We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels ever!”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels ever!”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

After spending our first night in Charleston at the Courtyard on the river we were ready to go back to Michigan. But, we decided to try the #1 hotel on trip advisor and made a reservation at the French Quarter Inn. It was by far, one of the best hotels we have ever encountered.

We arrive early, 11:30 am and were immediately given a room, just what we had ordered!

After checking in and depositing our luggage in a lovely, clean room with a large bathroom, we went on a tour of the city. Upon returning at 3 pm, we were given champagne and cookies and later in the early evening, wine and cheese, eaten on the beautiful upper courtyard. And when we returned after dinner, again, another treat, warm chocolate chip cookies!

We chose to have the complimentary breakfast delivered to our room, a royal treat! The pastries were warm, the juice cold and the coffee hot. Did I mention there was coffee and tea available in our hallway, 24-7???

The entire staff treated us as though we were honored guests. The valet, staff at check in, the woman who delivered our breakfast, to those who cared for our room, were outstanding.

We will never stay at another hotel in Charleston. It doesn't get any better than this!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzysgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2009
We take great pride in offering exceptional service, fabulous amenities, and ensuring each guest has a wonderful experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed all of our amenities and felt as though you were honored guests, because in our mind you were. We can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,511
    230
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
543
1,561
40
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Great boutique hotel. Staff was very polite, but not too informative or attentive. I would still stay here above a lot of the other places we saw. Quiet, quaint, in the middle of everything. Comfortable beds, great breakfast delivered to room as a service. Wish there was a spa on site or even a pool, but it didn't distract from our wedding.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2009
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, but we are disappointed you didn’t find the staff informative or attentive. We are normally praised for our excellent service. Our apologies that this part of your stay was not exceptional. We hope you chose to stay with us the next time you are in Charleston, so we have the opportunity to wow you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2009

What an unbelievable hotel. The staff was great, that included everyone from the reception desk, to the maids, they were all great. The hotel was in a wonderful spot, we had the car parked (recommended, well worth the fee), and didn't get back into it until we left. Breakfast and wine and cheese were both delicious and the cookies at night were so good. Coffee & Tea on each floor is great and very much appreciated in the morning did I mention the newspaper, what could be better. The special touch was the M&M's and Jelly Bellies all day long (what a great idea). This hotel has got to be the best in Charleston. The room were cleaned every day to prefection. We will return some day.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodlesFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2009
Your wonderful comments about your recent stay are greatly appreciated. Thank you for your taking the time to review the French Quarter Inn. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We visited Charleston on our honeymoon and the staff could not have been nicer. They upgraded our room and provided fantastic service. The hotel is extremely clean, comfortable and makes you feel right at home. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2009
Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn for your honeymoon celebration. It is a great pleasure to be part of a special occasion. We are glad you enjoyed your upgraded room and we hope to have you return for your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Stayed here for a girls get away weekend! The hotel is beautiful, centrally located in the city, convenient for shopping, dining, night life if you desire. Everything is close by or you can stay at the hotel and have everything you need also. The staff is wonderful and so accomadating. The hotel is just beautiful! On a scale from 1-10, I would rate a 10.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathysept2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2009
Thank You for rating us a 10! We're glad that we were able to merit the rating! We appreciate your review and come and visit us again for your next girls weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Look, you can want a variety of things when traveling and you can always find something wrong somewhere. But if you want a hotel in a fun city that has charm, elegance, location and some nice amenities (wine and cheese, champagne, breakfast all included). Book the French Quarter Inn. My wife and I just returned from Charleston and had a wonderful time with friends. The staff were attentive, the valets great and the location right in the middle of everything made it a killer choice. Now, if you want pool or a health club, go to the Marriott-otherwise the French Quarter is great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulchmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2009
We're glad to hear you took advantage of all of the amenities we offer here at the hotel! Due to our fantastic location right in the heart of the downtown historic district, we do not have the space for a pool or health club. Our active, athletic staff is always happy to point you in the direction of a great waterfront run or a top-notch athletic club just a few blocks away. Thank You for your kind review of the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne PA
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I recently traveled to Charleston with 3 girlfriends. We stayed for 3 nights at the French Quarter Inn and LOVED every minute. One of the best parts for us was our Oversized Double Queen suite with the TERRACE. Each morning we enjoyed our continental breakfast on the patio, which was a perfect way to start the day. The room was large enough to accomodate 4 women bathing, dressing and getting made up at the same time, which is no small feat! The Inn is centrally located area, the staff was incredibly helpful with dining reservation, activity suggestions, accomodating our travel needs. I have recommended this hotel to everyone I know!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyC39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2009
Thank You for choosing us for your Girlfriend Getaway! We are glad that we could accomodate your party and find that many of our guests appreciate the spaciousness of our Full Suites and all of the little extras that we offer! Ladies, thanks for recommending us to your friends, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing