We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm & welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warm & welcome”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived in the evening and the bellman began our stay with a warm welcome. This was the beginning of the staff's attitude and approach. They quickly learned our names and went overboard to do whatever it took to make our stay enjoyable. We were in a suite and the living room, bedroom and bathroom were all large, everything worked and all was spotless. The buffet breakfast had a great variety and everything was fresh. For the afternoon wine and snacks, the staff served us and went out of their way to always have a smile. We enjoyed the after dinner port each evening. The hotel is a good example of what a well trained and motivated staff can do.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear StanS40,

I hope you are doing well back in warm and beautiful San Diego! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,449
    223
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
528
1,518
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

After a late flight, my wife and I are greeted by the bellman "by name".. The clerk at that front desk offered champagne and, again, greeted us by name.. There was nothing they wouldn't do to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Wow.. Southern charm and hospitality in a perfect section of town.. We were blown away by the hospitality, friendliness and vibe... We had a beautiful room and an exceptional experience.. There IS a reason why this place is rated so high.. Do yourself a favor.. If you are traveling to Charleston.. Stay here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefty-BassPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Lefty-BassPlayer,

I hope your travels back to beautiful Fort Washington were pleasant! I thank you for such a wonderful review! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for one night on our road trip south. We selected the French Quarter Inn based upon the glowing TripAdvisor reviews.

The hotel was initially a little difficult for us to locate -- it's not really on Church Street, It just took a swing around the block. The bellman was very helpful, and our room was a decent size, clean, and comfortable. I don't believe the hotel has room service -- but they offer breakfast things, ice tea, coffee, cookies, etc. in an area of the lobby.

My only criticism of an otherwise pleasant (albeit short) stay was the check-in process. We were the only people checking in, and the front desk clerk took a telephone call in the middle of helping me. The call turned out to be convoluted, with the calling party apparently asking about room rates, availability, etc.

In my view it's discourteous to deal with someone on the 'phone when a paying guest is standing there in front of you. By all means answer the 'phone, and politely explain that you're with a guest and will either call back -- or pop the person on hold.

When she got off the phone I politely explained this to her. She gave me a friendly lecture about the Lord rewarding patience.

Not much more to say about this hotel, but I do have a story about Charleston. When we were there the weather was generally fine, but with interludes of very heavy rain. One of these downpours caught us just after we had lunch, so Her Ladyship and I huddled under an awning on Queen Street.

A car pulled up in the pouring rain, the passenger window rolled down, and a lady asked us if we'd like an umbrella -- while simultaneously handing us one of those collapsible models. It was a surprising act of kindness -- and that umbrella made it possible for us to wander the shops on King Street. The car whisked off -- I noticed it had an Iowa license plate.

I don't know about the Lord rewarding patience -- but hopefully the Lord will reward folks who selfishly give you an umbrella. I'm moving to Iowa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig_Walsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Craig_Walsh,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I hope your travels back to beautiful Vermont were pleasant! I am sorry to read that one of our Guest Representatives gave you the impression that they were lecturing on patience, and I am disappointed that they would even do so, but we are using your comments as a great training lesson to the entire staff.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed only 2 days in this centrally located hotel in Charleston. The staff is just perfect, especially the bell captain's team and the reception team. We felt welcomed from the very first moment on. Around the hotel you'll find at least a dozen high-class restaurants within a 5-10 min walk. Unfortunately we had no more time to visit French Quarter Inn's own restaurant "Tristan", but it's on the list for our next visit.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear ZPS,

I hope your travels back to beautiful Switzerland were pleasant! On a side note, I love Switzerland as I lived in Lausanne for several months. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We only stayed one night at the French Quarter Inn the night before we were flying back home, but it was wonderful. The staff at the front desk was exceptional on more than one occasion and the room was lovely. We actually stayed at the Charleston Place on the front end of our trip and while it too was very lovely, I thought the value at the French Quarter Inn was much better for the same accommodations. The breakfast, wine & cheese and desserts were wonderful and all of the food was very good. I would definitely recommend the French Quarter Inn to anyone planning a trip to Charleston!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFTraveler516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear SFTraveler516,

I hope you are doing well over in beautiful California, and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We just spent our 25th wedding anniversary in Charleston and my husband treated me to this first class hotel. We couldn't have been more pleased. The room was spacious and clean and the service from every one of the staff was exceptional. We had a small mechanical problem with the air conditioning in our room and Brent Gresham, the GM, went out of his way to resolve the problem and make sure we were comfortable. If you stay here, be sure to meet Brent - he is a true southern gentleman. The morning breakfast buffet and evening appetizers were outstanding and provided the opportunity for great conversations with other hotel guests. This was our first trip to Charleston, but definitely not the last. I won't even consider another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear lrbert,

I hope y'all are doing well and staying warm back in beautiful Virginia! It was an absolute pleasure meeting and getting to know you both! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We just got back from Charleston and had a wonderful time there. This hotel is in a marvelous location (but be sure to get detailed directions if driving as the entrance is on an alley) to visit the historic downtown of Charleston. The room was big and quiet (a queen jujnior suite) and the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. Towels and t.p. were both top-notch, something that is sometimes overlooked in the best of hotels. Special thanks to Darryl at the front desk and Mark at the door for always having smiling faces and even learning our names soon upon arrival. We didn't even get a chance to use the bicycles so we will have to go back soon to use them and enjoy the bedtime cookies and milk some more! The lobby and patio are very comfortable places to lounge and eat breakfast. We didn't get much of a chance to enjoy all of the amenities that the hotel has to offer as we were on the go most of the time. There is also a highly acclaimed restaurant, Tristan, attached to the hotel which has wonderful food.

Room Tip: We were in room 106 which overlooks the plaza. Very nice and unexpectedly quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingdentist60189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear dancingdentist60189,

I hope you are doing well and that your travels back to beautiful Illinois were pleasant! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Also, Daryl says hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,960 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,028 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 60 in Charleston
392 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,312 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing