We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need in a hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, United States
1 review
“Everything you need in a hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is across the street from the Visitors Center where many tour busses start their tours. There is also a trolley stop across the street. (Free transportation) Also there are many good restaurants half a block away. The breakfast is good with friendly staff to keep it running smoothly. The beds are comfy and the shower was good. The 24 hr tea and coffee is a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    619
    192
    63
    25
See reviews for
503
755
57
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Selbyville, Delaware
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is a great choice for those wishing to be near the Historic District without paying $300/$400 (or more) a night. Although quite small, the rooms are very clean, quite, comfortable and well appointed. All the contemporary conveniences are available, including multiple plug-ins for tech items. The very accommodating staff, especially the concierge, recommended terrific restaurants and made sure a taxi was waiting when we departed. The 5-6 block walk back was a great way to work off a great meal. I've stayed at the high-end hotels in the heart of the district for twice what the HI charged. It wasn't worth it. This Hampton works great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank OpaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Overall complaints were for very low water pressure in the shower and barely warm breakfast food. On the plus side the concierge was extremely helpful recommending restaurants and arranging for a tour.

After checking in I called and asked for a fridge in our room. We went out a few hours and when we got back we had one. All seemed fine.

Following that they seemed indifferent to our concerns. That night kids were partying in the hall outside our room. They explained the couldn't do anything until 11:00. The next day we returned around 3:30 and the room wasn't cleaned. We made one bed for a nap figuring the maid would show but she didn't. I called the front desk at 4:00 and they said they could be as late as 4:00. When I said it was already that late the said they would call housekeeping and send up a maid. We went to the lobby and asked them to let us know when the room was ready. The offered us some bottled water. What a deal! At 4:45 they let us know we could use the room.

I filled out the card saying we would not recommend staying there etc. When we checked out they didn't ask "How was your stay?" I guess they didn't care to hear about it.

It was too bad. The location was great, the facilities were nice, most of the employees wanted to be helpful, but the front desk seemed to have more important issues than mere customer satisfaction.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JTscarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I was so very sorry to read your experience while a guest of our hotel. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and wish things had gone differently for you. If you would like, please don't hesistate to call me so we can discuss your specific concerns. We know we need to earn your business each and every time and feel awful that we did not in this case.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at the Hampton 2 out of our 4 night stay. It is across the street from the visitors center., where we took the EXPRESS BUS TO airport and all 3 free trollies to get us around. IT is 4 blocks from the market and across the street from the Charleston museum.
We flew in, took a 20 min bus ride to hotel. The hotels are in contract with the shuttle vans and cabs and will not tell you how convenient the express bus is.
The hampton is gorgeous, very upscale hampton, nice breakfast and wonderful lobby for relaxing.
I would definitely stay here again. The rooms were very clean. IT WAS PRICEY. I CAN GET A HOTEL IN CHICAGO CHEAPER

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were visiting Charleston with family from NY and California. Upon check in, one of our rooms was ready early. We returned late in the day to check in to the second room. It was one of a few larger rooms that the hotel had. We had reserved it so that we would have a couch area to relax in.There was some confusion, and that particular room had been given to someone else. Kevin Eichman, the General Manager personally showed us a different room to make sure it was to our liking. He sent two bottles of wine and chairs to our room so that we had additional seating to spend time relaxing with our family. He went above and beyond to help make our visit to Charleston special. The hotel has a large breakfast area with large screen tv's and couches. We enjoyed relaxing there in the evening as well as during the great complimentary breakfast. The pool area looked lovely, unfortunately it rained while we were in town. The hotel is very convenient and the small parking garage is directly adjacent to the hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We look forward to returning to such a great city, and we will definitely stay at the Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great location for a having a wonderful experience. Visitor Center and Trolley stop was just across the street and was very convenient. Also, easy walking distance for museums, sightseeing and dining.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
246 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Hampton Inn was a typical Hampton Inn -- you always know what to expect with amenities, room size, and bedding. We wanted to stay in the historic district and the Hampton Inn was one of the very few hotels that included breakfast. That said, this hotel exceeded our expectations. The location was fantastic -- walking distance to everything. The desk personnel were extremely friendly and accommodating. Likewise, the breakfast service was exceptional -- nothing ran out, tables were cleaned off quickly, and the people were very friendly. Our one complaint was that you had to pay for parking. I understand that the parking was less than elsewhere in Charleston, but still steep at $16 a day. My opinion -- if you pay for a hotel, you should park for free.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing