We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Find online”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mason City, Iowa
2 reviews
“Fantastic Find online”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I chose this Hotel because of the pictures seen on their website. They did not do it justice. It far surpassed my expectations. We were welcomed and felt appreciated and catered to during our visit to Charleston. The service and they went out of their way to be helpful in offering suggestions during our stay. The cookies were Great. and I would love to return to Charleston and the French Quarter Inn. Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Your generous compliments have brought a smile to our face. Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you again and create more memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,483
    228
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
540
1,539
39
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We wanted to thank the FQI for remembering my husbands birthday with in room champagne waiting for us upon check-in. We have stayed there on numerous occaisions and although it was a late made reservation with only the most expensive room being available we were happy to get it as it was Bridge Run Weekend. We would have liked a balcony for that money but..... Had an excellent 6 course tasting menu at Tristan restaurant located in the Hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your husband’s birthday with us. We are delighted that we were able to accommodate you last minute and that you enjoyed Tristan. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
271 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We were a little to early for check in but the staff helped us with our luggage and took down our information so we would be able to come back to the hotel and just pick up our keys. After walking around and shopping for a bit we headed back to the hotel. When we walked into the hotel the valet informed us that our luggage was already waiting for us in our room. Then the front desk staff handed us our keys and told us a little about our room. We were not offered the champagne and lady fingers at check in - I believe because it was 15 min. before 3 p.m. (I have a feeling they are very set to their schedule). However, the service at French Quarter Inn still can't be beat.

We entered our room and realized we had been upgraded to a Business Suite. Our room had a large bathroom, King size bed, armour, small table and chairs, computer desk with a computer, and an oversize balcony. We loved it!!

The hotel offers guests refreshments throughout the day. On the 1st floor you can get hot and/or cold coffee and tea plus sweets. One the other floors there is a hot tea and coffee station. In the evenings the hotel sets up a wine and cheese reception. We had our breakfast delivered to our room and it was delicious. We ordered coffee, fresh fruit, and pastries (chocolate croissants, apple fritter, croisants).

We will definitely be returning to the French Quarter Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustHrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a beautiful review of your recent stay. It was a pleasure to upgrade your room to a King Business Suite with a balcony and we are delighted that you enjoyed it as well as our amenities. Your compliments of our service are most appreciated. We hope to welcome you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Three night stay at the French Quarter Inn. Great location, this hotel is first class in service and amenities. The staff is first rate and very accomadating they are actually glad you're there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wes34240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
We strive on a daily basis to be first class and we greatly appreciate compliments such as yours. Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay and choosing the French Quarter Inn. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We chose to stay here for our first visit to Charleston mainly because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! The hotel and staff were wonderful! From the moment of check in until our departure we couldn't have picked a nicer place.

The accomodations were more than comfortable with one of the nicest Happy Hours with wine, cheese, crackers and delightful snacks. The staff was so helpful, asked their advice on restaurants and not only were we treated to wonderful suggestions, they made reservations for us as well as arranged a private carriage ride....fabulous. The location is superb and an easy walk to the market as well as all of the historical sites. Can't wait to come back! Better than 5 stars!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westiesruleyorkies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Better than 5 stars is a review we love to get. We have a diligent staff that works very hard daily to ensure each aspect of every guests stay is perfect. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and commend our hard work. Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn your Charleston visit. We can’t wait to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

FQI is about the same price as other hotels located in the Market area in downtown Charleston SC, yet it not the tired old chain hotel as the others. We stayed in a business king room that had a free computer. We had free Champaign when we arrived, fantastic selection of wines at 5pm and the best pepper-jack cheese we ever had to eat. Hot cookies and milk in the evening when you came in from a long walk and a very simple but tasteful breakfast in the morning; and oh by the way, the toaster really worked for bagels. The bed was a too bouncy for our tastes but at least we had a great selection of pillows to choose and a nice oversized bathroom. The FQI is within walking distance of everything; we did not have to rent a car which saved us money to use for other items. FQI has a great partnership with a tour company and even the bike taxi company, which was really different and Primetime limousine service for about $34 each way to the airport. Shops and restaurants for every taste are close by and something is happening every night, except Sunday night which was "dead". The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. So, was it worth the price, well, if you like a weekend getaway and stay in a small boutique luxury hotel, FQI is your place to stay...ignore the price and pamper yourself and just say yes it was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StLM8513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you felt you got your monies worth by staying with us. Your raving compliments about our amenities, location, and staff are greatly appreciated. We are glad you felt pampered and found it all worth it. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

There were so many choices in regards to hotels that it took us quite awhile to decide. We are so fortunate to have chosen the French Quarter Inn. It is quiet, immaculate, and charming. Silver urns of hot coffee/tea along with three choices of iced tea throughout the day is just one of the several attentions to detail. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alm1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Attention to details is vitally important to us. We strive to ensure that we miss nothing and offer exceptional service so that our guests are pampered during every moment of their stay. We appreciate your compliments and your review. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing