We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
The beautiful backyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful backyard
Front Southern style wrap around porch Main Level den. Looking across to kitchen and dining area. Door into Queen BR w/ ensuite Bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The beautiful backyard
Front Southern style wrap around porch
Main Level den. Looking across to kitchen and dining area. Door into Queen BR w/ ensuite Bath
Open Dining to kitchen concept. Counter seating too.Gourmet Kitchen Sub Zero - Gas Range -and more.
Very Large Family Room - Fireplace, HDTV, Ceiling Fans. French doors to deck.
Kayak to Patriots point from Backyard. This is a guest photo. Kayaks available for guest use.
Sullivans Island Beach is 6 miles away
Fire Pit for chilly nights. Come visit year round.
Welcome!  Front Entryway. Great room on left. Kitchen through hall. Main level bedroom to the right.
Sullivan's Island Beach is about 6 miles follow Coleman Blvd to the Ocean.
Front of house. Lots of parking. Large Circular Drive and additional parking on right.
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath. Door to upper deck.
Gorgeous sleek Marble Master Bath. Glass Shower plus Soaking Tub. Toilet Closet. Dual Vanities. Wow!
Main Level Queen Bedroom. Attached private tile and glassbathroom and walk-in shower. Avoids stairs.
Glassed shower ensuite bathroom for main level Queen bedroom. Toilet is out of photo to the right.
Upstairs Queen. HDTV - Ceiling Fan. Shares Luxury Bath with Doubles BR Upstairs.
Gorgeous soaking tub . There are 2 soaking tubs in house, one outside hot tub, and 3 glassed showers
Upstairs Bath shared by a Queen Bedroom and a Doubles Bedroom.
Doubles Room. Upstairs. HDTV - Ceiling Fan. Shares Luxury Bath with Queen BR Upstairs.
Wrap around decks back and front and up and down.
Deck and Grill views of Wando River.
Weber Grill.....calling all outdoor cooks !
Catch crabs off the dock. Crab pots and traps are provided.
Outdoor porch seating.
Great views of the Wando River fromthe backporch
Bench Swing on porch
Lush front yard landscaping. Large private property
Have a glass of wine at sunset on the dock. Enjoy the rhythm of the tides.
Backyard ....moss covered Oaks hanging over tidal waters. Salt Marsh. This is the View on the right
Farmers Market ( seasonal ) Saturday DT Charleston and Tuesday in Mount Pleasant.
Sub Zero, Filtered Water, Gas Range and cooktop, Trash Compactor, Miele Dishwasher. Fully equipped.
Stained Glass in Kitchen windows.
Kitchen looking towards Small Den. Stained Glass. Seating for 4 at counter
Powder Room on Main Level. 3.5 baths in house.
Dining Room view. Looking across kitchen eating island.
Dining area
Details matter
Looking from Small Den towards the Great Room.
Looking from Small Den towards the Dining Area
Door against far wall leads to the Queen Level Bedroom and a Private Bathroom with Glass Shower
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath.
Master King. Large. Plus Sofabed. Ensuite Luxury Marble Bath.  Door to upper deck.
Ceiling fans everywhere. A southern style tradition
SUP in the wando.Paddled out by the Ravenel Bridge. Hope you spot dolphins ! SUP available for guest
Heron enjoying the views off our dock on Molasses Creek. Kayaks, SUP.  and Crab pots for guest use.
Kayaking in creeks behind house.
Fantastic bridge location......walk or bike on bridge. Hop over to Historic DT. Near everything!
Molasses Creek connects to the Wando River. High tide view -
Sunrise....Sunset....Sunrise....Sunset.....the beauty of  the marsh and water
Lots of Dolphins around in the waters.  Photo taken 2017...got lucky!
Can you spot the VERY pregnant deer?  We have a lot of wildlife around...but also note the privacy!
Geechie Seafood off Coleman Blvd. Fresh fish and shrimp in season.
Golf nearby
Wando River from Backyard.
Dock in backyard. Paddle fish or crab.
Backyard is a private peninsula waterfront with dock. Creek to the right / River to the left.
Evening Quiet . View to the left of very private backyard surrounded by marsh and water.
View of back showing expansive and private property.
Location is the red star in top of photo. Bridge into Charleston view
Stay and Play at Shem Creek. Pick up your fish and shrimp, or choose a restaurant.
Shem Creek and the fleet boats. The Palmetto state!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Charleston, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jill B. B
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

So happy with this choice. It is appropriately named The Big Chill. Beautiful property and so easy to drive to historic Charleston. The owner and property manager were nice and easy to work with. I would highly recommend this property.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
We try to offer more than the typical rental. Thank you for enjoying our property. We think we have what a discerning visitor group is seeking. We appreciate the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty W
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Bill Chill House was exactly as was advertised .. all good.”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our trip purpose was for 7 friends who had not seen each other for a number of years to reconnect and to see a city where none of us had visited. This house ended up being an excellent place for us to be comfortable and enjoy our girls' weekend. It is spacious with a great view out the back. Everything we needed was provided and was very clean. It is nicely decorated and the beds were comfortable. The information provided about the house was accurate and the owners were prompt at responding and in providing information we needed ahead of our arrival. They also had a good amount of information about the Charleston area available for our reference in the house. All 7 of us were very happy with the choice and would rent the property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house layout/size/amenities and its location.
Liked least: I felt the amount of direction that we were given on what we should/could not do was overkill.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
We do try to exceed expectations. Our goal is to offer the best two rental properties in the Charleston area. We think being Waterfront, and having Kayaks and Paddleboards, plus fishing and crabbing, is a plus that other houses don't have. And then there is also a Hot Tub. We hope all our guests are pleased. Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLS210
2 reviews
“Celebration of 60 Years of Friendship”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This house and location is amazing! The communication, cleanliness, comfortable beds, and many start up supply perks provided us the hospitality from the owners that set the mood for all 10 "picky"women! We absolutely loved our morning coffee and afternoon wine on the wrap around porch enjoying the lush landscaping, breezes, and scenic view of Wando River. The location and proximity to Charleston, Shem Creek, and Sullivan's Island was perfect. Our favorite lunch spot was The Obstinate Daughter on busy Sullivan's Island. We certainly recommend this fabulous house for anyone who wants to relax and chill. Our group wants to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Womens groups really love this house. Our close location to Charleston is something that sets this house apart from others. And the setting with Waterfront and views is extraordinary. Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina E
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Experience....”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

You could read every 5 star review listed here and the Big Chill Home would be exactly that or better! We travelled to Mt Pleasant for my daughter's wedding and stayed here with family and friends. Everything in the home is first class...luxurious...comfortable...welcoming, I could go on and on. Our favorite gathering place was the wrap around porch. Peaceful and scenic views of the yard and marsh beyond. The owners are deservedly proud of this home and their attention to detail to making your stay memorable is very much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting.
Liked least: Parking.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Gina: we are thrilled that you chose our house for your daughters wedding. We are proud of this house; and we love to share this unique rental home with others who seek the best of Charleston. We specialize in wedding groups who seek the best. I also had the opportunity to see you boarding the shuttle to the wedding, ( I was coincidentally walking my dog down the street ) and I want you to know that you looked gorgeous on your daughter's special day. Thank you for choosing our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klk56
Sioux Falls, SD
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly recommend The Big Chill!”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

we really enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful, clean, located on a quiet street but close to restaurants and stores. Just beautiful. Good value. We didn't take the time to use the kayaks but did sit on the dock. Owners live on site but we only saw them upon arrival and once as wer were leaving. Nice folks. House is well furnished. Can't say enough good things about this house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and pretty
Liked least: othing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Our location is the best of all houses! We do offer the kayaks and paddle boards - some groups are active and others just sit and rock and enjoy the scenery. We think our furnishings are much more inviting than most rentals...and we make sure our bedding is comfortable. Cleanliness is a must! Thanks for noticing and thanks for coming.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G
Shrewsbury, New Jersey
1 review
“Memorable Stay at the Big Chill House”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The Big Chill House was everything that was promised. The house was beautifully appointed, clean and comfortable. There is a wonderful back yard on the water with a hammock and ample seating areas. The owner greeted us upon our arrival and gave us a thorough tour of the home. A binder was left in the kitchen with all the information we needed, including recommendations for restaurants. The home is located less than 10 minutes from Charleston which made it convenient for our large group. Mt. Pleasant is also a beautiful community with ample shopping nearby. I would not hesitate to recommend this home to anyone and we plan on returning there soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and comfort of the home.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
We don't exaggerate - we offer more than other houses! Thank you for noticing. And thank you for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayDGee08
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Stay! Great Location!”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Our family truly enjoyed our time at the Big Chill! The home is beautiful and very well maintained. We loved the porches and the beautiful views of the water throughout the house. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need to make a family meal. We especially loved the location! It is very easy to quickly get to downtown Charleston, but it is just far enough outside the city that you are able to relax in peace and quiet. Several grocery stores and restaurants are within minutes. We also appreciated the flexible and accommodating hosts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Our location just can't be beat! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing