We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best Experience....”
other travellers have booked this property
The beautiful backyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful backyard
Front Southern style wrap around porch Main Level den. Looking across to kitchen and dining area. Door into Queen BR w/ ensuite Bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The beautiful backyard
Front Southern style wrap around porch
Main Level den. Looking across to kitchen and dining area. Door into Queen BR w/ ensuite Bath
Open Dining to kitchen concept. Counter seating too.Gourmet Kitchen Sub Zero - Gas Range -and more.
Very Large Family Room - Fireplace, HDTV, Ceiling Fans. French doors to deck.
Kayak to Patriots point from Backyard. This is a guest photo. Kayaks available for guest use.
Sullivans Island Beach is 6 miles away
Fire Pit for chilly nights. Come visit year round.
Welcome!  Front Entryway. Great room on left. Kitchen through hall. Main level bedroom to the right.
Sullivan's Island Beach is about 6 miles follow Coleman Blvd to the Ocean.
Front of house. Lots of parking. Large Circular Drive and additional parking on right.
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath. Door to upper deck.
Gorgeous sleek Marble Master Bath. Glass Shower plus Soaking Tub. Toilet Closet. Dual Vanities. Wow!
Main Level Queen Bedroom. Attached private tile and glassbathroom and walk-in shower. Avoids stairs.
Glassed shower ensuite bathroom for main level Queen bedroom. Toilet is out of photo to the right.
Upstairs Queen. HDTV - Ceiling Fan. Shares Luxury Bath with Doubles BR Upstairs.
Gorgeous soaking tub . There are 2 soaking tubs in house, one outside hot tub, and 3 glassed showers
Upstairs Bath shared by a Queen Bedroom and a Doubles Bedroom.
Doubles Room. Upstairs. HDTV - Ceiling Fan. Shares Luxury Bath with Queen BR Upstairs.
Wrap around decks back and front and up and down.
Deck and Grill views of Wando River.
Weber Grill.....calling all outdoor cooks !
Catch crabs off the dock. Crab pots and traps are provided.
Outdoor porch seating.
Great views of the Wando River fromthe backporch
Bench Swing on porch
Lush front yard landscaping. Large private property
Have a glass of wine at sunset on the dock. Enjoy the rhythm of the tides.
Backyard ....moss covered Oaks hanging over tidal waters. Salt Marsh. This is the View on the right
Farmers Market ( seasonal ) Saturday DT Charleston and Tuesday in Mount Pleasant.
Sub Zero, Filtered Water, Gas Range and cooktop, Trash Compactor, Miele Dishwasher. Fully equipped.
Stained Glass in Kitchen windows.
Kitchen looking towards Small Den. Stained Glass. Seating for 4 at counter
Powder Room on Main Level. 3.5 baths in house.
Dining Room view. Looking across kitchen eating island.
Dining area
Details matter
Looking from Small Den towards the Great Room.
Looking from Small Den towards the Dining Area
Door against far wall leads to the Queen Level Bedroom and a Private Bathroom with Glass Shower
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath.
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath.  Door to upper deck.
Ceiling fans everywhere. A southern style tradition
SUP in the wando.Paddled out by the Ravenel Bridge. Hope you spot dolphins ! SUP available for guest
Heron enjoying the views off our dock on Molasses Creek. Kayaks, SUP.  and Crab pots for guest use.
Kayaking in creeks behind house.
Fantastic bridge location......walk or bike on bridge. Hop over to Historic DT. Near everything!
Molasses Creek connects to the Wando River. High tide view -
Sunrise....Sunset....Sunrise....Sunset.....the beauty of  the marsh and water
Lots of Dolphins around in the waters.  Photo taken 2017...got lucky!
Can you spot the VERY pregnant deer?  We have a lot of wildlife around...but also note the privacy!
Geechie Seafood off Coleman Blvd. Fresh fish and shrimp in season.
Golf nearby
Wando River from Backyard.
Dock in backyard. Paddle fish or crab.
Backyard is a private peninsula waterfront with dock. Creek to the right / River to the left.
Evening Quiet . View to the left of very private backyard surrounded by marsh and water.
View of back showing expansive and private property.
Location is the red star in top of photo. Bridge into Charleston view
Stay and Play at Shem Creek. Pick up your fish and shrimp, or choose a restaurant.
Shem Creek and the fleet boats. The Palmetto state!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Charleston, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gina E
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Experience....”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

You could read every 5 star review listed here and the Big Chill Home would be exactly that or better! We travelled to Mt Pleasant for my daughter's wedding and stayed here with family and friends. Everything in the home is first class...luxurious...comfortable...welcoming, I could go on and on. Our favorite gathering place was the wrap around porch. Peaceful and scenic views of the yard and marsh beyond. The owners are deservedly proud of this home and their attention to detail to making your stay memorable is very much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting.
Liked least: Parking.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Gina: we are thrilled that you chose our house for your daughters wedding. We are proud of this house; and we love to share this unique rental home with others who seek the best of Charleston. We specialize in wedding groups who seek the best. I also had the opportunity to see you boarding the shuttle to the wedding, ( I was coincidentally walking my dog down the street ) and I want you to know that you looked gorgeous on your daughter's special day. Thank you for choosing our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klk56
Sioux Falls, SD
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly recommend The Big Chill!”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

we really enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful, clean, located on a quiet street but close to restaurants and stores. Just beautiful. Good value. We didn't take the time to use the kayaks but did sit on the dock. Owners live on site but we only saw them upon arrival and once as wer were leaving. Nice folks. House is well furnished. Can't say enough good things about this house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and pretty
Liked least: othing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Our location is the best of all houses! We do offer the kayaks and paddle boards - some groups are active and others just sit and rock and enjoy the scenery. We think our furnishings are much more inviting than most rentals...and we make sure our bedding is comfortable. Cleanliness is a must! Thanks for noticing and thanks for coming.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G
Shrewsbury, New Jersey
1 review
“Memorable Stay at the Big Chill House”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The Big Chill House was everything that was promised. The house was beautifully appointed, clean and comfortable. There is a wonderful back yard on the water with a hammock and ample seating areas. The owner greeted us upon our arrival and gave us a thorough tour of the home. A binder was left in the kitchen with all the information we needed, including recommendations for restaurants. The home is located less than 10 minutes from Charleston which made it convenient for our large group. Mt. Pleasant is also a beautiful community with ample shopping nearby. I would not hesitate to recommend this home to anyone and we plan on returning there soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and comfort of the home.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
We don't exaggerate - we offer more than other houses! Thank you for noticing. And thank you for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayDGee08
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Stay! Great Location!”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Our family truly enjoyed our time at the Big Chill! The home is beautiful and very well maintained. We loved the porches and the beautiful views of the water throughout the house. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to make a family meal. We especially loved the location! It is very easy to quickly get to downtown Charleston, but it is just far enough outside the city that you are able to relax in peace and quiet. Several grocery stores and restaurants are within minutes. We also appreciated the flexible and accommodating hosts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Our location just can't be beat! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie V
Auburn, California
1 review
“Amazing vacastays”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was a dream come true...beautiful setting, gorgeous rooms, comfy beds, better than 5 star hotels. Allowed us to come and go on our trips to Charleston and the islands, knowing comfort was waiting for us. Please put this vacation property on your list for an amazing visit to beautiful So Carolina

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
We think we are a dream come true too. Our house is modeled after 5 star resorts ....clean...stylish...comfortable. Thank you for choosing this house and for writing a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trout1951
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely upscale house, perfect for exploring Charleston area”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at the Big Chill for 5 nights in August with our adult children and 3 year old grandson. The owners were prompt and courteous in helping us make all the rental arrangements, sending helpful reminders and lots of useful tips before our trip. The house is charming, spacious, very well appointed, clean and quiet, matching all the photographs on the website. Despite the August heat, we found ourselves gravitating to the expansive porch with its many rocking chairs and ceiling fans. What a beautiful view of the backwaters! The kids enjoyed the kayaks and paddleboards, and came back happy to have seen dolphins in close range on the Wando river (not something that happens in south Jersey!). No amenities were lacking, and the wifi was reliable and especially convenient to have. The owners supplied a notebook full of information about local restaurants and attractions, including personal recommendations and notes that made it easier to chose the places we wanted to visit. As other reviewers noted, the owners were fully respectful of our privacy.
It took about 10 minutes to drive across the bridge into Charleston proper, so the house is very convenient for sightseeing in the city, yet also provides a private retreat. We found a number of wonderful restaurants in Mt Pleasant and look forward to a return trip to that area one day.
We always rely on TripAdvisor when planning vacations and weren't disappointed. The Big Chill certainly deserves its 5 star rating!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private setting of the property on the water, and the high quality of the furnishings and appliances in the home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Even in the summer heat, we usually get a breeze and if not the fans remind everyone of life in the deep south in the summertime. Thanks for the great review and for choosing this house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A
Alameda, California
2 reviews
“I love this house.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our group of 6 had a wonderful vacation at the Big Chill House. It is a very large, well appointed home that has a great location to explore the Charleston area and beyond. The house was as advertised and exactly as pictured. The kitchen was well appointed and the bathrooms were well stocked. It was very clean and the Owners were extremely responsive. I would give this rental my highest recommendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of house
Liked least: Lighting in master bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing