We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, elegant boutique hotel”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfect location, elegant boutique hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Booked last minute, so had to change rooms. The double queen room was roomy, excellent beds and good price at $270. This room has a combination bath tub shower. The second room was a junior king suite. Disappointed to see it was actually the same room, one less window with a pull out couch instead of another bed. The bathroom had no tub, but nice walk in glass shower. The price difference was substantial, room was $455. Not worth the price difference at all and really can't call it a suite. Location is right next to the open air markets. We walked everywhere. Champagne at check in, although it took over 30 minutes to get our bags, we actually left to walk around before they came. They always have light snack and drinks available. Did not take advantage of wine/cheese reception, it was really crowded. No business center, but computer to print boarding passes in lobby, no pool. Tricky to find, when you see Tom Condon's restaurant on corner, turn right and valet is on the left. They have a nice pillow menu. We called at 11pm to ask for one for pull out and he said housekeeping already gone, but then did bring two up. Complementary continental breakfast delivered to room was nice. Good choices and food was good. No restaurant on site, so they have to add these extra touches to compete. We didn't miss one though, so many just steps from the hotel. I don't blame them for not adding one. Turn down service with waters provided. Chocolates as well, but I would suggest they wrap them, not very appetizing looking. Front desk was helpful with maps and dining suggestions. So many little places to stay, would try another next time, but wouldn't mind doing a queen room here again.

Room Tip: Do a double queen instead of junior king suite, not worth price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Curly8,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. I am disappointed to read that your second room was not to your expectations; I sincerly apologize for the disappointment. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,570
    232
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
567
1,587
41
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Advance, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a terrace room for one night on 07/05/14.
Everything was superb. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are spectacular with everything one would need. The morning breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed it on our terrace overlooking Charleston.We plan on returning whenever in Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Westw51,

I hope you are well back home in beautiful Advance, and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Staying at the French Quarter Inn is absolutely amazing and the staff is excellent. We will never stay anywhere else when visiting Charleston. It offers a perfect location, numerous amenities, and lots of southern charm. Overall, 5 star quality.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yvette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Yvette T,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN CHARLESTON! Superior in every way ... for instance, the friendliest and most helpful staff, the quality of the breakfast, and the many amenities (like TWO social hours/receptions EVERY DAY! One is at 5:30 with wine, cheese and other goodies and another one is at 8:30 with port wine and dessert). A very upscale Inn.

I have to mention some of the wonderful folks that made our stay very memorable: Glori and Meredith and the Front Desk, Mark and Trayvon at the Bellman's Desk (Valet), Hilary, Lilit and Jazzi at the evening receptions, Angel and Susan in Housekeeping and Cindy at Breakfast.

My wife and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom_Larkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Tom_Larkin,

I hope you are doing well back home in beautiful Ohio! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The French Quarter Inn is a small (50 rooms), elegant, lovely hotel in the heart of Charleston's historic district........easy walking to everything! So many amenities...extensive continental breakfast, evening wine&cheese, cookies&milk later......turn down service..... many extra nice touches included. The staff very friendly/professional/helpful.......some of the best and attentive service we have ever encountered. From the valet/bell staff to the front desk (Jenny & Michelle were especially helpful w/directions, restaurant recommendations/reservations, etc. etc. etc!) and everyone in between.....the service level of this hotel is the icing on a beautiful cake.
Highly recommend it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Kathy G,

I hope you are doing well back home in beautiful California! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Also, Michelle says hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family and I stayed at the FQI just a few weeks ago and what a fabulous hotel it is! I called prior to arrival inquiring if they offered almond milk as my 6 year old has a severe dairy intolerance; Scott answered the phone and said they normally don't carry it, however, they will purchase it and have it ready upon arrival. They sure did...within 15 minutes of arriving, I was immediately asked if my daughter needed a glass and whether I wanted the almond milk in our room or with the hotel kitchen.

Our room was not ready as we arrived earlier than planned but that was no issue. They took care of our bags, parked our car and Brent made wonderful lunch reservations at Blossom. From there we enjoyed our walk and were called once the room was ready. Our room was amazing. The beds and baths were beautiful and clean.

Concierge was so helpful and welcoming. Jenny was so kind and sweet with my girls (6,4) and gave us great ideas for each day of our stay.

I can't say enough about this hotel. From the rooms, to the food, to the service, this hotel is absolutely exquisite. Can't wait to go back.

Thank you FQI for making this such a memorable getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SalukiSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear SalukiSandy,

I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful Suwanee and that your Independence Day weekend was a great one! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Absolutely loved this inn. Staff was pleasant and efficient; we wanted for nothing during our four day stay. We had a lovely suite with a huge balcony where we enjoyed breakfast each morning delivered with a smile and no extra charge. Bed was very comfortable; bathroom large with a nice oversized shower. Afternoon snacks and evening cookies were great. Inn is perfectly located for visiting historical Charleston. It is a block from the market, carriage rides, many beautiful homes, a few blocks from the bay front, and close to many of Charleston's best restaurants. Glori in reception and Trayvon who worked the bell and parking desk were especially cordial and helpful. We would opt for this inn again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Even though it costs a little more, a room with a balcony is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamainatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Kamainatraveler,

I hope you are doing well back home in lovely Mililani! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Also, Glori says hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,186 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,047 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,420 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
461 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing