We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I love this house.”
other travellers have booked this property
Have a glass of wine at sunset on the dock. Enjoy the rhythm of the tides.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Have a glass of wine at sunset on the dock. Enjoy the rhythm of the tides.
Main Level den. Looking across to kitchen and dining area. Door into Queen BR w/ ensuite Bath Welcome!  Front Entryway. Great room on left. Kitchen through hall. Main level bedroom to the right.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Have a glass of wine at sunset on the dock. Enjoy the rhythm of the tides.
Main Level den. Looking across to kitchen and dining area. Door into Queen BR w/ ensuite Bath
Welcome!  Front Entryway. Great room on left. Kitchen through hall. Main level bedroom to the right.
Front of house. Lots of parking. Large Circular Drive and additional parking on right.
Bench Swing on porch
The beautiful backyard
Open Dining to kitchen concept. Counter seating too.Gourmet Kitchen Sub Zero - Gas Range -and more.
Very Large Family Room - Fireplace, HDTV, Ceiling Fans. French doors to deck.
Fire Pit for chilly nights. Come visit year round.
Kayak to Patriots point from Backyard. This is a guest photo. Kayaks available for guest use.
Sullivans Island Beach is 6 miles away
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath. Door to upper deck.
Gorgeous sleek Marble Master Bath. Glass Shower plus Soaking Tub. Toilet Closet. Dual Vanities. Wow!
Main Level Queen Bedroom. Attached private tile and glassbathroom and walk-in shower. Avoids stairs.
Glassed shower ensuite bathroom for main level Queen bedroom. Toilet is out of photo to the right.
Upstairs Queen. HDTV - Ceiling Fan. Shares Luxury Bath with Doubles BR Upstairs.
Gorgeous soaking tub . There are 2 soaking tubs in house, one outside hot tub, and 3 glassed showers
Upstairs Bath shared by a Queen Bedroom and a Doubles Bedroom.
Doubles Room. Upstairs. HDTV - Ceiling Fan. Shares Luxury Bath with Queen BR Upstairs.
Wrap around decks back and front and up and down.
Deck and Grill views of Wando River.
Weber Grill.....calling all outdoor cooks !
Catch crabs off the dock. Crab pots and traps are provided.
Lush front yard landscaping. Large private property
Backyard ....moss covered Oaks hanging over tidal waters. Salt Marsh. This is the View on the right
Farmers Market ( seasonal ) Saturday DT Charleston and Tuesday in Mount Pleasant.
Sub Zero, Filtered Water, Gas Range and cooktop, Trash Compactor, Miele Dishwasher. Fully equipped.
Stained Glass in Kitchen windows.
Kitchen looking towards Small Den. Stained Glass. Seating for 4 at counter
Powder Room on Main Level. 3.5 baths in house.
Dining Room view. Looking across kitchen eating island.
Dining area
Details matter
Looking from Small Den towards the Great Room.
Looking from Small Den towards the Dining Area
Door against far wall leads to the Queen Level Bedroom and a Private Bathroom with Glass Shower
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath.
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath.  Door to upper deck.
Ceiling fans everywhere. A southern style tradition
SUP in the wando.Paddled out by the Ravenel Bridge. Hope you spot dolphins ! SUP available for guest
Heron enjoying the views off our dock on Molasses Creek. Kayaks, SUP.  and Crab pots for guest use.
Kayaking in creeks behind house.
Fantastic bridge location......walk or bike on bridge. Hop over to Historic DT. Near everything!
Molasses Creek connects to the Wando River. High tide view -
Sunrise....Sunset....Sunrise....Sunset.....the beauty of  the marsh and water
Lots of Dolphins around in the waters.  Photo taken 2017...got lucky!
Can you spot the VERY pregnant deer?  We have a lot of wildlife around...but also note the privacy!
Geechie Seafood off Coleman Blvd. Fresh fish and shrimp in season.
Golf nearby
Wando River from Backyard.
Dock in backyard. Paddle fish or crab.
Backyard is a private peninsula waterfront with dock. Creek to the right / River to the left.
Evening Quiet . View to the left of very private backyard surrounded by marsh and water.
View of back showing expansive and private property.
Location is the red star in top of photo. Bridge into Charleston view
Stay and Play at Shem Creek. Pick up your fish and shrimp, or choose a restaurant.
Shem Creek and the fleet boats. The Palmetto state!
Wrap around porch. Lounge in front.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Charleston, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dan A
Alameda, California
2 reviews
“I love this house.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our group of 6 had a wonderful vacation at the Big Chill House. It is a very large, well appointed home that has a great location to explore the Charleston area and beyond. The house was as advertised and exactly as pictured. The kitchen was well appointed and the bathrooms were well stocked. It was very clean and the Owners were extremely responsive. I would give this rental my highest recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of house
Liked least: Lighting in master bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Girl Groups really like the house. We pride ourselves on the Cleanliness of the Big Chill. Clean is Important! I hope you all enjoyed using the Hot Tub and the views. Did you Kayak or paddleboard? We sincerely appreciate our guests and we appreciate YOU.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FL
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Glad that you enjoyed our Kayaks and the new Stand Up Paddleboard.! Paddleboards are definitly the New thing! Our backyard is perfect for just enjoying the outdoor life of the Charleston area...and watching for wildlife and birds and dolphins.
and also being so close to downtown and to the beaches makes this a perfect house for visiting groups. I know that you meant it as a positive comment that , "The lovely owners met us - but never visited" because we do live on the site, but very much try to give guests privacy. So I think your group enjoyed privacy! Again, thanks for being great guests and a great group!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Judy M
Lithia, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect vacation home--you will not want to leave the home or the view.”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our family reunion took advantage of the dock, the crab traps, the huge porch, and the large home. Though only 7 of us stayed at the home, it provided a wonderful meeting place during the 5 days we rented. Our family cd photos were shown on the huge tv screen all day long.

We needed special lodging. We could only be in Charleston 5 days; my mother needed a private bath on the first floor; our children had two small dogs; we needed parking, etc. The Bixlars were very accommodating and had a reasonable contract which cleared up any questions.

This house was perfect for our needs. The Bixlars provided a top quality kitchen with giant pots for our shrimp boil. Mr. Bixlar even picked up the shrimp at the docks for us. The dining area is quite large and was used almost continuously. The washer and dryer hold huge loads and we did appreciate that after the beach and the fishing trips.

Every item in the house was in tip-top shape. Since the owner is next door, any possible problem could be dealt with immediately. Laurie even shared the fig tree covered in ripe figs. The kayaks were easily available.

You will truly appreciate the time and effort spent by the owners to present the perfect vacation home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style of home and yard is warm and comfortable.
Liked least: We could only stay 5 days! We hated to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2013
I am glad the house was perfect for your family needs. Fresh shrimp is easily available right off the boats and the docks at nearby Shem Creek and is perfect for top notch Shrimp Boils. We think the Big Chill offers more than any other house in the Charleston area. We have even added a Stand-up Paddleboard in addition to the Kayaks in the backyard. Each year we look forward to the short Fig Tree harvest....you were lucky to be here during fig ripe time...an incredible taste sensation right off the trees.
We try to keep everything in the house in tip top shape and I am grateful that you appreciated our attention to detail. Thanks for having great family time and for choosing The Big Chill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazrohrs
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Porch-tastic”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Yes, we spent every evening on that beautiful wrap-around porch, telling stories and singing songs. A gathering of 6 friends from far-flung areas of the country gathered together for 6 days of Southern Hospitality from Laurie and George. That porch also provided the spot for early morning cups of strong coffee as we waited for everyone to arise before breakfast was served.
The home is as described by many; spacious, comfortable, well-decorated and well-stocked. It is impossible to add an original thought. It's all been covered. We all thoroughly enjoyed the beautifully landscaped property, the water access, the privacy, the tips given to us for beaches and tourist destinations, the kayaks and the WiFi access.
One of the highlights of our stay was when we were surprised one afternoon to a cooler full of crabs at our front door. This provided a whole host of wild laughter and entertainment as we novices tried to figure out how to steam and clean them. Fortunately, the homeowners provided much needed guidance and assistance when they discovered our ineffectiveness surrounding the extraction of the meat from the crusty shell. It gave us all a new appreciation for the amount of work it takes to create a crab cake and the amount of money you spend at a restaurant for such a meal is a reflection of that labor.
Another memorable night was when we all gathered in the living room to watch the movie, "The Big Chill" - a DVD copy is (not surprisingly) available in the home. It was a reminder of how important friendships really are, and the time to gather is not only at a funeral or a reunion, but anytime you can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, birds, water access
Liked least: I would say the only thing we found odd was the placement of the mirrors in the upstairs master bathroom. It was only an issue for those men who are crazy enough to shave on vacation.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louisiana
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing