We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Affordable!”

Merhaven Bed No Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merhaven Bed No Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Affordable!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My sister and I spent a fun weekend in Charleston recently at Merhaven. When searching for hotel accommodations, we struggled to find something affordable within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants. Merhaven was the perfect solution. Their rates are affordable, and the room couldn't have been any nicer. We stayed in the Cypress Room, which was very cheery, clean, and comfortable. Our bathroom (shared with another couple staying at Merhaven) was very clean and stocked with plenty of fresh linens.

Parking was a cinch, as there is a small driveway/parking lot for guests. If you've ever been to Charleston, you know this is a blessing! If you're up for walking, the main shopping/eating drag of downtown Charleston is about a 1 mile walk.

Merhaven is more of a "hands-off" lodging quarters in that they do not serve breakfast/high tea or have any social hours. But for me, this is actually very preferable, as I am more interested in getting out and seeing the city anyway!

I would definitely recommend Merhaven, and would certainly consider staying here again in the future. Thank you for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kgreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Have stayed here several times, our daughter attends College of Charleston and want to visit often, costs to stay downtown are quite expensive. Merhaven is very reasonable and a lovely place to stay. The owners are very accomodating and gracious, sharing their beautiful outdoor space and knowledge of Charleston. The rooms are small but adequate since you won't be spending much time in your room. You can walk to downtown from here easily. The bed's are very comfortable and the shared bathroom quaint. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay in Charleston, Merhaven is an awesome choice!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pixshabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My "stacation" at Merhaven was a most enjoyable and relaxing experience. The location is perfect for touring downtown Charleston, the rooms comfortable and the decor and garden areas are a wonderful reflection of the owners who are friendly and interesting. The off street parking is a great plus and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A lovely and charming "B no B" in charleston. By admission they do not serve breakfast, but this is a plus instead of a minus in the experience column. We got out every morning to explore the neighborhoods, find quaint coffee shops and delicious pastries. The rooms are clean and comfortable and feels more like staying with family than a commercial hotel. The owners are quiet and courteous but most likely you will never see them unless it is out in the amazing patio.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M2prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have stayed here many times over the past 5-7 years and it's always a great experience for my wife, our two boys and myself. Very clean, quiet room amenities and an awesome
outdoor area that is very private with bamboo, plants, fountains, etc. Each room also gets their own parking spot- sweet. It is very convenient to the downtown area by walking, biking or car. The battery is a nice walking distance and you can see all the beautiful homes, the open water and take a stroll the park. I would recommend anyone to stay here. Charleston is a great city to visit and Merhaven is the perfect place to stay to enjoy a great weekend or an entire week with so much to do and so close to everything the city has to offer.

Room Tip: No pool, but Awesome Fountain in side yard. Great place to relax, read a book or listen to music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSUWildcat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I've stayed there numerous times and the hosts are friendly, helpful and really interesting. It's a quiet and beautiful place to stay and the owners make you feel special. I highly recommend it. Herb Walters

Room Tip: Don't have one. Ask the owners. They'll be honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wild Peach Village, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for several days and really had a lovely experience. The comfortable room made us feel at home. The owners were very hospitable and helped us plan interesting outings. We appreciated the off street parking and it made it very easy to unload our suitcases into the room. There is easy walking access to the city. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharleneCady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
86 Cannon
#14 of 40 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashley Inn
#13 of 40 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Cannonboro Inn
#12 of 40 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
French Quarter
No photo provided
493 King Luxury Suites
#7 of 12 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merhaven Bed No Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merhaven Bed No Breakfast

Property: Merhaven Bed No Breakfast
Address: 16 Halsey Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax in this appealing, home away from home atmosphere, in charming downtown Charleston, SC. Located in the historic Harleston Village, Merhaven Bed no Breakfast has been described by our guests as "casualy elegant", "highly affordable", and "a lovely place to stay". A 1920s arts and crafts bungalow, our Bed no Breakfast offers two spacious rooms with 10' ceilings, lots of windows, hardwood floors, and beautiful, comfortable decor. The shared bathroom offers a choice of a tub or a shower. Our large, open courtyard and lush gardens offer the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the soft coastal air after a delightful day of touring, shopping, or playing on the beach. Tables, benches, and comfy chaise lounge chairs are situated near the old pecan tree, which will shade you while you sip your favorite drink, or enjoy a midday snack. A short, ten minute walk finds you in the heart of the historic, downtown Charleston shopping district. You are within close proximity to the Battery, several city parks, and numerous breakfast cafes and gourmet restaurants. We are near the Medical University of South Carolina and just down the street from the College of Charleston, and a mere twenty minute drive to one of three area beaches: Folley Beach, Isle of Palms, and Sullivan's Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed, No Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing