We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, and Great Location”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. Hotel location was very convenient. We left the car parked and walked or took the free shuttle located across the street to all the sights. Hotel room was clean and nicely furnished. We had end room (348) which was quiet, it had 3 windows and was bigger than other rooms and a nice courtyard view. The bathroom was very small, but clean. Good breakfast, 3 elevators and 2 computers in business center- so no waiting. Very reasonable rates when compared to others in French Quarter or downtown area. Friendly staff all around-We'd stay again.

Room Tip: end of hall, and even number for courtyard view
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeteT088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    635
    202
    66
    26
See reviews for
517
783
58
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Across the street from the visitors center, Charleston museum , and the free trolley stop. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Must pay to use parking garage that's basically connected. Very clean and well maintained. Easy walk to great restaurants and shopping. We found the city easy to get around in and not use a car. Parking can get to be expensive and a bother. People in city very friendly and just start talking to everywhere. Being from the Northeast we had to get used to this. Have to say I could get used to it.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bph19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Hampton Inn in Charleston's Historical District is in a convenient location near the visitor center and trolley stop (free rides around the historic district). This location is within walking distance to Upper King Street gourmet restaurants. The heart of the historic district around Market Street and Meeting Street, is about 10 to 15 minute walk -- easy on the flat, clean and scenic streets.

The hotel is well managed. Staff is friendly and responsive. Rooms are clean and spacious. We stayed in room 338, which was designed for disabled access (automatic door opening) and had a nice view of the courtyard and pool. Lighting beside beds could be brighter. Large, basic bathroom, towels, hair dryer, shampoo and lotion.

Complimentary breakfast and business center for computer access to print airline boarding passes helped make our stay convenient.

Unfortunately, hotel taxes are relatively high in Charleston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard, where the swimming pool is located. Sunny, pretty and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FastTrackGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My family just returned home after a four night stay at the Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District. When we arrived on Christmas Day we were warmly greeted by the staff there, working on Christmas.

Our room was perfect for the four of us. I had called to request a refrigerator and it was in the room along with a microwave. There was plenty of surface area to organize ourselves and have room for our two carry-on sized suitcases. I appreciated that the bathroom had a long counter top for all of the toiletries that two adults and two ten year olds have. As I unpacked I noticed that the fridge was frozen and my husband went to the lobby to ask for someone to fix the fridge and also for more towels from housekeeping ( my daughter has very long thick hair and we always need more than the allotted four bath towels). Within five minutes a gentleman arrived to replace the fridge and housekeeping arrived with a full set of extra towels. Housekeeping brought a full set of extra towels every day after that.

The beds were comfortable. The room overlooked the courtyard and was quiet. The breakfast was adequate, what you would expect. They had two waffle makers which made my son happy, hard boiled eggs which I appreciated, fresh fruit, yogurt, hot oatmeal, plenty to choose from.
The location is excellent for catching any of the three free trolleys that make there way around the city and we had no trouble walking to any location in the city.

The staff was consistently friendly and attentive and we enjoyed the hot coffee, tea, cocoa available in the lobby as well as the fresh baked cookies that came out around 6pm.
We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had room 330 overlooking the courtyard. Since it was December and the pool was not in use, it had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twinsareenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Excellent stay and the service is "second to none". The location offers the best in all categories, restaurants, sightseeing, tour trollies and shopping on King street. You are walking distance from many of the attractions in the historic district Always our first choice while traveling.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredGoldWingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This Hampton Inn was very well managed, very clean, and perfectly situated to walk to almost all of the interesting Charleston sights. Excellent breakfasts: very well prepared. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

terrific breakfast...large clean well maintained room...loss of hot water for about 45 minutes resulted in a free overnite-w/o asking! Staff very helpful across the board. well maintained facility. Only negative is the age of the building. Don't notice it from exterior/interior but at night when lack of soundproofing between floors becomes evident.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing