We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely incredible hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

The FQI is as fine as it gets. The inn is beautiful, elegant, and comfortable all at the same time. The FQI welcomes their guests with champagne and offers guests complimentary wine and cheese, cookies and milk, and a beautiful breakfast daily. The staff's restaurant recommendations were perfect as well. The service was exceptional. We were so pleased with our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfourFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2009
It’s a pleasure to have guests such as yourself stay with us at the French Quarter Inn and truly love their stay. Your compliments of our inn, amenities, and staff are greatly appreciated. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay and we await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,342
    218
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
506
1,448
38
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Fantastic hotel - Great location - Spacious Rooms - Large bathroom - Wonderful breakfast - Lemonade and ice tea available all day - Coffee and tea also - Milk and cookies at night - Wine and cheese in the afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank flagler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2009
We are pleased you think that our hotel is “Fantastic”, because so do we. In the design of the hotel much thought went into the comfort and spaciousness that our guests would be able to experience right in the heart of the Charleston’s hustle and bustle atmosphere. Creating a great experience for our guests is the key to our success. All that you mentioned is what makes us fantastic. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

Look no further. This hotel is dynamite. From the champagne and pastry when you check in, to the wine/cheese before dinner, to the complimentary breakfast served in your room and the free wi fi.

Location is perfect. Just walk out and you're in the center of town ready to tour everything around you.

Staff is very welcoming and extremely professional. If you travel for business, you'll love the attitude. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2009
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and all of the little extras we offer here at the French Quarter Inn. Your compliments of our staff and location are greatly appreciated. Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

Recently stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. Hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants, and shopping. There was also a "market" of various vendors who set up in covered area across street. Hotel was clean, quiet, nice touch of champagne, lady fingers on check in. Evenings there is a wine & cheese hour and hot cookies & milk around 8:30pm. Hotel provides a continental breakfast each AM, juice, mixture of muffins, danish, yogart, fruit & couple kinds of cereal. Coffee/tea area was also available in hallway right outside our room in AM which was nice when you got your USA Today paper in AM.

Parking is a real hassle around the hotel area, although the hotel does have a drive up with valet parking (for an additional nightly fee). Even though they provide a "pillow menu" we weren't impressed with pillow quality. Different pillow request was not any better. Way too soft for our comfort. There are several horse/buggy carriage rides near where you can enjoy an hour long ride while taking in the history of churches, bldgs and homes some of which are 200+ yrs old. Felt that this hotel was the best location with lots close by compared to some of the other hotel locations we saw in town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2009
Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn for your recent stay in Charleston. We are pleased you found our location and amenities to your liking. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy the 100% Down pillows that are on the beds and weren’t able to find a suitable option on our 7 type pillow menu. For you next visit with us we would recommend trying the Swedish massage pillow or the snore no more pillow, as these are much firmer options then Down pillows. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

This was our first time to Charleston and we loved it. It was our anniversary and my wife loved all the attention. Great Job French Quarter Inn!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdc404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2009
We are honored to have been chosen as your celebratory hotel for your anniversary trip. Thank you for letting us be a part of your special occasion. We are pleased you loved your stay. We hope to welcome you again for your next anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the French Quarter Inn. The amenities were wonderful as was the location.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston_MAGrammy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2009
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay at the French Quarter Inn. We appreciate your compliments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

We just returned from our first trip to Charleston. We chose the French Quarter Inn because of the many lovely reviews it received. I have to say that we were disappointed with our stay.
The location of this hotel is excellent. But be aware that you are paying for an excellent location not an excellent room. We stayed in a room with two queen beds. While the bathroom was large, there was mold in the shower corners and chalk missing from around the soap dish. The mold also continued onto the floor in front of the tub. The top of the sink fixtures appeared to be clean but underneath the faucet was dirty. There was also mold in the overflow drain that you could see and smell. The small refrigerator in the room did not keep drinks cold. We had to call for towels because the cleaning service did not leave any new towels on the second day of our stay.
The complimentary breakfast consists of sweet rolls, fruit salad, bagels and yogurt. The breakfast service should be improved or removed because it is not very healthy. The wine and cheese in the evening is nice but not great. The wine that is served can be found in any local grocery store and the cheese is not remarkable.
There is no concierge service. You can ask for information at the front desk and most of the staff is friendly. One of the staff rudely corrected me when I referred to the CARTA transportation service as a bus. She called it a trolley instead. (The map of Charleston lists it as a bus service.)
This hotel is a good choice if you are looking for an excellent location in Charleston and you don't mind paying for a middle of the road hotel.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2009
We thank you for your honest review of your recent stay. We would like to express our disappointment in ourselves for not meeting or exceeding your expectations and offer our sincerest apologies. I have personally inspected the room that you occupied and I did find a couple of mold spots in the corner of the caulking, for this we apologize, Charleston weather makes combating mold difficult. However, I did not find mold on the outside of the shower, in the overflow drain, or dirt underneath the faucet. The refrigerator had been turned up to a warmer setting than normal, causing your beverages not to cool. If these items had been brought to our attention during your stay we would have been able to repair or compensate you for our short comings; again our apologies. We often receive numerous compliments of the extensiveness of our continental breakfast which includes multiple healthy options like fresh cut and whole fruit, yogurt, granola bars, whole wheat bagels, and bran cereals. Our wine is Robert Mondavi, which is not the best of the best but is a great taste for most palates and compliments our Amish cheese selection shipped directly from Ohio.
Our Guest Services staff at the front desk has the great privilege of handling not only check in and check out, but also our reservations and concierge services. This enables our staff to truly get to know our guests, create a more personal relationship then larger hotels can, and have the ability to know all details of each guests stay. Most guests enjoy the fact they do not have to speak to a different person each time they have a question or need something and rarely have I ever received a comment stating we were rude. Our apologies for you feeling you were rudely corrected. We do hope you will chose to stay with us for your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing