We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South of Broad”

Dock Street Theater
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Charleston's Alleys and Hidden Passages
Ranked #42 of 235 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“South of Broad”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is the place where it all began in Pat Conroy's book, "South of Broad". The theatre is a must for anyone sightseeing Charleston. It is the first performing theatre on the continent, having its first performance in 1736. It is on the corner of Church St and Queen (which originally was named Dock St).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Etranger2all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    97
    16
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater with lots of history”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We went in to this theater to check it out, and it was in the process of getting set up for a big event. They let us look around and, most importantly, use the bathroom!!! It was air conditioned inside so that was an extra bonus. Definitely worth a peak.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful singers/actors in a local venue”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

While visiting Charleston, my wife and were walking down Church Street past the Dock Street Theater and we saw that they were having a play called "Gershwin at Folly". It looked interesting so we stopped in the box office to inquire about tickets. They were all sold out but the very helpful and friendly lady at the box office told us that someone had just e-mailed and wanted to change nights. So we got tickets for that night. We weren't expecting much from a local theater but boy were we wrong! The playwright who wrote this play introduced it beforehand and it was about George Gershwin's trip to Charleston's Folly Beach in 1934 when he was writing "Porgy and Bess". I have to tell you it was so cool to be watching a musical about Charleston, in Charleston, written by a playwright from Charleston, about Gershwin's trip to Charleston.
And we were blown away by the quality of the actors and their singing and the play itself. It was all really top notch. The theater itself has somewhat small, wooden and crowded pew seating which makes getting in and out a bit difficult, but the history and ambience of the theater make up for that. They also have many great programs with the local community to bring people in and train them in the theatrical arts. So if you're in Charleston and would like to support the arts and see some great acting this is the place to go.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dancingdentist60189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went here to see a play with some friends back in 2013 but I can't remember which month exactly - we were just disappointed because our friends were raving about the renovations etc and all we could focus on was how bad the sound quality was - everything echoed and our experience was miserable. We were shocked to see people attending theater in shorts and jeans?!?!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuvzTrav10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Gershwin at Folly in an intimate theatre”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The building is marvelous, with all kinds of small anterooms and niches, and a fabulous courtyard. The theatre is small, so you are right with the performers. Acoustics were just fine. The Dock is a perfect little playhouse.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robinsonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dock Street Theater also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Dock Street Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing