We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Lodging”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Franklin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“First Class Lodging”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

On our third visit to Charleston, and our third different hotel/inn, we found the winner. Wonderful location, great rooms, unbeatable staff giving flawless service, and topped off by a terrific breakfast. Special thanks to one of the late night staff, Michelle, who went above and beyond her duties to assist us in rectifying a problem. Zero negatives to mention and will definitely return there in the future. It is easy to see why they have received so many accolades in recent years!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Nick C,

I hope your travels back to beautiful Wisconsin were pleasant, and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Also, Michelle says hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,485
    228
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
540
1,541
39
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the French Quarter Inn. The building is very attractive, inside and out. The service is superb. Being offered champagne upon arrival, and wine and delicious snacks from 5:30 - 6:30 were very endearing, and appreciated. The staff were friendly, and eager to assist. The location is so convenient; it is not a long walk to the South Battery, and to many of the must-see sights, and restaurants.

This inn is highly recommendable.

Room Tip: Get directions to the entrance of the inn. Finding it nearly drove our car's GPS crazy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aikenfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Aikenfans,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us, and I hope your travels back to beautiful Aiken were pleasant! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The French Quarter Inn is first class and in my opinion, the only place to stay when in Charleston, conveniently located right outside of the market. The front desk/concierge were extremely helpful in arranging transportation & spa appointments. The beds and pillows were the most comfortable I've ever had, champagne was waiting for us upon our arrival and every evening the beds were turned down and the fireplace turned on for our return. The Inn offers an outstanding continental breakfast - an extensive array of offerings including champagne for your mimosas! The wine and cheese hour everyday is not to be missed. What an impressive offering of wine/cheeses/sliced meats/olives and.... a perfect time of day to take a break before enjoying the charm of Charleston for the evening. The staff went out of their way to assure that our stay was enjoyable. Don't forget to stop in the lobby for cookies and tea before turning in at night. How can you ask for more?

Room Tip: If you can, request a room with a view over the market place with a balcony or terrace - exquisite!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green and environmentally oriented with recycling in each room.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escapetocape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear escapetocape,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us, and I hope you are doing well down in beautiful Florida! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I would like to commend the staff at the French Quarter Inn for the hospitality we were afforded. From the pleasant reservation process with Daryl to the front desk charm of Jenny and the GM himself Brent, the stay was a fun and very pleasant experience. The Inn was the best that I have stayed at- period. I have traveled the world I might add....
My wife and I will return in the fall.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
Green Features: My wife and I were impressed with the waste basket in the bathroom that actually was divided for recycled materials---what attention to details!
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear john b,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us, and I thank you for such high praises about my team and our amenities! We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Also, Jenny and Daryl says hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed Aug 2013 - we booked this hotel based on our need to be central to all that we wanted to see and do in Charleston and it did not disappoint, although they could have done better with check in process ( we arrived later than originally planned and there was only one person manning both the doors - that was closed - and it was the same person that opened the door for us to do the check in), also breakfast could have been more varied, lots of pastries and carbs and not alot of protein and for the price of this hotel they could have served better breakfast, for this reason i gave it an average, bec it is touted as a luxury hotel but it wasnt really in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ainah1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear ainah1975,

I hope you are having a wonderful day back home in beautiful California! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed many elements of our Inn during your visit a year ago, but as a passionate service professional, you can imagine that I am disappointed to read that we did not meet all of your expectations and for that, I sincerely apologize on behalf of the entire team. We stay 100% committed to excellence so that every guest's high expectations of us are met or exceeded. I am deeply disappointed and am sorry that we did not meet your perception of luxury.

I hope you are able to visit us again as it would be a pleasure to welcome y’all back and to demonstrate our commitment to excellence. Please contact me directly if you are planning a visit to the area again, and do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family.

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was our first time in Charleston. Definitely plan on returning. French Quarter Inn is in the perfect location of downtown. Everything was within such a short walk. Although it was busy on this side of town, I did not hear noise at all from our room. Rooms are very well insulated. Guests were very upscale. Staff was as well. They are all very anxious to please. The hotel itself is decorated beautifully with true southern furnishings. We especially enjoyed having a coffee bar right outside our room, the free breakfast w/ mimosas, the wine and cheese hour, the cookies and milk hour......the special touches that were complimentary made it truly upscale. Our room was immaculate upon arriving, and cleaned immaculately every day. We loved having Tommy Condon's across the street. Great place for drinks and appetizers. Oak Steakhouse was one of our favorites, along with Magnolias. Really you can't go wrong anywhere you choose to dine. Take advantage of the bikes at the hotel. It is so much fun taking a morning bike ride around the city. Especially before it gets crowded. Middleton Place was an amazing experience. Most beautiful piece of property we have ever seen. Rent a car downtown and drive out there. Definitely not a bike ride away but definitely not to be missed!!! I cant imagine having stayed anywhere else during our stay in Charleston. We were so pampered and comfortable here it almost would have effected our trip had we stayed elsewhere. Our only complaint for management is the weak water pressure in the showers. However, that is the only single item of imperfection during our stay. Thank you French Quarter Inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear kris200,

I hope you are doing well back in the GREAT state of Texas! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

You cannot find a more centrally located hotel with the customer service that the French Quarter Inn offers. It was a bit difficult to find, but a phone call to the front desk guided us right in. I have been traveling the Charleston for vacation since 1996 and have not ever encountered an establishment so friendly and accommodating. If you arrive before check-in, they allow you to park, pre-register and go about enjoying your day downtown. They took my number and called my cell once my room was available. You can easily walk anywhere from this hotel. The valet and bell staff take care of getting you settled in the room. Champagne is offered upon arrival. The lobby always has refreshments and snacks available. The only drawback is the construction next door. After paying money for a terrace room, it was a MAJOR disappointment to have large obstructions of the views and LOUD noise early in the morning. I would check on this before booking. The entire hotel was literally shaking when work was taking place. The continental breakfast was the best ever and you could have it brought to your room. Overall, I would stay again but would request to be as far away from construction as possible. It looks like that particular room (310) will be permanently effected by the build and whatever is being erected will obstruct views.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Amy K,

I hope you are doing well in beautiful Charlotte! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! However, I am deeply disappointed to read that you experienced some failures during your visit with us, and I apologize for the construction noise of the new building next door. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing