We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here during a week long trip to Charleston. The hotel is very clean and quiet. The pool is very nice and the court yard was very relaxing to eat and read in. Very close to alot of shopping and to the Historic District (4 blocks). The trolley picks up right out front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine311971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,368 - 1,374 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were torn between Hampton Inn and a few other spots but picked this based on reviews. We had a good rate and were very satisfied with our choice. Hotel is in a great location, easy to get everywhere especially with the free trolley right outside the door. Room was spacious and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast had lots of choices including waffles, oatmeal and hot options. Visitor Center is across the street, plenty of restaurant choices right nearby. If you have any doubts about booking, don't worry, it's well worth it. There is a charge for parking but it's connected to the hotel and includes the ability to go in and out. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAM0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here for a week on a business trip to Charleston and I knew that I wanted to be within walking distance of restaurants and things to see on my limited time away from work. I was not disappointed. The location was phenomenal, just off King street, and a great area to run/jog (the Battery was just over a mile away). The neighborhood was safe and I felt no qualms about walking around at night by myself.
Aside from the great location, the accommodations were good as well. The staff was very friendly and the room was nice and clean. My one complaint would be that it's an older building so the windows aren't that big...not too much you can do about that. The hotel had great southern charm, a nice workout facility and in warmer weather (it was in the 40s when I visited) the courtyard and pool area would be a great place to relax. I would recommend this hotel if visiting Charleston on business or for fun.

Room Tip: The upper floors (4 and 5) have fewer rooms and nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is our favorite place to stay in Charleston. The staff is always professional, very welcoming, and so helpful in making your visit to this beautiful Holy City memorable. This was an anniverary trip for us and a retreat from the stress of life. We were warmly welcomed by Mr. Henry and Kevin. Our room was sparkling clean and quiet. We parked our car in the convenient covered parking and went for a long bike ride around the city. The Visitor's Center is right across the street, so great for planning your time in Charleston. Lots of great resturants are within a short walk and the staff is helpful to make reservations for you. Ms Kathaleen takes great care to make a great start to your day with breakfast in their lovely eating area. It is a gracious plenty with lots of variety. Brandon, Stephanie, Curtis and Ken are all a part of the warm southern hospitality that makes this Hilton property our Favorite! This Hampton Inn also has a lovely, well kept courtyard garden with a nice pool to enjoy.King Street shopping is just a short walk away. We always enjoy our stay here and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The courtyard view is nice. All the room we've stayed in were relatively quiet due to the interi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daddyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

OK, it's a Hampton Inn -- you weren't expecting luxury at that priced, were you? The bed was softer than I prefer, the heating/cooling system was noisy, and the fitness center was small. But the room was clean, the breakfast buffet was satisfactory, the staff was friendly and willing to solve provlems quickly (we put them to the test, too), and you really can't complain at all about the location: it's not in the finest neighborhoods but they're within walking distance, and Charleston's free tram service stops just across the street. And when the staff found out that we were celebrating my wife's birthday, they offered a complimentary bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We are hilton honors members, whenever possible we always stay at Hilton hotels, that being said, Hilton has been slipping. Our room was clean when we arrived, however the shower head was loose and behind it was obviously a bit of water damage. Nothing horrible, but noted. I know this is being picky, but we typically are out of our hotel room by 10 am every morning, most days earlier and we usually return around 3-4 in the afternoon to relax and shower before dinner. Our room was never cleaned after the first day. We did ask for more clean towels and the hotel staff was always accommodating. This hotel was actually a great location. We enjoyed walking along king street at night and it seemed very safe.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessandjohnforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for a night during a golfing holiday in South Carolina and can thoroughly recommend it. Staff were superb on arrival, giving us maps, tips on nearby restaurants and guidance on using the city's free trolley service, which was an invaluable aid, allowing us to see as much of the city as possible with very limited time at our disposal. Secure parking was available on site and our room had everything necessary for a relaxing stay, including a good-sized fridge. After staying at Hampton Inns in other US cities on previous trips, including Memphis and Nashville, our experience at Charleston has cemented our view of this chain: if you want a hotel with a great location and secure parking on site in the heart of US cities, very comfortable accommodation and great customer service, look no further. We won't and will be planning future trips with Hampton Inns very much in mind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ergonomictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £110 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing