We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pumpered up at the Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pumpered up at the Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Fabulous Inn! better than any home ( away from home): friendly, comfortable, cozy, upscale and elegant! and right in the middle of the action! Great find! very polite, smiley, accommodating staff. Well thought of selection of wines and food! breakfast, although listed as " continental", are spectacular: great menu and service! Beautiful suite, fantastic bed and magazines! Loved the stay!

Room Tip: a suit on the first floor a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Nadrod,

I hope you are doing well back home in Massachusetts, and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we were better than any home away from home! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,449
    223
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
528
1,518
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The most wonderful staff who catered to every request. Absolutely grand! In a perfect location, with beautiful rooms and exceptional service. A fun and lively happy hour to enjoy each evening. Will deffinately return. Also, hats off to staff member Trayvon. It seems he was there morning noon and night, always smiling, always helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Kathy S,

To begin, Treyvon insisted that I tell you he says "hello and thank you..." first! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westcoast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The French Quarter Inn is one of those establishments that deserves its reputation. Knowing a bit about the hotel business, I know you have to earn that reputation every 24 hours...it "ain't" easy. They posses the three necessary requirements to be considered exceptional: facilities, service and location. On the service side, Mrs. Jenny went out of her way to make sure our stay was not just satisfactory, but memorable. She is a Southern lady, steeped in all things Charleston. The facilities, from the guest rooms to the public areas are top drawer, and the location cannot be beat. The hospitality trifecta, if you will.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestcoastRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear WestcoastRay,

I hope you are doing well over on the west coast! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Also, Mrs. Jenny says thank you and hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The staff was wonderful from when we got to the hotel till when we left! Spent last weekend there with my girlfriends and the location was superb. We were right outside of the City Market and everything was within walking distance- great shopping, the historic district and the harbor. The rooms were lovely and the cleaning staff was superb! From champagne to wine and cheese hour to the cookies and milk- everything was lovely. We also had a wonderful breakfast every morning too!! We also had a wonderful turn down service with pralines by our bedside! I loved the French Quarter Inn!

Room Tip: I liked staying on the first floor -- close to dining and reception desk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Patty S,

I hope you are doing well back home in beautiful New York! I am delighted to read that y'all ladies enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We visit Charleston about twice per year and have stayed in several of the properties in the Market district. We had heard from friends about the fantastic accommodations and amenities at this Inn. Recently stayed at this property and we were really impressed with everything about the experience. The room, the refreshments, the breakfast, and the staff were all an A+ in our opinion. This is our new favorite hotel/inn in Charleston....bar none!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelers N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Travelers N,

Wow--I thank you for such high praises,and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had such a great time at the French Quarter Inn. The service from making reservations to checking out was impeccable. The location to the historic district was perfect and within walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do. We enjoyed the champagne at check in after a long ride. The convenience of the breakfast delivered to your room was wonderful. Every person on the staff was very friendly and helpful. There was not a thing that I would have changed. Mr Treyvon was our favorite staff member, he had such a wonderful sense of humor and always made sure we had everything we needed. When we complimented him he told us that everyone at the French Quarter Inn was as great as he was and was like family. This told me two things, that he was a team player and they truly were like family. I would highly recommend the French Quarter Inn and I will be staying there again when I come back to Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Dianne660,

I hope all is well back home in beautiful and sunny Florida! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Also, Treyvon says hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The French Quarter Inn is a charming and beautiful hotel. The entire team offers specialized, friendly, attentive customer service and demonstrates true Southern hospitality. The hotel was within walking distance of the historic district and wonderful restaurants and was a perfect location to celebrate our special occasion. Would definitely recommend as the premier spot to stay in Charleston. We look forward to our next trip to the French Quarter Inn.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the balcony suite overlooking the Market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Hall_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Rebecca_Hall_222,

I hope you are doing well back home in the GREAT and beautiful state of Texas! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#9 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing