We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in Charleston”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Two Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #6 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Two Meeting Street Inn is one of the most beautiful inns we have stayed in; the essence of elegance in Charleston. It is located facing the Battery on the leading edge of the beautiful historic district. Breakfast is a real treat served on the famous porch or courtyard. Afternoon tea is such a treat! The staff is professional and very hospitable. They really made our stay very special.

Room Tip: Rooms to accommodate children are limited, but we had a room with two queen beds. All rooms are uniq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank W Morgan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Charleston. Two Meeting Street is like stepping back in time to a rich opulent home of one of Charleston's business leaders from the turn of the century. The house is stunning with its rich wood panelling, beautiful antiques, and especially the wonderful wrap around porch. We spent many hours just sitting on the porch taking in the beauty of Charleston, watching the Battery Park and the waterfront, and just having great conversations.

Jean and her staff are amazing. Before we arrived they contacted us to make sure we had dinner plans for our visit and took care of getting us reservations. FYI, Charleston restaurants are very busy and getting same day reservations is nearly impossible at the good places. Whether it was accidental or not, at every place they made us reservations we seemed to have the best table in the place. Beyond that, the staff made sure to give us their insider knowledge of the town and suggested locations to visit and tours to take so that we'd experience the true Charleston. Their input made for a great vacation!

Finally, we'd be remiss if we didn't talk about the food. One word... awesome. Breakfast was always great and we became immediately hooked on "afternoon tea".

We'd highly recommend Two Meeting Street Inn and definitely plan on coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottS9172014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Two Meeting Street Inn and it's caretakers offered THE best bed and breakfast. The atmosphere was an old Southern mansion with a historic flair with the loveliest porch to sit on and relax. Everyone was extremely accomodating and friendly. The breakfasts and treats offered at tea time were delicious. We stayed in room 6 on the 3rd floor (stairs only) in a room with a private adjoining bathroom. The bed was comfy and the room was kept nice and cool in the summer heat. The bathroom and shower would be difficult to use for guests over 6 feet tall. I would recommend something on the first two floors for taller guests. There honestly was not a more beautiful place to stay in Charleston

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor are at a lower price point and still provide a lovely stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parislover_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have just landed back in Buffalo after a 3 night get away with my girlfriends.This trip was special because the 4 of us have known each other for over 30 years and have never gone away together before.We picked 2 meeting street Inn after researching all that Charlston S.C. has to offer.All I can say is its absolutely exactly what we had hoped it would be.Every attention that the Inn keeper and her staff made to every detail of our stay was over and above our expectations!The Inn itself is beautiful!It has cozy,spacious rooms that were immaculate.The huge wrap around porch with white wicker furniture,rocking chairs, ceiling fans and gorgeous potted flowers and plants was the perfect place to sit and watch the world go slowly by.The staff occasionally coming out to see if they could be of service as well as insisting we sit while they ran and got us that second cup of coffee!You will be blown away by the trees and shrubbery surrounding this gorgeous old inn.A lovely garden courtyard off to the side is where breakfeast was brought out to my friends and I on our last morning there.The homemade french toast,crab quiche and fresh fruit were exquisite,not to mention the piping hot pecan coffee!!The staff helped with restaurant reservations,boarding passes,taxis, and even packed a cooler of cold water for us to take along to the beach.(beach chairs,towels umbrella all provided as a service to us)The owner of the Inn is just the most personable,engaging woman.A perfect representative of southern grace and charm as well as hospitality,I could go on and on about this lovely place but please go experience it for yourself.You will have a chance to be pampered and to renew your soul,I want to go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keekums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Two Meeting Street meets every standard imaginable in terms of service, accommodations, comfort and culinary delights....breakfast on the veranda, tea in the afternoon and sherry in the evening. But, more importantly, it is a respite from a weary world...like stepping back in time to a beautiful, historic home, Southern charm at its best that is not contrived but authentic....a dining table or parlor to make new friends, if you care to do so. It is an experience to stay here. You will want for nothing and will be offered every amenity with grace and style. No kidding.

Room Tip: Any room with a porch....but, they are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandRDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved 2 Meeting Street Inn so much that we had a hard time pulling ourselves away from the porch and veranda to walk around Charleston. The staff was great and very attentive. We stayed in the Carr Room and it was a great choice if rooms. We shared a large 2nd floor veranda with another room. We had completely separate sitting areas so sharing it was not a problem. In fact, we enjoyed meeting our "neighbors" who had just gotten engaged. Instead of earing lunch out we walked to a nearby deli and picked up food to go. We then went back and had a very relaxing lunch on our veranda. Sitting on the large front porch, we saw a constant stream of horse and carriage tours talking about "our" home! It felt very special to be sitting there. Breakfast was served in several areas but we chose to have ours on the porch. It was delicious. Great for a special occasion.

Room Tip: The Carr room shares a large veranda with another room. It was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank braizes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is my second time at Two Meeting Street Inn. It is by far the most relaxing inn I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The lovely ladies who work here couldn't be more helpful or accommodating. They will make you feel right at home.
The homemade breakfast that is brought to your table on the veranda every morning is excellent. Tea time at 4:30 is a must every single day! The delicious cakes and savories are enough to make you want to skip dinner! Everyone is always ready to bring you more hot (or iced tea) to your table.
I don't think you could ask for anything more while you're staying here, and if you think of something I'm sure they will accommodate you with pleasure.
They have the most fabulous location in Charleston, I love taking daily walks around the White Point Park that's just across the street.
I hope to be back very soon, to see my beloved Charleston and the ladies at the Inn that I have gotten to know and love.
You will always have a very personable experience here that can never comaire to a large hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LacyTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,856 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,932 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,261 reviews
Downtown
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
22 Charlotte Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 39 in Charleston
157 reviews
The Governor's House Inn
#2 of 39 in Charleston
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Meeting Street Inn

Address: 2 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-2706
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £166 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1890. In the center of the historic district overlooking prestigious South Battery, this turreted Queen Anne was built as a wedding gift from a father to his daughter. It is one of the area's oldest bed & breakfast inns, offering Southern hospitality and a romantic heritage. Tiffany stained-glass windows, crystal chandeliers and English oak woodwork are accented by fresh flowers, Oriental rugs and family heirlooms. Traditional antiques furnish the elegant guest bedrooms. Enjoy a deluxe continental breakfast in the courtyard or oval dining room. The famous arched piazza features rockers that invite relaxation while gazing beyond the century-old live oaks to the harbor. Low country afternoon tea is served with sherry and regional delicacies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Two Meeting Street Hotel Charleston
2 Meeting Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing