We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Quarter Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

This is only the second hotel I have tried in Charleston so I don't have much to compare to. I will say it was a very clean and nice hotel. The location was central to everything but kind of hidden in an alley. Last year my wife and I stayed at Charleston Place which I think was much better. However, the French quarter was about $70.00 cheaper per night than Chaleston place. French Quarter also has a very good free breakfast and wine and cheese in the afternoon. The only think I didn't like was that most of the people staying there were older and I felt like I stood out. Good hotel, good amenities at a great price.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank santhony74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2010
Our apologies that your experience at the French Quarter Inn was not all you had hoped for and more. We are dedicated to offering exceptional service and great amenities that usually helps us stand out above the rest; we are disappointed that you didn’t feel this way. We hope on your next trip to Charleston you give us another opportunity to wow you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,420
    220
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
523
1,497
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

We've been coming to Charleston every April for 23 yrs. we normally stay at Charleston Place, The Planters Inn or The Doubletree. We thought we'd try something different. Lobby was beautiful. Room was so tired and run down. The sheets looked like they had not been washed. The wallpaper was coming of a wall and when you took a shower you were standing in 4 inches of water because of the poor drainage. I told the front desk this and there answer was not an apology. They said that people usually tell them that their hotel is better than the others that I had mentioned I had stayed at. I did not get the impression that these people cared about their cliental.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RPDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
We truly enjoy having frequent travelers to Charleston, who usually stay at other properties, choose to stay with us. Normally the response we receive is that they will be our repeat guests from that point forward. We are truly disappointed in ourselves that this was not the reaction that you had. Our sincerest apologies that the room was not up to your standards. The hotel still houses the original décor from our construction in 2002 that still provides exceptional quality, including the wallpaper. With the anticipation that these items may need replacement in the coming years, we have decided to complete a renovation earlier than required; estimated completion is the end of August 2010.
I can assure you that all hotel sheets are laundered daily and inspected by the housekeeping executive, under no circumstance would it be possible for the sheets on your bed to be unwashed. Our apologies if you felt they had not been washed, but we work diligently to ensure all bedding is of the utmost quality.
Our staff is a wonderfully dedicated team, who love to ensure that each guest has the best experience possible. As we are in the customer service industry, we understand that mistakes do happen, plumbing does get clogged, and other items out of our control happen. Our first instinct is to apologize and then to rectify to the best of our ability. I have spoken with both agents that were present at the desk upon your departure and the voicing of your complaints. Both immediately informed me of how they apologized multiple times, how you discussed each item in detail, and how they offered you any further assistance. One of the agents even wrote a list in detail to ensure the maintenance team could fully understand your disappointments. If our sincerity was not properly conveyed, then we are truly disappointed in ourselves. On behalf of the hotel I offer my deepest apologies again for your disappointments and hope that on one of your future trips to Charleston you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

My husband and I just stayed for our 15th wedding anniversary and we were truly pleased with our choice to stay at the French Quarter Inn. Beautiful hotel with a great staff. They were very attentive and helped us with dinner reservations, gave us maps, and overall just very curtious. Wonderful location, we walked everywhere and loved the afternoon wine & cheese reception! We would definently stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclungs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2010
Thank you for allowing us to be part of such a special occasion. Your compliments of the hotel and the staff are greatly appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

The FQI was everything I was hoping for. From the moment I pulled up to time I drove away- exceptional service!! Every member of the staff had a smile, front desk was friendly and helpful, bell staff/valet very knowledgable and professional, the room VERY clean, large, comfy bed, can't say enough. VERY POSITIVE STAY

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reevehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2010
We greatly appreciate the wonderful compliments you have given us. We desire to offer exceptional service and exceed each guest’s satisfaction. It is a pleasure to know when we have been successful. Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

My wife and I arrived at the French Quarter Inn with high expectations after having read so many glowing reviews of the hotel and, I must say, we weren't disappointed. Everything about this hotel is just amazing, from the lavish entryway with it's dark wood spiral staircase and three story atrium, to the beautifully appointed second floor lobby, to the exceptionally helpful staff. The rooms, too, are exceptionally clean, large, and well appointed. Our particular room was on the third floor and had a balcony overlooking the rooftop terrace and a great view of the Ravenel Bridge and Market Street.

I really can't say enough about the hotel staff. They are easily some of the most friendly, helpful people I've ever met. They know the downtown area very well and are always eager to point out the best restaurants and sights, especially to out-of-towners.

I would be remiss if I didn't point out some of the extra perks to staying at the French Quarter. When we arrived at the room, we found an iced bottle of champagne waiting for us. The next morning (and every subsequent morning), there was a local newspaper and breakfast delivered to the room (by request). Every evening, they provide wine and cheese in the lobby and cookies and milk later on. There's even a substantial list of DVDs and Blu-Ray movies for guests to check out from the front desk.

Not that you'll need any additional entertainment, the French Quarter Inn is located right in the heart of Charleston's historic district, leaving plenty to see and do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. From the hotel's main entrance, it's just yards to the outdoor market as well as some of the best seafood restaurants in the country.

Overall, to say that we enjoyed our stay at the French Quarter Inn would be a gross understatement. We'll definitely return to this hotel the next time we're in Charleston and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason_M_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2010
Meeting and exceeding each guests’ expectations is something we strive for. Our hope is to create an unforgettable experience and leave a lasting impression on each guest. We are pleased that we were successful during your stay. Your compliments of the property, our amenities, and our staff are greatly appreciated. We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

My husband and I stayed at the French Quarter Inn for 5 nights. We travel frequently, and this hotel is definitely one of the best we've stayed in. The Inn is beautiful, and our room was very spacious and clean. The location was perfect; close to everything. We enjoyed continental breakfast on the patio every morning, and also wine and cheese in the afternoon. They even offered cookies and milk in the evening, and coffee and tea 24 hours a day. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had a great stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation-Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2010
Thank you for the wonderful compliments. We appreciate the time you took to write a review about your recent stay. Our amenities and location help us stand out from our major competitors, we are pleased you enjoyed them. We hope your return trip is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room sizes spacious. Really enjoys option of having complimentary breakfast on balcony, inside louge area or in our bedroom. Also enjoyed the wonderful afternoon cheese/crackers/fruit and beverages and the evening cookies were great. Located within walking distance of shopping, great restaurants and waterfront. Found it difficult to sleep at times because the air conditional blower in our room was loud I forgot to mention this to the hotel staff. Upon our arrival the balcony to our room was dirty but the staff sent someone to eliminate the problem immediately.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butler2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2010
The amenities we offer are a little extra touch we enjoying being able to have for our guests. Not only do they set us apart from most hotels in Charleston, but they are a great way for our guests to relax throughout the hotel and not just in the rooms. Thank you for your lovely comments. We apologize for the air conditioning noise that disturbed your sleep. If we had known of the issue we would have gladly rectified it. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#9 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing