We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to recomend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A pleasant surprise in Charleston. Nicely placed in the historic district on John st. between Kind and Meeting st. Spending a weekend here, you don´t a car. Shopping, restaurants and the things you need within 1 min. of walking.

Nice and spacious room, breakfast not impressive, free wi-fi with good speed and an overall very nice staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennethtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,523 - 1,529 of 2,004 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was pleasently surprised by this hotel. The rooms were nice and tidy. Two things caught my attention. First, the breakfast spread went on and on and on. Very impressive and enjoyable. Although the hours were advertised as beginning at 0600. On my last day, when I came down to check out at 0515, the breakfast room was ready and none of that lights off stuff. Lady in charge welcomed me to anything I wanted. Second, on my first night I was woken from a dead sleep at 00:15 AM by a noise that turned out to be running water from room above. Guess this is an old structure with little dampening around pipes. Fortunately, the night owl above didn't disturbe me again, but you should be aware the plumbing in this hotel is not quiet.

Room Tip: I was given an inside room with double queen beds - even number. My hilton daimond member friend was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel was very near all the downtown attractions including King St, the market, and historic sites.

The rooms were adequate, but not enough towel racks in the bathroom
The breakfast was standard, so you may want to go out for something more interesting
The pool was small and not heated. A hot tub on site would be great. You can use the Embassy Suites hot tub, but that one was not in good condition.

The staff was fantastic. Animated, enthusiastic, charismatic, and charming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QTV-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. The personnel was really nice. The room was good, but the shower was changing temperature all the time... The breakfast was good.
You have to pay a least $14/day for parking, and it looks like it will be more that that starting June 1st 2013.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights before boarding a cruise from Charleston to the Bahamas. We got a cab from the airport to the hotel which was approximately $20. We arrived at the hotel early in morning far before check in time and the front desk staff, warmly welcomed us, took our luggage for storage within a couple minutes and offered us some breakfast. She also took our cell phone number and said she would call when our room was ready, which she did.The young lady at the front desk helped us immensely during our stay with directions, the first being bus information and how to get to the market. The free tourist bus stops directly across the street and takes you through the shopping area of King Street and to the Historic District. King Street is just a block from the hotel and easily walkable but the convenience of the bus is a nice option when you are just getting your bearings in a new city. As noted in other reviews, this hotel is at the end of the touristy area on King Street with the Embassy Suites being only a block away. There are other more expensive boutique style hotels in the historic district and closer to the cruise terminal but we were fine with walking several blocks as it helped us to get to know the city. We took a taxi to board the cruise and this was very convenient as it took us directly inside the port area and we literally got out of the cab and the cruise line personnel took our bags. Breakfast at the hotel was ample and organized and they had lots of staff on hand to replenish and be of assistance. As this hotel is in an older building, the air quality and humidity was a little on the damp side although the room was very clean. Our room was on the first floor and had two wooden doors that opened into the yard of the hotel where the pool was located. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate during our stay but this would be a lovely option in better weather. Thank you to the young lady from Florida who was working on the front desk during our stay for answering all our questions, providing recommendations for restaurants and sites and being helpful in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Great hotel across the street from Charleston Visitor Center. Staff was very helpful with our touring. Breakfast was quite satisfactory! Location was very important to us, so this hotel fit the bill completely!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This location worked out perfect for us. We could get to shopping, eating places and sights rather easily while in Charleston. Loved the quaintness of the hotel, the courtyard, the free breakfast and the friendly/ helpful staff. The only downside was we had to have smoking rooms and we are non smokers. That was a bit disgusting. But the hotel apparently was sold out while we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahtram56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,833 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £129 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing