We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My stay during the ice and snow storm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
ST PETERSBURG, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My stay during the ice and snow storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Good trip. Food is great. Coffee is great. Proximity to good restaurants is unsurpassed. Don't miss COAST restaurant just down the street. If you have lots of money go to Halls Chop House. Full of movers and shakers. It makes a good base of operations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kent E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    631
    197
    64
    25
See reviews for
509
771
58
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Had a great trip with my kids ...17,23 years old Starbucks on almost every corner. Was a bit disappointed that it was that quaint which is what we were looking for...craft shops/pottery... Otherwise a beautiful place an a must stop to look at Homes are beautiful. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rubin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, NC USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Hampton Inn on Meeting Street is an excellent location to browse different areas of the historic district, come back rest and set out again. Fine dining, shopping and attractions within walking distance of the hotel. Breakfast staff extremely pleasant, well stocked and clean. The hotel staff went above and beyond expectations to ensure we had a stress free stay. Definitely recommend this site for time in Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailhup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
233 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Hampton Inn on Meeting Street in the Historic District of Charleston is extremely convenient to everything. Across the street from the Visitors Center, great restaurants around every corner, large TV in the lobby with plenty if seating, free coffee all day, warm cookies in the evening. The staff is friendly and they know their city. Parking is $16/day which is very reasonable for the area.
Rooms are roomy (we had a room with two queen beds). Nice, clean bathrooms, refrigerator and microwave in the room. If you are a Hilton Honors member you will get points.

Room Tip: The front desk will make your tour reservations for you, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Good Hampton & close to conference venue. Parking was expensive. Rooms were up to Hampton standards. Breakfast was well stocked even thought the hotel was full. They quickly resolved a billing mix-up that occurred.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This property lives up to its slogan-"in the heart of the historic district." As a plus, it has something not present in some other downtown Charleston locations: adjacent parking. It is a short walk from many good restaurants as well as the Music Hall. David at the front desk was especially helepful. If you are planning a trip to Charleston, you should consider this one.

Room Tip: My room overlooked Meeting Street and was compleltely satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capitalistroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
226 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were met with a big smile and warm welcome by Casey. I barely gave him our last name and he had pulled up our reservation, confirmed our requests and handed us our keys. He also supplied us with a map of the city and gave us some suggestions as to what to see. Our room is just what we wanted. Oh, did I mention he upgraded our room? I always rate the hotels by service, cleanliness and amenities. This hotel has it all. The location is perfect and as it's easy to find without winding in and out of busy city streets. The parking garage is located adjacent to the hotel parking lot and is $16.00 per day which was not an issue. Breakfast is included. I will stay at this hotel again. Thank you Casey!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool and garden….lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing