We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Several times here with 3 couples continues to exceed our expectations. Well trained staff, always helpful and smiling, gorgeous tasting breakfast (love the lox) along with wine/cheese,etc in the afternoon and port wine,etc in evening. Great location downtown within a few blocks of many good restaurants ie SNOB, Husk in particular. I enjoyed hanging out at the hotel, walking to the battery area and enjoying the fine good. Will return.

Room Tip: We have stayed here several times in different rooms and all excel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lilysouthcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear lilysouthcarolina,

It was great having you back with us, and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,303 - 1,309 of 2,953 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We've had the pleasure of staying at the French Quarter Inn several times in the past and have always had a wonderful experience and this stay did not disappoint! This hotel is centrally located and perfect for touring. We took our daughter and her fiancé to Charleston for their first visit as an engagement gift. They were both so excited and enjoyed their stay very much. We arrived early as we planned to spend the whole day touring. We were met by Peter, the valet, who graciously greeted us and stored our luggage and valet parked our car. We went to the lobby desk to see if our rooms might be ready/or check in. Marvin is a wonderful host at the front desk who made arrangements for our rooms which would be ready later in the afternoon. We've had the pleasure of meeting Marvin in the past and he has always been tops. He makes you feel very welcome and at home. We lunched at Husk, the chef is from top chef, and then toured around the city by foot. Our rooms were ready around 2. We received a lovely glass of Champagne and proceeded to our rooms. We stayed in room 313 which was a suite and had a wonderful balcony overlooking the market. This room has a fireplace and was very bright with natural light. The room was clean and smelled great. The furnishings appeared brand new with no obvious wear and tear, very well taken care of. The bathroom was marble with a very large walk in shower and separate soaking tub. (Much needed after walking around Charleston all day) The towels were plentiful and soft. The bed and bed linens were extremely comfortable. The room also had a DVD player, a large screen TV as well as a safe for your valuables. Susan was our room attendant and kept our room spotless. At 5:30 there is a wine and cheese get together. A beautiful arrangement of cheeses with fruit, crackers, breads, antipasto meats and a variety of olives were featured. The wine served was very good although I don't know the brand. There are a variety of seating areas in the lobby and also on the patio to enjoy. Lily was one of the hostesses who was very attentive to our needs. The get together was well attended and it was delicious. Later in the evening there was an offering of delicious cookies, milk and port wine. During the day there is always coffee and tea as well as several types of infused cold waters. My favorite was the Lavender Basil. That was sooo good and refreshing. Additionally there are two candy containers, M&M's and jelly beans. I'm a chocoholic so they probably had to call out for more M&M's! The hotel offer's bicycles for those who are adventurous and want to see the historic district by bike. Breakfast was served the next morning in the lobby and also availably by room services. One of the things we like about this hotel is the coffee cart in the hallways in the morning. So nice to grab a good cup of coffee to enjoy in bed before going to breakfast. We enjoyed the continental breakfast. The breakfast featured fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh pastries, bagels and smoked salmon, quiche and toast as well as other offerings. Also available was juices, coffees, milk and tea, We had our breakfast on the patio and it was so relaxing. We checked out of the hotel in the morning but checked our luggage until we were ready to leave. The hotel allows you to check your luggage and keep your car in valet until 3pm on check out day which was a very nice option for us. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the market on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank torpeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear torpeedo,

I hope y'all are doing well back home in lovely Lexington! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us, I thank you for such a detailed review! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I selected this hotel, based on reviews I read on Tripadvisor, so I'm passing on the favor! We had a beach home rental on Isle of Palms, beginning on a Saturday, but wanted to spend a couple nights In Charleston, before heading to the beach. Every contact I had with the French Quarter Inn, from reserving it, to checking out, was a pleasure. We arrived Thursday around 1pm (after having driven 12 hours thru the night, so we were tired!) and they were able to accomodate us right away. We had a jr. suite on the first floor, and were thrilled with the amount of room we had. This is one of the only hotels in Charleston that offers 2 queen beds, instead of just doubles. We had 3 of us the first night, and 5 of us the 2nd night, and still had room to move around! They allowed my son to park his car under the valet parking area, even tho they were closed for the evening, since he arrived at 1am in the morning. I need to remark on the wonderful food they provide! The breakfast buffet is laid out so artistically, and everything is tasty. They did have a bit of re-stocking problems, toward the final 1/2 hour of the buffet, but nothing they didn't try hard to correct. The wine and cheese hour in the late afternoon was much nicer than we expected! Cookies and milk in the evening...what more can I say? The concierge set up our walking tour Friday morning with Two Sisters Tours, which was exceptional as well! My entire family was very impressed with this hotel. I would highly recommend it to anyone! I hope this information will encourage yet another lucky family to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KathyC105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear KathyC105,

I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful New York! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful Ohio!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Again a wonderful stay at the French Quarter Inn. I have tried many hotels in the Charleston downtown and none compare to the service and quality of the FQI. The staff is friendly and the welcoming glass of champagne is my cup of tea. My son is a "5th" year student at C of C so Im there a lot and try to only stay here. I recommend the room with a balcony so nice looking over Market street.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear cynture,

I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful New York! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Believe every word of the positive reviews. I just returned from a two week journey down and up the eastern coast. The French Quarter Inn was, by far, the best hotel we stayed at. The room was amazing. We were in room 320 and had an enormous balcony with a view of the city. The staff is equally amazing. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nbptlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear nbptlh,

I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful Massachusetts! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. I love room 320 too!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and I stopped here for a few days to unwind after dropping our daughter off at college. From the moment we arrived, everyone went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast, the wine/cheese every early evening, and the cookies at night. Tea, lemonade, water, and coffee were available all day in the relaxing lobby. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished. The hotel is ideally situated with nearly everything you can think of within walking distance. We had a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Mitch S,

I hope you are doing well back home in beautiful Virginia! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband surprised me this past week with a get-away to Charleston and a stay at the French Quarter Inn. We enjoyed every minute of our visit but the highlight by far was the hotel. Upon arriving early, we were offered champagne (which was available all day long) and a very relaxing wait in their very European sitting area (which also offered coffee and tea) while our room was prepared. They assisted with dinner reservations at High Cotton, which wasn't available when I called. At every turn, they went out of their way to make the visit special, not only for us but for every one of their guests. There was an endless array of treats, starting with all day snacks of M&Ms and jelly beans, a beautiful wine and cheese reception every night, milk and cookies after dinner, along with evening port. The buffet breakfast was superb. The location is in the heart of the city, yet we enjoyed a quiet sleep each evening. I can't say enough good about this very excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Car0linaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Car0linaTravelers,

I hope all is well up in beautiful Charlotte! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,880 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,475 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 61 in Charleston
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £211 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing