We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at this convenient, well run hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I recently spent the weekend here while visiting my son at the College of Charleston.
The hotel is in a great location, very close to the school, shopping and many resteraunts. The hotel staff is very friendly and outgoing. This was my second stay in the last couple of months and I was greeted as a returning guest.

I used Hilton points for my room and had a spacious room on the 4th floor. We were allowed to check in when we arrived at 12:30 which was really convenient. The room had a mini fridge which was nice. There is a nice pool that was still open in Oct. It was not heated, so it was refreshingly cool after a long day of walking around Charleston.

The hotel offers a free breakfast , muffins, fruit, pastries, cereal and a different hot item every day. We enjoyed eating ours in the outside courtyard.

We really like the location. It is about a 20 minute walk down to the market. It always takes me longer becuase there is so much to see along the way. Charleston is really easy to walk around. the Visitor Center is right next to the hotel and there are plenty of great places to eat within a few blocks.


If you there are on a Saturday, don't miss the Farmers Market that takes place around the corner in the Marion Square Park. The best Farmers Market I have been to, with plenty of veggies but also many vendors with unusual things for sale. Not to be missed.

The Hampton INn is a great value in Charleston. Comfortable, clean and convenient with a great staff. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,957 - 1,963 of 2,079 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night in September during the week. It was a good experience overall. We were able to check in early and it has a great location in terms of being right across from the Visitor Center and its proximity to everything in downtown Charleston. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, the room was fine and they had a large breakfast area for the morning. The food was typical Hampton Inn food with a bit of southern flavoring thrown and that was fine with me. You do have to pay for parking but you can basically park your car and just leave it for the duration of your trip. The garage was $12.00 per night which wasn't too bad. One thing I did like was that in the lobby they had a large album that contained menu's of the local resturants so you could check them out in advance in terms of selection & prices. If I was to return to Charleston, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michigan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I recently stayed overnight with a group of friends. We booked three rooms for the night. We were all impressed with the location which was within walking distance of shopping, dinning, and all local attractions. In addition, the customer service was more than accomodating and they let us wait for our ride for over three hours in the lobby. There is always coffee and tea available and there is a fantastic free breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again. A great value.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charbo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Lovely common area and pool. Great breakfast. But our room had a mildewy smell to it, and was on the small side. Beds were great. The location a block from shopping and eateries on King St. Can't be beat--also it's across the street from the Visitor's Center, where you can catch a trolley all the way to the Battery. We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and had a great room. The hotel employees are very friendly, and it was refreshing to be told to "have a blessed day."

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Our family spent 3 evenings on July 4th weekend. The hotel room and facility was clean and typical of a Hampton. The staff was very friendly and professional.

The only change that we would have liked to have seen would be a "no smoking policy" at the outdoor breakfast area. The indoor area is non-smoking so we simply moved, but it would have been nice to have a smoke free area outside as well.

A nice value hotel for exploring Charleston's aquarium, Ft Sumter, and the historic area if you enjoy a little walking (or are willing to take the shuttles at the Visitor Center across the street).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

The hotel was central across the street from the Visitors Center. The Hotel sits in between Meeting St. and King St. Each of these streets are major shopping and resturants locations. The main transportation hub for the trams were in front of the Visitors Center right on John Street. CARTA is the name of the bus/tram service in Charleston. The Trams were on schedule running every 20-30 minutes. The trams covered most of the main tourist areas within the city. The cost per ride was $1.50 per person. During the last 3 days of our visit we choice to purchase a 3 day unlimited pass for $11 per person. This came in handy on our last night we wanted to get some ice cream at Kerwins a shop on Market St. A mere 10 minute ride instead of a 25 minute walk. During the day it was very hot and humid and catching the trams were a nice way to cool off until we reached the next tourist destination we wanted to visit. The breakfast in the mornings were basic Continental fair. Most of the time we ate breakfast at one of the many resturants in the area. Our favorite was a resturant named Toast located I believe at 177 Meeting St. I do know it is between the 100 and 200 block of Meeting St. Overall I satisfied with the room and hotel in general. The staff was friendly, cheerful and helpful. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingman211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We loved our experience in Charleston, although this hotel is not deep in the heart of the historic district, it was a great location, especially because it was next to the visitor's center. It was by a number of good restaurants, kiddy-corner from theh Charleston Museum, the oldest museum in the U.S., across the street from one of Charleston's historic tour houses and a couple of blocks from another one, and 2 blocks from a park. We did not have to drive as far either to see the sights outside the city, such as Patriot's Point and the plantations. The room was pretty clean, the only complaint we had was that there weren't any vents in the bathroom. The desk was very nice and breakfast had a good variety of food. It was also very conveniet that they had coffee available 24 hours a day, so you could go get a cup to keep you going for sight seeing. As far as attractions go, I definitely suggest getting the Heritage Pass from the visitors center because all of the houses and things add up, I think it was $45 a person and that included the yorktown, 2 plantations, 5 historical houses and 2 museums, all worth seeing. And honestly you are going to be walking anywhere you go in Charleston, so although this hotel is a little farther out, it was still a great deal. We had 5 people in our party and it is very hard to find a place that will fit more than 4 in Charleston, so another reason why it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBug428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,972 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £135 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing