We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed hotel but unethical front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

First of all we are normally very loyal to the Hampton Inn chain. This particular hotel is very clean and is in a great location for catching the free trolley. However a very negative situation would discourage us from returning. We asked the front desk to get us a cab to go to dinner in the historic district. When we came down we noticed the cab driver and the front desk clerk seemed acquainted. When we arrived at our dinner destination (a short distance) the cab driver charged us $11. We thought it was very high but paid him. We soon learned there is a $5 flat rate taxi fare within the Charleston Peninsula (with the exception of up to $1 per extra riders). At most we should had been charged $7 for three riders. We complained to the front desk clerk as soon as we returned. He was immediately defensive stating it was only a few more dollars and they (Hampton Inn) only use Green Way Transport because they are more reliable. After showing zero tolerance for the nonsense he was sputtering forth, the front desk offered us cash to "make it okay". So he basically handed us $5 in cash. Obviously he is getting kick backs from the cab service. This was all highly unethical and not to mention illegal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Telluride888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,311 - 1,317 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel located in a great location in downtown Charleston---right near the Tourist Center, and across the street from the free shuttle bus stop. The hotel was clean and the free full breakfast was more than adequate. Would have liked a microwave/or/refrigerator to have been included for the standard nightly rate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one week on business. A few things to know:
1. Great location for King Street shopping and dining.
2. Excellent service from the desk. They gave me a great corporate rate on short notice when most of Charleston was booked. (Thanks guys).
3. Hot spot for families and senior citizen bus tours.
4. Rooms are fine.
5. A bit noisy in the halls when the hotel is heavily booked.
This a solid 3-star. As always, Charleston hospitality is top-notch.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFan2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

the location across from the Charleston Visitors' Center was a good place to be - to catch the trolley and to get information and tickets. Our bath room was a bit smaller than the one in historic Savannah but adequate. It is very clean and the continental breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: 2nd floor and above will avoid the foot traffic of first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife, toddler-age son, and I spent two nights here. The front desk staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. When we arrived, there were trucks taking up space in the unloading zone, trying to unload items for the building next door. This meant we had to park in the parking deck and unload from there, but the staff offered someone to help us (which we declined, but appreciated). We had asked for a crib (they have pack and plays), and when we got to our room, we were concerned that with the pack and play, we wouldn't have much space in the room. I went down to the desk and the manager on duty, Casey, assured me that there would be plenty of room, yet still offered us a corner room instead, which was larger and perfect for what we needed. He and another front desk staffer (I think her name was Raven) helped us out a good deal more during the rest of our stay.

The rooms are clean, the staff friendly, the breakfast is pretty good for your basic hot continental breakfast, and the location is within walking distance of the Market, historic sites, the aquarium (absolutely go to the aquarium - it's worth the price and your time!), and is across the street from the visitor center.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly larger if you're looking for a basic king-size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel checked all the right boxes. The location was perfect, the rooms were spacious, and the breakfast was above average. I almost did not book here due to the hotels sad looking picture, that did not due the building justice. Totally enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dogandhiscoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

First, the good. The room was clean, although the furniture was on the tired side. The bed was comfortable and there was very little motion transfer, which is good because my husband is very tall and moves a lot when he sleeps. It was quiet, even though we were on the first floor. The front desk staff was very nice and knowledgeable about the area. There is a lovely French bistro, Rue de Jean, two doors down, and the Charleston Music Hall is next door, so if you're in town to see a show there (as we were), you don't have to go far.

Now, for the bad. This was kind of a last-minute trip so everything else in town was booked, otherwise we would have stayed closer to the waterfront, as it was almost a mile each way to get to most of the bars and restaurants. That's fine to do once a day, but not when you're dressed for dinner, wearing heels, etc. So, we ended up taking cabs a lot, even though we had a car, because we didn't want to have to worry about parking. On our last day we discovered the trolley that goes from the Visitor's Center across the street from the hotel to the aquarium and the Fort Sumter ferry, which is a good option for day trips.

Our room overlooked a parking lot, which would have been fine except that it was on the exact same level as the parking lot, so we were looking directly at the front end of a car. We had to leave our drapes closed the whole time. Also, there were no actual glasses or coffee mugs in the room, only paper cups wrapped in plastic. When we asked at the front desk one night, they did give us some wine glasses. But at $700 for two nights, we shouldn't have had to ask for real glasses. The breakfast was ok, but again: styrofoam plates, plastic cutlery, and paper cups, which made it feel like a cheap motel. Also, it's wasteful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,879 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £116 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing