We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Did not expect much going in but the staff was excellent. Hotel is located between two main streets (King Street - shopping) and Meeting Street (historic). Great restaurants around the corner and the visitor center is right across the street. Comfortable common areas, decent breakfast (included).

Room Tip: Overlooking pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Excellent Service is what we strive for and we couldn't be more happy that you got to experience it. Thanks for the kind words and your business. We know we have to earn your business every time and are so pleased we did with your stay. Be well and come back to see us again soon.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    619
    192
    63
    25
See reviews for
503
756
57
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
troy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

centrally located downtown. short walk{20 minutes] to market st. there is a free trolley stop right out front of the hotel. many shops, restaurants and bars on king st. go to closed for business if you like beer. somewhere around 50 varieties on tap.

the room was clean. nice touch with the free breakfast buffet. we were here 2 different days. the first time we were on the first floor. a/c is much louder than the 2nd time when we stayed on the 4th floor. parking garage uses the same entrance as the hotel. no motorcycles are allowed in the parking garage. this should be noted on the hotels website.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgbytoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for letting us and others know of your experiences. We aren't totally on board with why the city doesn't allow motorcycles but your idea of noting our web site is a great one. Thanks so much for that and for staying with us. There are a lot of choices in Charleston, and we want to be your first choice every time. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had an excellent stay. It was hard to believe you were at a Hampton. The staff at the front desk was excellent. There was always plenty of water bottles and cookies that are kids loved! Very helpful staff and nice rooms. They were decorated very nicely and overall just a pretty hotel and very convenient to everything it town. Recommendation..park at the hotel garage the hotel provides for a fee and walk it everywhere. If you don't want to walk take the trolley but the wait is sometimes a bit much and very crowded but this hotel is in a great location for a brisk walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labelloyalintampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
"Hard to believe you were at a Hampton"... What a nice thing to say! The team here loves what they do and I am so glad it shows. Thanks so much for your business and taking the time to let others know of your experience. We can't thank you enough for both. Come back to see us again soon.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Although this hotel doesn't shout Charleston, it's very central, and has wifi that works, a reasonable breakfast, friendly staff, and safe close parking. Our room was clean, quiet and reasonably spacious. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Follync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thanks for your time in reviewing our hotel. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay with us. The next time you come to stay with us, we are going to see what we can do to "Shout Charleston". If we can't shout it, we're going to see if we can get Mr. Henry to sing it.

Thanks again for your time in the review and for choosing to stay with us.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

This hotel had everything just right. The rooms were big enough, and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was large, with toiletries and lots of fresh towels every day. Included hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Our room faced the pool/terrace area on the 3rd floor. We had no odour issues. The breakfast was very good, with lots of variety, fresh fruit, waffles and three hot dishes every day. You could eat inside, or out on the terrace. Also available all day was coffee/tea/hot chocolate and juices in the lobby, and sometimes fruit was available later in the day, as well as cookies at tea time. Although this hotel is not right down town, it is a convenient 20 minute walk to the market area, or to the aquarium. The trolley stop for all 3 free trolleys is right outside, and the visitors centre is across the street. King street is just one block away. Pool was nice, with lots of towels and chairs available, we did not use the fitness area.

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kodak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are very pleased we had everything you needed to make your stay in Charleston enjoyable and the next time you stay and we don't have what you need, let us know and we will make it happen.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

we stayed here so we could walk everywhere or take the trolley. We also booked some tours across the street at the Visitor Center.
It worked perfect for us. We also enjoyed the pool when we arrived into 100 degree weather our first day.
We had a room in the inside courtyard across form the pool, it had a somewhat musty smell from the dampness which I reported to the desk.
The bed was very comfy, the free breakfast fare was changed everyday and there were plenty of healthy options too! The hotel staff was very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you so much for for your review. I hope the front desk team was able to do something about the damp smell for you. We can't apologize enough if that was a detractor from your otherwise great stay. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was better than most hotels: eggs, oatmeal, fruits, breads, pastries, coffee bar, juices, milk. Hotel was within walking distance to downtown attractions. Parking is located in adjacent lot which costs $16 per day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
"No Complaints" and a couple of compliments :). Thanks for that. We hope you will choose us again for your next trip to Charleston. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing