We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be rated much higher!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel after it had been open for three days! We were told by the hotel staff that we were the first to stay in our rooms! This hotel will definitely rise in the rankings after it's been open longer. The staff and service was excellent--everyone was really nice and helpful! It was also beautifully decorated. The style was very modern and chic, with dark wood and light green & purple accents. Our room was very comfortable--large bathroom, comfortable mattress, a selection of firm and soft pillows (all of which were labeled as such), a really spacious bathroom, good water pressure in the shower, and a flat screen tv. There is a little "marketplace" in the lobby that sells snacks, medication, tissue, etc. and I was happy to see that they didn't gauge you on prices (I had a headache and needed Advil which was priced at $2.50...usually hotels charge absurd amounts for things like this).

I didn't eat at the restaurant...it seemed a bit on the pricey side for what it was (tapas & small bites, with a few entrees). Considering that this hotel is in the heart of downtown, where the food is amazing, it didn't really seem worth our time. Also, the person who posted that this restaurant had free parking is mistaken. They have a valet service which charges $16 a day. This is actually very reasonable, considering that the hotel room was *very* reasonable for it's location and quality (more than reasonable, actually). And the valet guys were super friendly and helpful with tips about the city.

Overall, this is a great place and will probably get a much better ranking once it's been open longer. We can't wait to return in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mw7158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

First off, thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, and secondley thank you very much for your kind comments. Please tell your friends about us when traveling to Charleston & we hope to have you again in "your home away from home". We hope to see you again real soon, Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

Brand new hotel is beautiful and clean. Only downfall is there's no parking lot, only valet parking that is $16 a day. I guess you could find a spot somewhere on the street, but not about to do that with my new BMW. Overall, very pleases. Good luck finding a new, clean and modern hotel in downtown for this great of a price.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nathansmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & thank you for your great comments. Downtown Charleston's public parking is normally by meter or parking garage which neither are available at our location. We only offer valet parking as our parking is in the basement of our hotel but the upside is your vehicle is very secure. There is self parking at the Visitors Center two blocks away for those that want to self park. When your plans bring you back to Charleston we look forward to being your home away from home. Thank you, Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This Holiday Inn is in the middle of the Historical district of Charleston. Free parking and no need to use your car for everything as all is smack in front of you! Rooms are v nice meals were great at the hotel but so many nearby to chose from.Market place and shops everywhere. Is a little expensine but most hotels charge for parking when staying downtown rooms! Fort Sumter is a nice boat ride away to visit the old Fort. The bicycles made for 2 people is also a nice way to see downtown and safe. The upscale houses near the park at the eastern section with so many beautiful colors is great day too Clean city well laid out with many lively bars and etc.! Beautiful lined streets and parks with lots of flowering trees and bushes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WILDDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Dear WILDDOG,

We appreciate you choosing our hotel and your review. As you mentioned there are many great sights and attractions nearby so you can pretty much walk around to everywhere you need to get to in Charleston. Thanks again and we hope you will be back again soon.

Best regards,

Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayumi110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHuff425, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Felipe Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHuff425, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maral51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carter D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: £91 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing