from home... I love the whole package and at this location and can count on a flawless stay!!! The whole staff here is amazing!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a superb experience during our entire five day stay at this Hampton Inn. The service, sleep quality and cleanliness of room and general areas were all outstanding. Would recommend this Hampton Inn for a future visit to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
4.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#25 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Address: 678 Citadel Haven Dr, Charleston, SC 29414-5642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing