We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay in Charleston!”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay in Charleston!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Went to Charleston for a girls week to celebrate 30 years of friendship. We stayed our first 2 nights at the French Quarter Inn. We were greeted warmly and check-in was a breeze. We were given Mimosa upon check-in. Our room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious. The hotel offered cheese, fruit and wine from 5-6 PM and cookies and milk in the late evening after returning from a day of sightseeing. A healthy breakfast was included each morning. The front desk agents and bellman called us by name and all staff including housekeepers were friendly and more than willing to help with directions or recommendations. Chuck the bellman was awesome. The location is fabulous and close to the open market and the historic homes. We walked everywhere. This hotel is definitely worth the money especially with all the perks!! Summer time is less expensive and we even got a gift card to one of the local restaurants. Truly southern hospitality at its best! We can't wait to return.

Green Features: Linen reuse, energy efficient lights, recycle bins in rooms.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Londabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear BarryLonda,

I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful Maryland! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,511
    230
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
543
1,561
40
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My husband and I wanted to getaway for a couple days to celebrate our 35th anniversary. We chose the French Quarter Inn, in part because of the positive reviews and they are all true. When we arrived in Charleston we had a bit of a problem finding the entrance to the Inn. A front desk person stayed on the phone with us providing directions until we were at the front door. We were impressed with all of the staff ; the front desk, housekeeping, servers valet parkers. ( We really enjoyed Charles) They provided incredible service and made great recommendations. I would say I was surprised that when they asked how are day was they were really interested. The accommodations were wonderful. You just can't beat the location. We loved walking out of the Inn to the market in Charleston. The only thing lacking was some type of workout facility. But, I am told that is in the works. We would absolutely go back again. Next time we would reserve a room with a balcony. We are grateful to all of the staff, we are so grateful that you helped to make our anniversary so special.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Melody R,

I thank you for such a detailed and wonderful review! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel is as close to perfect as it gets - it's worth every penny. There are so many good things I don't even know where to begin. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (Will in the valet is awesome!). Location to everything couldn't have been better. The in-room breakfast and evening reception (wine and cheese) was fabulous. I have already recommended this to my friends. Definitely a "must stay" place when visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NCUWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear NCUWT,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again, and I hope all is well back home in beautiful North Carolina!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Truly flawless experience for those who love boutique hotel experiences. French style meets Southern hospitality right next to Market Street in Charleston. Our kids found the nightly milk and cookies quite yummy. Wife and I watched the amazing thunderstorms from the balcony while sipping (complimentary) champagne. Worth every penny.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JustinG788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear JustinG788,

Wow, I thank you for such high praise! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. I hope all is well in beautiful Washington!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorain, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is by far one of the best hotel stays we have ever had. Our first trip to Charleston was made memorable by the warm greeting we received when we arrived, by the front desk clerk, Glori. She and the day shift clerk, Marvin were very helpful in getting us information about the city and pointing out places to see and eat. Cindy and Sandy were spot on with the morning breakfast, and were more than happy to accommodate your needs. Clean rooms, gracious turndown service every evening, and great location as well.The staff at French Quarter Inn are some of the friendliest people you will meet, and that's what makes it such a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonynWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear TonynWendy,

I hope you are doing well back home in beautiful Ohio! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Also, Glori and Marvin says hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I had always wanted to go to Charleston, SC. So for my birthday this year we stayed at the French Quarter Inn, Charleston. It was an amazing hotel. The interior and furnishings were great, beautiful actually, very reminiscent of hotels in the French Quarter of New Orleans.
Our room was excellent and very comfortable. In the service was impeccable. They had a diverse and delicious continental breakfast served with Mimosas and Bloody Mary's. They had a wine and cheese reception every afternoon and cookies and milk at night.
A great place to stay.

Room Tip: I am sure every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elainebovaird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear elainebovaird5,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! I am also happy that we helped contribute to such a special occasion! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. I hope you are doing well back home in beautiful Massachusetts!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Loved it! Outstanding service and a prime location! One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at and I have traveled all over the US (26 years in the Navy). Everything that downtown Charleston has to offer is within very short walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LowcountryRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear LowcountryRealtor,

Wow! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing