We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston Getaway Bungalow”

Merhaven Bed No Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merhaven Bed No Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a charming place Merhaven is! My daughter and I instantly felt at home in this nearly century old restored bungalow off of Calhoun Street near the hospital. The owners have taken great care to provide a beautiful indoor and outdoor space for you to relax in between all the sightseeing you'll do on your visit. They provide a wonderful space for you to use as your home base. Hominy Grill is a close walk away for breakfast and Sunday brunch. Be sure to ask for a tour of the house/museum as the owners are amazing artists as well as collectors. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 633juneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I frequently visit Charleston and I'm so glad that we found Merhaven! We love the central location, we are in walking distance to King St. and a couple great restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and clean and have their own entrance which is very convenient. The garden outside is beautiful and offers a perfect setting for relaxing with a glass of wine. The owners are very friendly and helped us with restaurant and plantation recommendations that were spot on. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 22zzz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My sister and I spent a fun weekend in Charleston recently at Merhaven. When searching for hotel accommodations, we struggled to find something affordable within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants. Merhaven was the perfect solution. Their rates are affordable, and the room couldn't have been any nicer. We stayed in the Cypress Room, which was very cheery, clean, and comfortable. Our bathroom (shared with another couple staying at Merhaven) was very clean and stocked with plenty of fresh linens.

Parking was a cinch, as there is a small driveway/parking lot for guests. If you've ever been to Charleston, you know this is a blessing! If you're up for walking, the main shopping/eating drag of downtown Charleston is about a 1 mile walk.

Merhaven is more of a "hands-off" lodging quarters in that they do not serve breakfast/high tea or have any social hours. But for me, this is actually very preferable, as I am more interested in getting out and seeing the city anyway!

I would definitely recommend Merhaven, and would certainly consider staying here again in the future. Thank you for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kgreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Have stayed here several times, our daughter attends College of Charleston and want to visit often, costs to stay downtown are quite expensive. Merhaven is very reasonable and a lovely place to stay. The owners are very accomodating and gracious, sharing their beautiful outdoor space and knowledge of Charleston. The rooms are small but adequate since you won't be spending much time in your room. You can walk to downtown from here easily. The bed's are very comfortable and the shared bathroom quaint. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay in Charleston, Merhaven is an awesome choice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pixshabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My "stacation" at Merhaven was a most enjoyable and relaxing experience. The location is perfect for touring downtown Charleston, the rooms comfortable and the decor and garden areas are a wonderful reflection of the owners who are friendly and interesting. The off street parking is a great plus and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A lovely and charming "B no B" in charleston. By admission they do not serve breakfast, but this is a plus instead of a minus in the experience column. We got out every morning to explore the neighborhoods, find quaint coffee shops and delicious pastries. The rooms are clean and comfortable and feels more like staying with family than a commercial hotel. The owners are quiet and courteous but most likely you will never see them unless it is out in the amazing patio.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M2prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have stayed here many times over the past 5-7 years and it's always a great experience for my wife, our two boys and myself. Very clean, quiet room amenities and an awesome
outdoor area that is very private with bamboo, plants, fountains, etc. Each room also gets their own parking spot- sweet. It is very convenient to the downtown area by walking, biking or car. The battery is a nice walking distance and you can see all the beautiful homes, the open water and take a stroll the park. I would recommend anyone to stay here. Charleston is a great city to visit and Merhaven is the perfect place to stay to enjoy a great weekend or an entire week with so much to do and so close to everything the city has to offer.

Room Tip: No pool, but Awesome Fountain in side yard. Great place to relax, read a book or listen to music!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KSUWildcat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.8 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,856 reviews
1.0 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,932 reviews
0.5 mi away
86 Cannon
86 Cannon
#11 of 39 in Charleston
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Quarters on King
The Quarters on King
#5 of 39 in Charleston
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Governor's House Inn
The Governor's House Inn
#2 of 39 in Charleston
490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jasmine House Inn
Jasmine House Inn
#9 of 39 in Charleston
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merhaven Bed No Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merhaven Bed No Breakfast

Address: 16 Halsey Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £381 - £963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax in this appealing, home away from home atmosphere, in charming downtown Charleston, SC. Located in the historic Harleston Village, Merhaven Bed no Breakfast has been described by our guests as "casualy elegant", "highly affordable", and "a lovely place to stay". A 1920s arts and crafts bungalow, our Bed no Breakfast offers two spacious rooms with 10' ceilings, lots of windows, hardwood floors, and beautiful, comfortable decor. The shared bathroom offers a choice of a tub or a shower. Our large, open courtyard and lush gardens offer the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the soft coastal air after a delightful day of touring, shopping, or playing on the beach. Tables, benches, and comfy chaise lounge chairs are situated near the old pecan tree, which will shade you while you sip your favorite drink, or enjoy a midday snack. A short, ten minute walk finds you in the heart of the historic, downtown Charleston shopping district. You are within close proximity to the Battery, several city parks, and numerous breakfast cafes and gourmet restaurants. We are near the Medical University of South Carolina and just down the street from the College of Charleston, and a mere twenty minute drive to one of three area beaches: Folley Beach, Isle of Palms, and Sullivan's Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed, No Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing