We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,238)
Filter reviews
3,238 results
Traveller rating
2,942
239
42
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,942
239
42
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspillow menuglass of champagnecookies and milkwine and cheesejelly beansport winedetox waterpillow conciergechampagne on arrivalcontinental breakfastturn down servicem msevening cookiesquicheearly eveningwithin walking distanceupon check
Filter
Updating list...
2,528 - 2,533 of 3,238 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating during the three days I spent there. It was an easy walk to sightseeing and dining. The staff made excellent recommendations for dining and sightseeing. I also received a map and book to help me navigate the area. The room was spacious and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The only drawback is that there is no fitness center.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCTravelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review. Your compliments of the staff are greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Unfortunately we do not have a fitness center on site, but we do work with East Shore Athletic Club and Eco Fitness both on Wentworth Street and for $10 a day their facilities are available. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My cousin and I stayed here prior to and after our cruise. The hotel staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful, including meal recommendations, reservations at restaurants and sightseeing options. The rooms and bath area were large and spacious. Everything was crisp and clean. The hotel offers a pillow menu, so you have your choice of pillows to indulge your sleeping whim. Every evening there is a wine and cheese happy hour. At 8:30 PM each evening the hotel puts out milk and cookies. Every morning there is a delightful continental breakfast with lots of choices. The location was fantastic; one block to the market and walking distance to everything you want to see or do in the historic area. Incredible service at affordable prices - what's not to love!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Thank you very much for your review and choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our pillow menu; it is one of our favorite amenities. We greatly appreciate your review and compliments. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

What a wonderful hotel! The desk clerks were very nice and helped arrange dinner reservations for us. We were greeted with champagne and lady fingers upon checkin. Having never been to Charleston we relied on the hotels staff to direct in the right places. We had a wine reception in the lobby every evening with cheese, crackers and fruit. The room was very nice and spacious. We will definitely go back to this hotel, it was right in the heart of Charleston and close to everything that we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trvlldy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

For your first trip to Charleston we are overjoyed that you choose us and had such a wonderful time. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Our stay at the French Quarter was wonderful. It's small enough to feel like we were visiting in a friend's home. It's elegant, the amenities and service were great. Special thanks to the manager, for going over the top to help us with a problem we were having. The cheeses and wine in late afternoon were delicious and the atmosphere to enjoy it was splendid. They made superb restaurant recommendations. The location is perfect for walking all over the city. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

We think of the hotel in the same way. We are the perfect size to offer a quaint experience, home away from home feel, with a touch of elegance. Thank you for your generous compliments and wonderful review. We can’t wait to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We were delighted with every aspect of our stay at the French Quarter Inn. Here were some of the things we found exceptional about the hotel:

- Location, location, location. We were a short <5 minute walk from every fantastic restaurant in town. It was a very pleasant, scenic, and safe stroll to dinner at night, and we felt like we were in the middle of everything but somehow without having to deal with any street noise or bustle during our downtimes.

- Champagne, of course. And wine, and cheese, and ladyfingers, and milk and cookies.... There were so many guest service hours (3pm, 5pm, 8pm) that we were literally never in the hotel without being offered some sort of drink or treat. It was wonderful to be able to sit down to a cozy glass of champagne after a day exploring the historic district.

- The room was impeccable. I will agree that the mattresses could stand an upgrade, but we appreciated the comfortable environment nonetheless. The bathroom was spacious, and even without a balcony room (they were sold out of these) we were very happy with the spaciousness. It was well cleaned, nice turndown service, unobtrusive hotel staff.

- Front desk staff eager to be helpful. They set up tricky hotel reservations (during weekend, restaurant week) even when we didn't ask them to - they insisted on helping to assure we got good meals at optimal times.

- For such a small inn, they really do have a luxurious space, and the public areas are spacious and comfortable for relaxing.

Highly recommend the French Quarter Inn. It made for a perfect and pampered stay in beautiful Charleston.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank styron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Our center of Charleston location is amazing, we are very lucky to be in the heart of it all and love that we can offer the great location, yet be removed from the hustle and bustle of the busy city streets. Thank you for your compliments on our service, amenities, and hotel property; we greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Our mattress order has been placed and we look forward to completing our final phase of renovation in January. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews