We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Picayune, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for a family wedding. Quiet. Good price. Great staff, wonderful housekeeping, wonderful breakfast and the best blackout drapes I have ever seen! Terrific location across from the Visitors Center and the main free-bus stop.

Room Tip: King bed rooms were smaller. Two queen rooms had either a sofa or a refrigerator, not both...only f...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    630
    196
    64
    25
See reviews for
508
769
58
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great downtown location, clean, quiet, comfortable beds, good breakfasts and welcoming staff!! Visitor Center across the street was a bonus. Great restaurants just a block away. We will be back in 2014!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanp444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

You will not find a better hotel at the price in downtown Charleston. We came back to this hotel because we remembered how good the staff was on a visit some years ago. The folks who work here now did not disappoint. Everyone from the front desk, (thanks, David & Stephanie) to housekeeping were very friendly and took excellent care of us. By the third day, Miss Kathleen, the lady who handles the breakfast, knew when I approached her what I was going to ask for. Our flight was several hours after we checked out and Curtis made sure our bags were taken care of while we spent our last few hours enjoying the city. He even had a taxi waiting to take us to the airport. This is by far one of the most hospitable hotels that we have stayed in and we will continue to stay here when we are in Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent downtown location in the historic district.
The Hotel staff is friendly and eager to by is assistance. The room was clean and beds comfortable.
Good breakfast though a little behind our expectations after reading certain reviews.
We have no complaint regarding $14 parking fee for 24 hours.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just got home from a weekend getaway in Charleston. Stayed at the Hampton Inn due to its location, price and reviews that it got here on TA. Really a great hotel. Located in the historic district, within walking distance of great restaurants on King Street and just a short walk from everything else. Parking was simple and the beds were very comfortable. Nice selection at the complimentary breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here. Helped that it did not break the bank either!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmtreegirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Of the 3 Hilton Properties in the historic district this is the nicest and best one. I've stayed in the Doubletree and Embassy Suits and I will return to the Hampton Inn. It shares the same parking garage as the Embassy Suits and is located by some great restaurants and shopping. It is not close to the straw market but it is walkable to the market. If this were my first trip to Charleston I might opt to stay in the heart of the historic district but I enjoyed staying a little away from the congestion.

I am a Hilton Diamond member (>40 nights a year in a Hilton) and this hotel is my choice for Hilton's .

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank atravis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just returned from a recent stay at this hotel. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Charleston. Everyone working at the hotel was so friendly and I definitely felt that Southern hospitality. Breakfast was free and there was a pretty good selection of food everyday(I love the waffle maker). Juice, water, tea, coffee and hot chocolate were available 24hrs a day in the lobby which I loved. Every evening they put out warm chocolate chip cookies which were delicious but disappeared pretty quickly. Hotel is across the street from the visitor center and all 3 trolleys have stops right near the hotel(use these to get around the city). King Street, an area with restaurants and shops, is a block away. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Charleston.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor that opens up to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrldtravler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing