We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed recently in one of the ground floor rooms with two double beds; the room opens out onto the grass, about 15 ft from the (unheated) pool. We found the hotel very good value - the front desk staff were very helpful and when we had a small problem opening our door (our fault), the maintenance man was there within minutes to solve the problem. All staff seemed smiling and helpful.
The free breakfast was standard Hampton Inn but generous and well stocked with fresh fruit and waffles, boiled eggs, several kinds of toast/english muffins and bagels, as well as some southern specialities. Only complaint would be that the orange and apple juices were a bit watery!
The room was comfortable and we loved being close to the pool, which was a godsend on two hot days during our visit.
We also liked the fact we could get in from the airport on the Nash Express for $3 a person, one way, a regular bus service which dropped us right opposite the hotel, at the Charleston Visitors center. That is also a major stop for the free trolleys you can use to tour Charleston (the trolleys, btw, never stick to a schedule, so don't count on them arriving on schedule). The Visitors center also has lots of discounted tickets for various plantations, carriage rides, etc - very helpful. So the hotel's location was great - not in the middle of downtown but an easy walk to the main sites, or a short trolley ride away. We also tried two restaurants on the same street as the hotel which came recommended in various guides and magazines - Rue St Jean, and Coastal - both good meals. The gelato place next door is also worth a visit!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the pool are very comfortable and not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdgNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    604
    182
    61
    25
See reviews for
496
729
56
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We've been to Charleston several times, short notice trip on Easter weekend so our options were limited(hotels on this "high" weekend require a 2 night minimum). I was not expecting too much since usually "historic" indicates small and mildew smell /e close to the water. Hotel did NOT smell, bed was plush, however rooms were very small/coffee maker was in the bathroom, for $400 a night docor was outdated(make sure to include the very high hotel taxes in your budget). The main reason I would not stay is the distance to lower Charleston, too far to walk in a hurry, so for this hotel's $16 daily parking, I had to spend 30 minutes looking for a parking spot- and ended up paying another fee to park near restaurants(it was raining & I have difficulty walking far). Next time, back to Patriots Point Hampton

Room Tip: dumpter under our window about 1am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelers67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you so much for your business and taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize that you had problems with the parking. Unfortunately being a Downtown Hotel, there really aren't very many options. As noted though, Patriots Point Hampton Inn does have convinient parking available. Should you decide to come stay in Charleston again, please feel free to contact me to see if there is something I can do to sway your thoughts of staying with us again. We appreciate your business and patronage of the Hampton Inn chain.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Young Harris, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were very satisfied with our recent stay at the Hampton Inn in the historic district of Charleston. We wanted to be able to walk around the historic district to shop and visit great restaurants. The hotel location was great for that purpose. The free city shuttle with a stop across the street from the hotel was extremely convenient. Our room was clean and well appointed, the staff were very friendly, and the included breakfast was more than adequate. We requested a quiet room and were well accommodated (except for the noise from the a/c fan). We would definitely stay there again, especially as the price was reasonable compared to other hotels in the historic district.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz13051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting our college aged daughter for Easter weekend as it is close to her apartment. Convenient to Upper King Street restaurant scene and only about a 15 minute walk to the Market Street area. Typical value-oriented Hampton Inn experience with a small exercise room and outdoor pool and a breakfast that is more extensive than some other Hampton Inns in which we have stayed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I was thrilled with this hotel after checking out of the Marriott in Charleston because it smelled terrible and was in such disrepair. The Hampton is well located and very walkable. It was very clean and in excellent condition. The room is smaller but big enough. I was very happy with the size of the bathroom and the storage. Their free breakfast is always appreciated. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Hampton Inn Historic District is within walking distance of everything in Charleston. We found the location great for its' accessibility to sights, restaurants, shops, College of Charleston, etc.The hotel is older, but well kept. It is more charming than the traditional Hampton Inn. We had a larger room with a microwave and fridge. The larger room was nice to have. I saw some rooms looked much smaller. We were on the fourth floor.
The elevators were not airconditioned. They were very HOT and this was in April! The rooms and hallways were nice and cool. I am not sure why they don't aircondition the elevators. Parking is right next door and cost 16 dollars a day. We found Charleston to be a very nice city to spend a weekend and would definitely stay at the Hampton again. That being said, it was very expensive for a Hampton Inn. I believe it was 400. per night. We used hilton points. I was very surprised at the cost of the hotel. It was also a 10K race weekend and that may be why the prices were higher, but still, it was a Hampton inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our room was comfortable and very clean. Good light in both bedroom and bathroom. Nice courtyard. Location was terrific. Breakfast was adequate, the typical free offerings. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Gave excellent recommendation for dinner at a nearby restaurant. Probably our favorite items and the reason we would stay here again were the staff and the location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yucatan-Admirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing