We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Charleston!”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 May 2009

My sister and I have just returned from a wonderful visit to Charleston (our first). We had a fabulous stay at the French Quarter Inn. I read many of the prior reviews, and decided that this had to be our choice. Thank you Trip Advisors posters! The French Quarter Inn is perfectly located in the heart of Charleston. Nothing was more than 5 minutes away. We had a great room (214) 2 queen beds with huge balcony and a fireplace in the room. We loved all the little extras (breakfast brought to the room and served on our balcony, pralines and robes left on the bed during turndown service, fresh baked cookies and milk in the evening, wine and cheese before dinner). Housekeeping was great: plenty of towels and the room was always well taken care of. Room service was prompt (received a telephone call that it was on the way--nice touch). Great to have coffee/tea always available in the hall outside our room. Front desk staff was always very nice and helpful. Next time, we want to try their restaurant--Tristan. When we return to Charleston (and we hope to do so soon), the French Quarter Inn is not only our first choice; it is our only choice! Thanks for making this a memorable experience!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellenost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

We are honored that you chose the French Quarter Inn for your first trip to Charleston and we are ecstatic that your stay was fabulous. Our Junior Suites with Terraces are one of our most popular room types because it is a larger room with oversized bathroom, large terrace, and a great view. You made a great decision to book the Junior Suite for you and your sister. Thank you for your compliments of our staff, amenities, and housekeeping department, they are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you next and will be pleased to make your reservations at Tristan. We know you will enjoy it as much as you enjoyed us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,584 - 2,590 of 2,956 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2009

My husband and I and another couple were aware of all the 5-star reviews and therefore, we had high expectations. We were not disappointed. The champagne upon arrival, evening wine & cheese, and 24-hour coffee and tea service nicely complemented the first class rooms and central location. The quiet music added to the elegant feel of the lobby and patio areas. Dinner at Tristan was wonderful and we felt a very good value for the quality of the food and contemporary/eclectic atmosphere. Everything about the accommodations was acceptable or better although I suggest that with the high price of the rooms, the parking fee of $17 per night was a bit annoying. I guess that's typical for top city hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaxtennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2009

We are delighted we were able to meet your high expectations for your recent stay at French Quarter Inn. Our amenities help set us apart from many hotels in Charleston; we are pleased you enjoyed all of them. Your complements of Tristan are greatly appreciated and will be passed onto the chef. Our apologies for your annoyance with our valet parking fee; as parking in Charleston is incredibly restricted, especially in the historical district, we are required to charge for parking just to ensure we have enough parking available. We hope this tiny annoyance does not keep you from returning again and again. Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed two nights at the French Quarter Inn and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. After a long day, how could you not enjoy having champagne while you check in! Our king room was adequately sized with very nice decor. Our bathroom was very large and elegant, which my husband loved. Our bed was very comfortable, with great pillows. It's wonderful to be able to have coffe, tea, or cold drinks any time of the day. I especially liked the nice cup and saucers for my coffee....I'd bring a cup back to my room with delicious cookies for a nighttime treat. The cups and saucers made it more elegant than just styrofoam cups. Afternoon wine and cheese was another treat! Eating out on the terrace was wonderful.....it was so good to be outdoors because we came down from New England where it's been cold for so long.

Because I have trouble walking too far, the location of the hotel was perfect. Market Street with all the vendors was right out the door, with lots of restaurants nearby. We'd highly recommend this inn to everyone. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimiwoo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2009

Pampering is the desired effect of our service. We strive to ensure each guest is able to enjoy all aspects of the French Quarter Inn experience and all that Charleston has to offer. We are pleased you enjoyed the complimentary beverage services and were able to enjoy our beautiful weather. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

When one books a hotel in a city they've never been to it is often with apprehesion and trepidation. That was our situation with our first time travel to Charleston. I have to commend the reviewers at tripadvisor for their "right on" remarks.
When we arrived the front desk staff couldn't have been any friendlier. They discussed our plans for our stay and offered to make reservations where they could. As a result we had some delicious and authentic meals at some lovely restaurants.
The rooms are spotless and the ambiance is lovely. The wine and cheese reception and included breakfast were welcome repasts.
Our stay was more like being in a bed and breakfast, with more privacy, than being in a stuffy, lonely hotel in a strange city. And oh did I mention that the location is PERFECT ? because it is.
The air conditioner in our room failed to remove all of the humidity at times during our stay until we turned it to cooler. The weather was perfect outside however.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fpk1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2009

Thank you for your lovely comments about the French Quarter Inn staff. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful crew who truly enjoys ensuring our guests’ receive the best service, excellent recommendations, and leave with a sense of fulfillment from both Charleston and the Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed the property, the amenities, and our location. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

The staff were superb.They were friendly and very competent.
Breakfast in the room was on time and delicious.
Our Jr. Suite was very roomy and spotless.

When we returned home a staff person called to inform us we left a couple of gifts in the room. They were shipped to us.

We can't wait to return to this great hotel.
D. O., Massachusetts

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLOmassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2009

Thank you for your lovely compliments of the staff. We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast service and the spaciousness of the Junior Suite. Items are often left in guest rooms upon departure and we are more than happy to return them when possible. We look forward to welcoming you upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We stayed at the French Quarter Inn for my birthday prior to our vacation to Myrtle Beach. This hotel was absolutely fabulous. My husband and son called prior to our arrival to notify the staff that it was my birthday. We arrived in the room with a bottle of champagne, a birthday cake, and a pleasant note from the staff. I was shocked:) They also got me a massage at a nearby spa.
The amenties at the hotel are unlike any I have ever experienced before. We had cheese and wine, cookies and milk, champagne and lady fingers and the breakfast you could chose to have in your room or down in the lobby. We chose to have our breakfast sent to our room. We sat outside on the balcony and enjoyed our wonderful breakfast. We absolutely loved this hotel and find many ways to go back and enjoy this experience.

Thanks so much FQI for a memorable experience:)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruann23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2009

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us. We enjoy being part of someone’s special occasion. We are pleased your birthday was a success, that you enjoyed our amenities, and that we were able to create a memorable experience for you and your family. Thank you for your wonderful review. We’ll see you for your next birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the French Quarter Inn for a week. Everything was wonderful. Our room was super clean and very confortable and quiet. The walls must be really thick because I've never stayed in a hotel as quiet as this one. They were fully booked the week we were there too. The breakfast served in our room every morning came with freshly toasted bagels that were actually hot! The pastries were warm too. The wine and cheese in the late afternoon was a really nice feature. Milk and cookies are served every night. It's all well worth the price. There are cheaper places to stay in Charleston but they are not nearly as nice as the French Quarter Inn. Believe me, we've stayed at quite a few. We are excited to return to Charleston next year and will definately stay at the French Quarter Inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassymama35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2009

Thank you for taking your time to write a wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your glowing comments about our property and amenities. It is a true pleasure to offer our little extras and have people like you truly enjoy them. Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,283 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,888 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 62 in Charleston
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £211 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing