We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Recently stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. Hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants, and shopping. There was also a "market" of various vendors who set up in covered area across street. Hotel was clean, quiet, nice touch of champagne, lady fingers on check in. Evenings there is a wine & cheese hour and hot cookies & milk around 8:30pm. Hotel provides a continental breakfast each AM, juice, mixture of muffins, danish, yogart, fruit & couple kinds of cereal. Coffee/tea area was also available in hallway right outside our room in AM which was nice when you got your USA Today paper in AM.

Parking is a real hassle around the hotel area, although the hotel does have a drive up with valet parking (for an additional nightly fee). Even though they provide a "pillow menu" we weren't impressed with pillow quality. Different pillow request was not any better. Way too soft for our comfort. There are several horse/buggy carriage rides near where you can enjoy an hour long ride while taking in the history of churches, bldgs and homes some of which are 200+ yrs old. Felt that this hotel was the best location with lots close by compared to some of the other hotel locations we saw in town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flagstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2009

Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn for your recent stay in Charleston. We are pleased you found our location and amenities to your liking. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy the 100% Down pillows that are on the beds and weren’t able to find a suitable option on our 7 type pillow menu. For you next visit with us we would recommend trying the Swedish massage pillow or the snore no more pillow, as these are much firmer options then Down pillows. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,521 - 2,527 of 2,906 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2009

This was our first time to Charleston and we loved it. It was our anniversary and my wife loved all the attention. Great Job French Quarter Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdc404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2009

We are honored to have been chosen as your celebratory hotel for your anniversary trip. Thank you for letting us be a part of your special occasion. We are pleased you loved your stay. We hope to welcome you again for your next anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the French Quarter Inn. The amenities were wonderful as was the location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston_MAGrammy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2009

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay at the French Quarter Inn. We appreciate your compliments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We just returned from our first trip to Charleston. We chose the French Quarter Inn because of the many lovely reviews it received. I have to say that we were disappointed with our stay.
The location of this hotel is excellent. But be aware that you are paying for an excellent location not an excellent room. We stayed in a room with two queen beds. While the bathroom was large, there was mold in the shower corners and chalk missing from around the soap dish. The mold also continued onto the floor in front of the tub. The top of the sink fixtures appeared to be clean but underneath the faucet was dirty. There was also mold in the overflow drain that you could see and smell. The small refrigerator in the room did not keep drinks cold. We had to call for towels because the cleaning service did not leave any new towels on the second day of our stay.
The complimentary breakfast consists of sweet rolls, fruit salad, bagels and yogurt. The breakfast service should be improved or removed because it is not very healthy. The wine and cheese in the evening is nice but not great. The wine that is served can be found in any local grocery store and the cheese is not remarkable.
There is no concierge service. You can ask for information at the front desk and most of the staff is friendly. One of the staff rudely corrected me when I referred to the CARTA transportation service as a bus. She called it a trolley instead. (The map of Charleston lists it as a bus service.)
This hotel is a good choice if you are looking for an excellent location in Charleston and you don't mind paying for a middle of the road hotel.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LillyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2009

We thank you for your honest review of your recent stay. We would like to express our disappointment in ourselves for not meeting or exceeding your expectations and offer our sincerest apologies. I have personally inspected the room that you occupied and I did find a couple of mold spots in the corner of the caulking, for this we apologize, Charleston weather makes combating mold difficult. However, I did not find mold on the outside of the shower, in the overflow drain, or dirt underneath the faucet. The refrigerator had been turned up to a warmer setting than normal, causing your beverages not to cool. If these items had been brought to our attention during your stay we would have been able to repair or compensate you for our short comings; again our apologies. We often receive numerous compliments of the extensiveness of our continental breakfast which includes multiple healthy options like fresh cut and whole fruit, yogurt, granola bars, whole wheat bagels, and bran cereals. Our wine is Robert Mondavi, which is not the best of the best but is a great taste for most palates and compliments our Amish cheese selection shipped directly from Ohio.
Our Guest Services staff at the front desk has the great privilege of handling not only check in and check out, but also our reservations and concierge services. This enables our staff to truly get to know our guests, create a more personal relationship then larger hotels can, and have the ability to know all details of each guests stay. Most guests enjoy the fact they do not have to speak to a different person each time they have a question or need something and rarely have I ever received a comment stating we were rude. Our apologies for you feeling you were rudely corrected. We do hope you will chose to stay with us for your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

FQI is just off Church Street in the middle of historic Charleston. We found it to be within walking distance of most things, and very convenient. (You might need to drive/ride to the Charleston Museum, Visitors Center, and other locations further up Meeting St.)

Our room ("Traditional Inn Room with King Bed") was spacious, clean, and nicely appointed, with large screen TV, Blu-Ray disc player, and nice furnishings. There was an armoire but no closet. Bedding was very comfortable; for those interested, FQI offers the increasingly trendy "pillow menu." We rang the "pillow concierge" (really, the front desk, of course) for a "five-foot body pillow".

The bathroom was very large, modern, clean and provisioned with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Towels were fluffy and large. The only peculiarity about the bathroom was a serious lack of towel bars/hooks.

The continental breakfast buffet enables you to get "free" (well, cost built in) breakfast each morning, although after a few days it can become repetitive as the offerings (bagels, pastries, fruit, cereal, yogurt) never change. You can eat indoors, eat on a balcony/patio, or have breakfast delivered to your room. In the department of "free" food, FQI also offers champagne and lady fingers upon check-in, afternoon wine and cheese (or tea and lemonade), cookies and milk at night, coffee/tea all day, and pralines on your pillows with the turn-down service.

We indicated on our reservation that we were celebrating an anniversary, and received a bottle of Schramsberg sparking wine (a favorite of ours, actually) soon after our arrival.

Front desk staff were helpful, offering directions, loaner umbrellas, and destination recommendations. Parking is valet only, at $17/day. (To be fair, it seems to be fairly scarce and costly all throughout Charleston, but do budget for this if bringing a car.) As a minor complaint: the valet parking is definitely outdoor; our car always was delivered hot, and upon its final return at check-out, came with free guano.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at FQI. For the level of luxury it offers, $197/night (AAA rate; for weekdays; before taxes & parking) is a good deal compared to some boutique hotels, inns, and B&Bs we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dav205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2009

Your compliments of our property, amenities, and staff are greatly appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the ever popular pillow menu. We enjoying being able to offer customize amenities to ensure the comfort ability of each guest. Thank you for choosing us for your anniversary celebration and for your wonderful review. We hope to see you for your next anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Ok - the hotel is certainly not bad but since everyone is writing raving reviews here, let me be the one that sticks out his neck and gives you a bit of an unlugged view:

Pros:
- Location, location, location
- wow - this must be a 50" flat screen TV......
- public areas of the hotel are very well taken care off and look quite elegant

Cons:
- So-so A/C
- This hotel aspires to convey a Parisian flair - well it has succeeded in providing a trampoline like bed which is unbelievably soft and I am happy to say that we only had to stay two nights as this morning (2nd night) my back is definetely voicing its objection
- bathroom is very nice and posh with much marble but what happened with the shower / tub area? Looks like a sheraton: Platic siding with some cracks and maybe some mildew
- the walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbor's TV at night
- breakfast is complimentary but only continental and even for that very slim selection. My view, either offer a decent breakfast or non at all but this is almost comical
- No pool or gym or spa, which of course was more important to my wife - I would check out the "Charlestone Place" which seems to offer more amenities
- no concierge service to speak of - we just came down from the Outer Banks where we had an unbelievable concierge experience. I am not saying that the front desk staff was not willing, but I think they are just not equipped to provide this service, which at this price I would highly expect

There you have it - I focused a little bit more on the shortcomings but overall I would say it is a good hotel. I must say though that it is one the expensive side for what you get.

Enjoy your travel

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2009

We appreciate your time and effort to offer an honest review of your recent stay. We would like to apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with the French Quarter Inn. Compliments of our mattresses, quietness of the property, more expansive than most continental breakfasts, and our front desk staff that not only handles check in and check out, but are incredibly knowledgeable about all Charleston has to offer are usually what we receive. We are disappointed you were not impressed with our accommodations, services, or staff and that we were not given the opportunity to compensate. As for the Charleston Place, which is a wonderful hotel, it is hard to compare a 440 room property’s amenities versus those of an independently owned 50 room boutique hotel. Again our apologies and we hope we are given another opportunity to impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Having grown up in Charleston, I was familiar with the downtown Charleston hotels but had not stayed at one. The French Quarter is very conveniently located by Market and East Bay Streets. It's a short walk to shopping on King Street as well. The hotel lobby is very nice with complimentary coffee, tea, and treats throughout the day. Our room was a corner executive room with a large private balcony that had views of the surrounding downtown area. It was very spacious and relaxing. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlariscy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2009

It is an honor to host a Charleston native and to receive such a beautiful review. Thank you for your compliments of our location, complimentary amenities, and our rooms. We appreciate your compliments and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,241 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,447 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
491 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £228 - £551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing