We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel in historical district convenient for walking tours, bus tours, good food near by, friendly staff, lovely ambience throughout building, pool/courtyard lovely. Breakfast in courtyard in the morning charming. Laundry facilities not in hotel but had to go to Embassy Suites next door, not acceptable to dragging laundry through the lobby, around the corner and through the other hotels lobby, quite inconvenient. But lovely city, great history

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you so much for your business and review of our hotel. We are so sorry we didn't have a more convinient way for you to do your laundry. We are very happy though that you enjoyed everything else though. We hope you will choose us again for your next trip to Charleston.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    645
    204
    66
    27
See reviews for
526
792
60
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Donvale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Pleasant old world ambiance , Great location in Historic District, easy pleasant walking around the area, free trollies & visitors centre opposite , friendly staff , coffee, tea, & hot chocolate constantly in lobby and facilities in the room. No complaints at all

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank chicagohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review and wonderfully kind words. We agree with you :). We hope you will choose us again the next time you come to Charleton. We'd love the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
774 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

excellent location to restaurants, bars, shopping. i would consider staying here again. had a wonderful time. very clean, the staff was helpful, and a pretty good breakfest. the location is truly hard to beat, even when the hotel isnt 5 stars. not a bank buster as the rooms were reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curtez151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thanks so much for your review and your business. We hope you will choose us again the next time you come to Charleston.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We could not have been more pleased with our stay. The room was comfortable and roomy, the breakfasts were very filling with high quality and quanity and the staff was professional and approachable. We were across the street from the Visitor's Center and trolley stops, but we could walk everywhere too. The courtyard was a wonderful place to have breakfast or relax after a day our touring.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank dmowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We know we need to earn your business every time and it makes us so happy that we did just that. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyckoff, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Attractive Hotel next to visitor center and free trolley to the major tourist venues of the city. Excellent service, spotlessly clean, and very friendly staff. The complimentary breakfast was extensive and changed every day. The wi fi connection was the easiest I have encountered.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are so glad everything met your approval while you were here. We hope you will choose us again the next time you find yourself in Charleston. Thanks so much for your business and kind words about our hotel and the team that makes is all happen. We really appreciate both!

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Rooms were very nice - loved the bedding & the free breakfast was great with lots of food choices. I was worried that being 7-8 blocks from the market would not be an ideal location but it was an easy walk! Very nice- we will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 548cherylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are so pleased that you enoyed yout stay with us. Being right next doo to the free trolley service definitely helps if you don't want to walk as well. We hope you will choose us again the next time you are in Charleston.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Decent location right across from visitors center. About a mile walk to Market street or take the free bus. King street is a 2 minute walk. We were in a smoking room - yuck. There was definitely an odor. The carpet on our floor had a smell too. We would stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We are so very sorry that you did not have an amazing time with us. Perhaps you can reach out to me so I can look at your reservation history to see how you got a smoking room. We would have loved the opportunity to make this right for you while you were here.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing