We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

My daugther and I stayed overnight in this very nice and comfortable hotel.
Great location in the historic center, near the Market.The staff was extremely cooperative and friendly. The most delicious pralines were waiting for us in the room and you can buy them in a nearby store!The accomodations were comfortable. Plenty of bath towels in the bathroom. The breakfast area very nicely appointed and they also serve afternoon tea and cookies. They offer valet park which is very useful downtown Charleston and they readily moved our luggage to our car after we checked out, until we were ready to leave. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2011
Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn for your trip to Charleston. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,420
    220
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
523
1,497
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

My wife and I have been to Charleston several times and were just wrapping up a trip to nearby Kiawah Island. All packed, we headed home and not 15 miles from our origin, were involved in a nasty car accident which rendered our vehicle out of commission. After all the details were taken care of, we needed a place to stay and had called the Harborview Inn (this hotel's "sister property") and were sad to hear they were full. They transferred me to the FQI, and BOY am I glad they did. From the welcoming glass of Champagne (yes we both really needed that) to the super nice and clean suite we were given, to the friendliness of the staff at every turn, it was like being welcomed by old friends after a hard day. My hat is off to this group who turned a pretty downer day into a super nice and unexpected respite. Thanks to all of them and you can be sure the next time we are in Charleston, we will be back to stay with you all again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear BigLuke,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for his 30th birthday. We were in a traditional king with an awesome balcony. The French Quarter Inn is truly magnificent. The service was top-notch (Donna at the front desk was great!) and the hotel itself is so pretty. I loved our bed...so comfy! And of course all the extra amenities were great (breakfast, wine, pillow menu). I would recommend the French Quarter Inn to anyone visiting Charleston. The location is perfect as well...easy access to everything in the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alizardtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2011
Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn for your celebration. We are delighted to be a part of it. Your compliments of the staff, amenities, and hotel are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Attended a seminar held at this hotel for 3 days in January 2011. Had no choice in the venue, but once I knew about it, I had to check it out online before arrival. The prior excellent reviews are very accurate. I reserved a junior suite with a fireplace and small balcony, and for a northerner, going out on the balcony in the mornings, in January, to watch the sunrise was a definite plus! My fiance tagged along on his dime, and we had the best time. Central location to walk everywhere in lovely Charleston, historic sites, shopping, restaurants. The staff, from the front desk, room staff, event staff for our seminar, was superb. Several of my work colleagues and myself sat in front of the fireplace in the lobby for a discussion one night that lasted a couple of hours. Front desk provided multiple refills of champagne for us, something you just don't find today in a middle priced hotel (OK, it was off-season pricing, but still fabulous). EVERYONE who attended the seminar, whether from Charleston or elsewhere, had the same fabulous experience. Don't think of this just for a romantic get-away, although it is great for that.....also an excellent find for business as well.

Off topic: we are getting married in August, and the lovely coasters match our wedding theme perfectly. I asked the front desk if I could buy about 100. They recommended I come back in an hour. When I returned, there was a huge stack of coasters rubber banded together, and I was told they were "compliments of the general manager". Wow! Thanks! Another testament to the customer service they provide.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Your coaster story, as we like to call it, has spread throughout the hotel. We think it is fabulous that our coasters will be at your wedding. Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel, amenities, and service. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We would like to congratulate you on your nuptials and wish you many happy years together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

I take my daughter & granddaughter to visit Charleston every April for a "girls get away" to celebrate spring & birthdays. We have stayed in several hotels over the years & had tried unsuccessfully to get reservations for the FQI. Four yrs ago we were fortunate enough to get reservations & had our first stay. It was fabulous! The hotel staff from the manager to the valet were wonderful. Finding out that we were celebrating birthdays they went out of their way to make our stay memorable. And it was! Now I make our reservation for the next April visit BEFORE we leave to assure our continued visits to this first class hotel. It's convenient. Park & walk everywhere. We asked about a spa, they directed us to a marvelous one that we visit every yr now. They arranged a private carriage for a "tour of Charleston". Can't say enough good things! My granddaughter loves it and so do we!! The ONLY place to stay in Charleston!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoTenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
We are touched that every year we have the pleasure to welcome you, your daughter, and your granddaughter. We truly enjoy being a part of a special occasion. Thank you for your glowing review. We anxiously awaiting your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

We found the FQI on Trip Advisor and booked a night while driving up to NY from FLA. Well, it was such a great experience, we extended our stay an extra night! The front desk people were wonderful, the wine and cheese reception and it's hostess were great as well. Doormen, bellmen & valet parking folks were all attentive and courteous. We were given a room with both a fireplace and balcony. It was too cold for the balcony, but the working fireplace was a welcome amenity. All outside restaurant recommendations the FQI staff gave us were right on the mark and fantastic....as was the complimentary room service breakfast. Great people, great accommodations and a great location. We sincerely feel that there's no real need to look any further than The French Quarter Inn when visiting Charleston. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinfarandwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much, that you extended your stay. We hope to be a consistent stop over for your trips between NY and FL. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

The location of the "French Quarter Inn" is perfect. We parked the car and walked everywhere. The staff is super nice, they found us a great restaurant reservation for new years eve. The hotel is clean, and the wine and cheese in the evening is an added treat .
I will visit Charleston again just to stay at the " French Quarter Inn".

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank popeye08NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review. Your compliments have brought a smile to our faces. New Years in Charleston is always beautiful, thank you for spending it with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#9 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing