We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, right benefits at the right price”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Stayed for two nights. Continental breakfast (free breakfast in bed at no additional cost) is great. Wine and cheese in afternoon and other snacks. Very helpful and friendly staff. Coffee right outside of our rooms. Rooms very nice and classic Charleston. Location could not be more perfect near market and meeting streets. Few blocks from fine dining and King street. We walked everywhere. Felt like home. Worth the price tag and much better than some of the other more snobby hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

We are delighted that you enjoyed all the amenities that we offer. We believe the little extras make the stay. Thank you for your wonderful review and your compliments. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,444 - 2,450 of 3,027 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2011

Seventeen of us, ranging from early teens to mid-80s, stayed at the French Quarter Inn for Christmas. While the rooms may seem expensive, they include a lovely continental breakfast (room service for breakfast is free), wine and cheese in the late afternoon, and milk and homemade cookies in the evening. The rooms are also truly lovely; some have fireplaces and many have balconies. The staff are ALWAYS friendly and helpful, even when your large family group has asked them seven questions in a row in ten minutes. And the location is perfect! Everyone in our group loved it, including some very demanding world travelers.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
Thank misszoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

The holiday season brings us large families looking to relax and catch back up. It almost feels as if you become part of our family. We truly enjoy the holiday season even more because of what you bring. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Actually, very good plus. Only complaint was the buffet continental breakfast could have been a higher quality. Disappointing considering all else. Location perfect!. Quiet. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but disappointed that you didn’t enjoy the continental breakfast. We are looking into making some changes to increase the available options. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We had such a lovely time at this hotel. There is so much attention to detail and so many extras. Out children were among very few at the hotel at the time we were there but we were never made to feel they were not welcome (and they ate SO many m&ms!). I cannot find fault in our time at this hotel. At a very reasonable rate, we all felt spoilt!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Spoiling adults and children is the exact effect we desire, we are delighted that we succeeded. Thank you for your wonderful compliments, they are greatly appreciated. The endless supply of M&M’s is the kid’s favorites, the adults too even though many won’t admit it. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

The French Quarter Inn is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The Hotel with only 50 rooms provides a comfortable relaxing setting for the exploration of a historic city. A nice touch is the glass of champagne offered during check in. The truly delicious continental breakfast served in your room each morning was included in the room rate as was the wine and cheese served in the lobby each afternoon. The wine and cheese reception provided an opportunity to mingle with and meet other guests. Cookies and milk, etc. in the evening was a relaxing end to the day. Our room was spotlessly clean, very well appointed with comfortable beds, elegant bath, HD TV. Turn down service included chocolates on the pillows. The hotel's restaurant, Tristan's, was excellent...the desserts are wonderful. The location of the hotel at the historic Market could not be better. A short walk or trolley ride got us to everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thank you for your compliments. We are overjoyed that you truly enjoyed all moments of your stay at the French Quarter Inn. Your gracious description has painted the picture that we are constantly working towards. Again, thank you. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

We just stayed at this hotel for 4 days with our 2 teen aged children. We all loved this hotel. Everyone was very helpful, and all of the little ammenities made us feel so pampered. The kids loved the cookies and milk each night and we loved the wine and cheese each evening. We all enjoyed the breakfast and the m&m's and jelly beans in the lobby. The location was perfect too. Definitely stay here

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jencon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

Thank you for your glowing review. Your compliments of the hotel, staff, and amenities are greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, as we enjoyed having you. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Mike and Martin at front desk were so nice and friendly. They helped us with dinner reservations, info on Festival of Lights and lots of little things. The bellman and valet guys were really attentive and helpful. Everyone was very nice. I wished the breakfast was a bit better. Maybe some eggs and toast or granola for the yogurt? Our room was spacious and clean, but the walls or ? creaked throughout the night. We were located within walking of everything we wanted to do. Great location in the city. HD TV's would be on our wish list too!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherrycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2010

Thank you for your wonderful review. The staff greatly appreciates your compliments of their service. Your suggestions are already in the works for improving upon our breakfast, we have a few more items to finalize so that the additions can be made. Our apologies about the creaking noise during the night, we will be sure to investigate this and see what can be done. Our TV’s are equipped and ready to handle HD, we are just waiting on our cable company to make the switch. Again, thank you. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Zero George Street
#3 of 62 in Charleston
521 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,155 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,500 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,336 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £230 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing