We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 22/07
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Charleston Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$125
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,180)
Filter reviews
3,180 results
Traveller rating
2,885
238
42
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,885
238
42
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspillow menucookies and milkglass of champagnewine and cheesejelly beansport winedetox waterchampagne on arrivalcontinental breakfastturn down servicem msevening cookiesquicheearly eveningwithin walking distancesouthern hospitalitythe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,466 - 2,471 of 3,180 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

After reading the reviews on TA and seeing that French Quarter Inn was voted #1, we booked our 10th Anniversary trip. From the moment we arrived, I knew why it was voted number one. The friendly front desk staff started off "the spoiling" immediately. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room had been upgraded at no extra charge to a King Executive Suite with a balcony. Situated right over the market area, it was a nice view even if it wasn't a huge balcony.

Then, a knock on the door, and there was a bottle of champagne with a note wishing us a happy anniversary. It was just such a nice way to start our trip, our first ever to Charleston.

Every day there was a very nice continental breakfast spread in the morning, a wine and cheese hour in the afternoon, and warm cookies and milk before bedtime. All of these were served in the lobby (unless you wanted breakfast delivered to your room), which created the sense of a bed and breakfast community even in this larger hotel setting.

As a matter of fact, that's how I describe the place to others: the personal attention of a bed and breakfast with the elegance and style of a very nice hotel. With only 50 rooms in the hotel, it offered the chance for faces of guests to become familiar and friendly.

One night we even had trouble finding reservations for dinner, but the front desk staff made it happen. They helped us get into Grill 225, a superior restaurant!!! We happened to go during restaurant week, so on top of a fabulous dinner, it was at a completely reasonable price.

Every day we were greeted with smiles and "how can we help you?" We were treated as if they knew us well. That's the charm!

If you have a reason to treat yourself, by all means, stay at the French Quarter Inn. It's worth every cent!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amyluvssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

A 10 year anniversary celebration is a very important one and we are honored to have been part of the celebration. It was truly our pleasure to upgrade you and ensure your celebration started off like every celebration should, with Champagne. Your generous compliments and wonderful descriptions of your stay are greatly appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and treated yourselves, you deserved it. We can’t wait to celebrate another 10 years with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

If one is looking for luxery, location, and a staff willing to go above and beyond, the French Quarter Inn in Charleston is for you. We stayed from Sept. 25th, 2011 to the 29th and will never stay anyplace else in Charleston and really why would anyone want to. The location is within walking distance of some of the finest restaurants in Charleston and right next to the fabulous MarketPlace. The staff was more than happy to help novice travelers book restaurant reservations(all were fabulous by the way) and city tours. After a busy day it was nice to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and unwind with other guests. This Hotel makes you feel like you are part of their very exclusive family. I miss them already and will be back!

Room Tip: King bed rooms wih balcony were wonderful to sit out and relax, have coffee etc.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

The French Quarter Inn team and our guests are our family and we are honored to have you be a part of it. It is truly a pleasure to offer the service, location, and amenities that we do and we love to know that our guests enjoyed all that we do. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back into the family every time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I found this wondeful place on trip advisor but each time I checked was unable to book it because the hotel was full. We arrived in Charleston on a Wednesday without a reservation (DO NOT try this on a weekend!!) and stopped at the Visitor's Center. They were able to book it for us. The hotel staff, with so much knowledge, directed us to all of the best that Charleston has to offer. The hotel is as good as the precious ratings indicate. When we visit Charleston again we will make sure we are able to get a reservation at the French Quarter Inn!

Ordinarily I am not crazy about small hotels because they either lack services or I feel like we are being "watched over". This hotel was totally different. The service was amazing and personal but not "invasive". The extra treats, wine and cheese, continental breakfast and beverages were a bonus. Everyone smiled. While the hotel would serve a family very well, it was not overpopulated by families seeking to feed "free breakfast" to hoards of kids. We had a great trip. Can't say enough about this place.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first level of rooms--on the same level as the front desk. Perfect for asking a question or two, grabbing a newspaper or a glass of iced tea...(convenient, because it is pretty warm in Charleston in August...)
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TahoeScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thank you for trying so hard to stay with us and succeeding. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, especially the convenient location, which does come in handy during that hot month of August. Your gracious compliments are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I spent 5 nights in September 2011 at this charming Hotel. After reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor about this place they all seemed too good to be true, but I have to admit that all expectations were met. The location is unbeatable with most of the attractions within walking distance, the staff very polite and friendly, and the idea of having cheese and wine included in the afternoons gave us an opportunity to meet a few of the other guests. The coffee and tea in the passageways were also most appreciated as were the white chocolate chip cookies every night just before bedtime ! Will definitely stay there again when in Charleston.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor facing the same direction as the main entrance which was a bit noisy at 6:30 am when the garbage truck made the rounds, but this was probably audible from most rooms. Didn't deter us from going back.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristoNoosaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a truly enjoyable time with us. Thank you for your wonderful review and lovely compliments. We look forward to your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

great location, kid friendly, snacks all day long--jelly bellies and m&m's all day with fruit tea's and coffee also available. Milk and cookies at night time, and fruit, cheese and wine before dinner means when you go out to eat you aren't really that hungry =). we loved breakfast being delivered to our room and were able to order for our daughter as well. also, the pillow menu and concierge were great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2011

Thank you for your delightful review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed all of our amenities. The candies in the lobby are definitely one of the most popular. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews