We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charleston Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Coast, FL, United States
1 review
“Charleston Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Excellent service and a clean, welcoming hotel. Wonderful guest rooms and public rooms, fast internet and a great location, right across the street from the Charleston Museum. Very friendly staff. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    631
    197
    64
    25
See reviews for
509
771
58
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were in Charleston for the YALL fest book festival and it was next door to this hotel. The city tours started across the street at the train depot visitor center. Our room was on the ground floor with a French door to the courtyard. Our room had a musty, mildew smell. I first thought it was from being on the ground floor and rain, but it didn't rain when we were there and the smell never went away. The employees were all helpful, and very friendly. Maybe time for a renovation to be up to Hampton Inn standards.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

First things first: overall everything was OK. I've stayed in much much worse places in my travels. Your safety won't be in danger, there were no bed-bugs or anything, but I just could not recommend this place. When I booked my trip, this was the only place left available of three hotels recommended to me by a colleague.

The staff were very nice. But, everything was sort of done to "look as good as possible with low quality/budget materials". The place in general looked like the owners were trying to just squeeze as much out of the property as possible without investing in maintenance or "quality". Perhaps this is just the Hampton Inn brand, I don't know.

For example, I felt ill after eating the breakfast. It was the cheapest low quality rubbish you could possibly come across. It was really poor quality food.

The bath was mouldy and in need of maintenance. The hot-cold water control got stuck and didn't work properly.

If I came to Charleston again, since work was paying, I'd look for another hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank babelfish111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
We were so very sorry to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience while a guest of ours. We would like the opportunity to make it right for you. If you get the notion, please call the hotel and ask for me so we can discuss your concerns. We understand that we need to earn your business every time, and feel awful that we did not do so in this instance.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picayune, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here for a family wedding. Quiet. Good price. Great staff, wonderful housekeeping, wonderful breakfast and the best blackout drapes I have ever seen! Terrific location across from the Visitors Center and the main free-bus stop.

Room Tip: King bed rooms were smaller. Two queen rooms had either a sofa or a refrigerator, not both...only f...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great downtown location, clean, quiet, comfortable beds, good breakfasts and welcoming staff!! Visitor Center across the street was a bonus. Great restaurants just a block away. We will be back in 2014!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanp444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

You will not find a better hotel at the price in downtown Charleston. We came back to this hotel because we remembered how good the staff was on a visit some years ago. The folks who work here now did not disappoint. Everyone from the front desk, (thanks, David & Stephanie) to housekeeping were very friendly and took excellent care of us. By the third day, Miss Kathleen, the lady who handles the breakfast, knew when I approached her what I was going to ask for. Our flight was several hours after we checked out and Curtis made sure our bags were taken care of while we spent our last few hours enjoying the city. He even had a taxi waiting to take us to the airport. This is by far one of the most hospitable hotels that we have stayed in and we will continue to stay here when we are in Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent downtown location in the historic district.
The Hotel staff is friendly and eager to by is assistance. The room was clean and beds comfortable.
Good breakfast though a little behind our expectations after reading certain reviews.
We have no complaint regarding $14 parking fee for 24 hours.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing