We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was the most expensive of the hotels we booked for our USA trip, butwas well worth it. Great location. Staff very friendly. Spotless rooms and very clean common areas. The breakfast area deserves a special mention as this was being constantly restocked, the staff in this area deserve a big thank you. Afternoon cookies, if you are quick, as they are so delicious people wait for them, we got one by accident whilst waiting for other members of our party. Great sitting out area with comfy sofas and TV's. A great stay thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,236 - 1,242 of 2,024 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My stay in Charleston was much less pleasant due to staying at this hotel. We stayed in a very small and narrow room on the second floor that had an unbearable musty and moldy smell. If you are sensitive then stay away unless you want to wake up everyday like I did with a horrible headache. Breakfast was also pretty bad. The usual processed pastries and canned fruit along with some scrambled eggs and watered down coffee. And like another reviewer mentioned, styrofoam plates and plastic utincils. I stuck to the yogurt and bananas. My son was less picky and did enjoy making his waffle each morning. We also all enjoyed eating outside in the courtyard near the pool but were bothered by flies most of the time. Some positives are that we could get bottles of free water at the front desk, one afternoon there were fresh-baked cookies and there was always tea and juice available in the lobby as well as the USA Today newspaper. The location is okay but yes, a little far from all the best restaurants. We drove to Magnolias and parked in their free lot one night so as not to sweat in our nice outfits. Otherwise the walk was nice. The garage to park is right next door and not too expensive to park all day and be able to go in and out for one fee. I did get stung by a bee one time when we were going to the car since we had to pass through a small alleyway full of flies and evidently bees, too. After we checked in I saw on Hotels Tonight some even better deals than this hotel and they were for some of the best in town which made ime feel even worse about my stay. At least there were no signs of any roaches or other room visitors so being down South in the summer made this particular hotel worth staying at. If only the breakfast had been better and the room did not smell so awful all would have been perfect. Oh, I also saw a sign in the bathroom stating that if any toiletries were forgotten they could be obtained at the front desk...they didn't have the cotton balls I had asked for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to comment on Trip Advisor. Comments from our guests help us to ensure the quality and comfort of our guests. I would like to apologize for your recent stay with us. I have forwarded these comments to our staff. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We just returned from a stay in Charleston at the Hampton Inn. The location is the best reason to stay. It is very centrally located to the shopping and entertainment district on King Street and is across the street from the Visitor's Center. (The jumping off point for many local tours and taxi's waiting right out front.) The hotel is well maintained and shows it wear if you have a detailed eye (sadly, I notice everything!) The beds are comfortable and the pillows are very soft. If you prefer a firm pillow, bring one from home or plan folding the pillows over. The bathrooms are large and very clean; the water pressure ebbs during peak times which can be forgiven. Lastly, the staff is full on helpful, Southern charm.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are lovely and large, specifically 548. Ask for the 5th floor too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith-Clarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great location and value make this hotel a must to stay during a visit to Charleston. Finding the entrance was a little bit difficult as it sits back from the street in a driveway leading to a public parking garage( where you will need to park as the hotel doesn't have a garage). The staff were great, the rooms were clean, and the complimentary breakfast was delicious. Directly across the street from the hotel is the bus station where you can catch a ride to all of the sites in the historic district.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDWARD Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Perfect location! Parked car in garage and took the trolley all over downtown Charleston...and walked some too! Complimentary breakfast was a full breakfast with seating inside and outside (which was quite peaceful). Staff was very friendly and pleasant from check-in to check-out. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Luckily I read a prior review of this hotel, which included information about the Express Bus from the airport. That bus travels straight to the hotel for just $3 pp!! No need to rent a car, hunt for expensive parking. Charleston has a free trolley - hop on and off, in air conditioned comfort - you can get anywhere in the historic district. Just like the express bus, the trolley picks up right in front of the hotel. About every 15 mins.

Hampton Inn was just wonderful. Great breakfasts with a wide selection of hot and cold food. Another money saver! The pool was great, coffee avail all day, cookies in afternoon. Loved the pool and patio. Wi-fi and printed my checkin boarding passes the night before I left in their complimentary office.

Walk one block over to a nice park/ Jenni's Ice cream is on King Street, but two blocks opposite direction from historic district - I swear it's better than any ice cream any where. Ben & Jerry's (bless their hearts) does not compare. We recommend Fleet Landing on the water for the best priced and best Low Country food! Loved the horse carriage tour - we brought an apple from breakfast for the horse. Fun tour!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apricot855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very nice hotel near all of Charleston's attractions. Clean rooms with comfortable beds. Complimentary breakfast is a side benefit. would highly recommend staying at the Hampton Inn - Historic District on Meeting St

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £117 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing