We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely happy with our stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Extremely happy with our stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel after getting off our cruise ship. We knew we would disembark way before check in and so we walked from the cruise port (about 20mins) with the plans to have them hold our luggage while we explored the city. I was not at all expecting that they would let us check in at 9:30am. They offered us breakfast and information about the city. The hotel is very centrally located and you can walk all over the city easily. This is such a beautiful city with great restaurants with a noticeable theme of "eat and buy locally" . The room was clean, comfortable and had historic charm which we loved. The pool area was so lovely as well as the terrace where you can have breakfast. They have rooms on the first floor that walkout to the courtyard, which would have been nice. I wanted to pay cash for the room and had it counted out in an envelope so when I went to pay and it was a different amount than the rate I was given in my confirmation email I was a bit put off only because I had already counted it not because of the difference, he ended up giving us a better rate and gave us back $70. That was very much appreciated and unexpected. We booked a taxi to take us to the airport as we needed to leave at 6am and we had 5 people travelling. The girl at the front desk happily booked it for us. She said it was a rate of $35 and when we arrived at the airport he said it was $35 plus $5 a person, It didnt make sense to me that I would be told one amount to then have to pay an additional $25. I said I was told $35 he was a bit mad, but he said ok fine and didn't push so I gave him the $40 (wanting to take back the tip). I still don't know which is the true rate. We loved this city and will be back for again for a 4 day trip and would definately recommend this hotel, its rare to find a Hampton Inn with such charm.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
If your were "Extremely Happy", then we are Extremely Happy too! Thanks for the kind words and I am so glad the team here treated you the way they did. They love what they do and it shows. I will definitely look into the discrepancy with the taxi rates. We need to make sure that we are providing correct information as this trip to the airport is the last impression you have of our city and we want to make sure it mirrors your time with us.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    619
    192
    63
    25
See reviews for
503
755
57
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We just returned from a 3 night stay, and could not have been more happy with our hotel choice. We reserved a standard non-smoking 2 queen bed online, and arrived several hours before check in time. (Tip: We kept checking the room price every week or so, and would rebook each time the price dropped) It was an extremely hot day, and they were able to get us into a room immediately. We asked at check in if the room had a frig, and the nice lady checking us in called maintenance to have one delivered to the room. It was there before we even up to the room! We are very light sleepers, and were amazed at how quiet and comfortable our room was. We parked in the adjacent garage ($16/day, not operated by Hampton) and it was quite convenient. For those driving, be aware that the entrance is actually on John Street. Breakfast was good, nice to be able to sit outside on the patio while eating. Desk staff were so friendly and helpful - got several restaurant recommendations and they were great. Fresh hot chocolate chip cookies at 5:30 each day - but be quick! They go fast! Be sure to say hello to Henry the bellhop - you'll know him by his huge smile!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K9pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
What a great review! Thanks so much for choosing us! With our place being your first experience in our city, I couldn't be more pleased that we set the bar for the remainder of your time. Henry is a gem and we are so lucky to have him. I'm glad you got a chance to experience his southern charm. Come back and see us again soon.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel was once a factory that manufactured burlap bags. Well, you wouldn't know that from looking at it today. Nice lobby, very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are nice, if a little on the small size. Our room had a pull out sofa, so that helped. Outdoor pool is walled in, so street traffic couldn't look in. Conveniently located to restaurants on King St and the free trolley routes. Located across from the Visitors Center. Parking garage is for 24 hours. Nice, if you plan to do more touring on your check out day.

Room Tip: If traveling with children, ask for a room with a pull out sofa. Rooms with two beds are doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTCE98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Old building re-purposed with great charm is what Charleston is all about. That and classic service to those that come to see what it is all about. Thank you so much for your business and your time in reviewing our hotel. We hope you will choose us again the next time you head our way.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our girls' getaway exceeded my expectations during our stay at Hampton Inn in the historic district of Charleston. The staff went out of their way to ensure that we made the most of our visit to this beautiful southern city. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 484felicityd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Bring more friends when you come back :). We are so happy that your girls weekend was wonderful and that we could be a part of that experience. We look forward to having you stay with us during your next time away.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a good location opposite the Charleston visitor centre and the free tram stop. Market area is around a 15 minute walk but there are lots of good restaurants very close by. Reception staff were quite amazing, really could not do enough. The pool is a welcome addition as it really is very hot at this time of year. Rooms are fine, big comfy beds, bathrooms are fine, air con was very effective. The free breakfast is not brilliant but it does the job.

Would definitely recommend for the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review. "Amazing" is what we strive for and we are so deilighted we hit that mark. Thanks for your business and we hope you will choose us again for your next trip to Charleston,

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Pleasant stay. excellent location, friendly staff. Lots of amenities. I did not have a car and never missed it.If you are looking for convenience and friendliness, this is the place to stay. The breakfast is really good and fresh, always replenished. The staff accomodates every individual need and always greets you with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We smile because we love what we do and we appreciate you giving us the chacne to do it. We hope you will stay with us again the next time your travels bring you our way.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel was very clean with a good breakfast selection (hot & cold continental). It was in a good location with close proximity to downtown Charleston (10 minute walk) and the College of Charleston (reason for the visit). The only negative item was the $16/day charge for parking in an adjacent garage. We would stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your business and your review. We truly appreciate both! I wish we could do something about the parking for you, but unfortunately we don't have our own facilities. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing