We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Gem in Historic Charleston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Real Gem in Historic Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I was thrilled with this hotel after checking out of the Marriott in Charleston because it smelled terrible and was in such disrepair. The Hampton is well located and very walkable. It was very clean and in excellent condition. The room is smaller but big enough. I was very happy with the size of the bathroom and the storage. Their free breakfast is always appreciated. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    619
    192
    63
    25
See reviews for
503
756
57
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Hampton Inn Historic District is within walking distance of everything in Charleston. We found the location great for its' accessibility to sights, restaurants, shops, College of Charleston, etc.The hotel is older, but well kept. It is more charming than the traditional Hampton Inn. We had a larger room with a microwave and fridge. The larger room was nice to have. I saw some rooms looked much smaller. We were on the fourth floor.
The elevators were not airconditioned. They were very HOT and this was in April! The rooms and hallways were nice and cool. I am not sure why they don't aircondition the elevators. Parking is right next door and cost 16 dollars a day. We found Charleston to be a very nice city to spend a weekend and would definitely stay at the Hampton again. That being said, it was very expensive for a Hampton Inn. I believe it was 400. per night. We used hilton points. I was very surprised at the cost of the hotel. It was also a 10K race weekend and that may be why the prices were higher, but still, it was a Hampton inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our room was comfortable and very clean. Good light in both bedroom and bathroom. Nice courtyard. Location was terrific. Breakfast was adequate, the typical free offerings. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Gave excellent recommendation for dinner at a nearby restaurant. Probably our favorite items and the reason we would stay here again were the staff and the location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yucatan-Admirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The location is great just across from the Visitor's Center and the free trolley stop. Hotel is outstanding, very well appointed, clean rooms, great courtyard, breakfast was excellent, servers were efficient and very friendly. The bellman is a hoot!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Lonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights in March. I would recommend this hotel. Pros: The room we had was quiet (although I could see how some might be noisy) and very clean. The beds were comfortable. The location of the hotel is excellent and we walked nearly everywhere. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was very convenient. Parking is in a lot right next to the hotel ($16). It is not run by the hotel, but was very easy. Cons: The room seemed on the smaller side. The business center desktops were not working during our stay. The desk staff, while very nice and helpful, needs to present more professionally. Our room rate jumped by more than $100 on our last night - a Friday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishaNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greer, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great location next door to the public transit and visitor's center. Lovely secluded courtyard to have a glass of wine or enjoy the complementary breakfast. There is a parking garage attached to the building and the charge is comparable to other parking in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Clean hotel, great breakfast with waffle machine, eggs, bacon, cereals, muffins, fruit, etc.

Staff was very polite & helpful. It's in a great area. Took the free bus from King St. back to the hotel. Dropped us right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruisequeenMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing