We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My stay was great. The hotel was very clean and the restaurant had both phenomenal breakfast and lunch. The hotel is ideally located just a few blocks from John St. and many other great places to have dinner and grab drinks. The front desk staff was very helpful and accomdating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay.
I am very pleased everything went well and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Charleston.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed at this holiday inn with a group for two nights over a weekend. The service was excellent, the rooms were spotless, and the food was phenomenal (we ate breakfast there every morning and they had an excellent buffet as well as a very inclusive menu). We were also only two blocks from King Street; it was an incredibly easy walk to both great restaurants and great bars. Overall a really great experience and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent stay.
I am delighted your group enjoyed your visit, I also appreciate your positive remarks regarding your breakfast experience.
We all hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Charleston.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Great Location - Being only a block away from King Street, this Holiday Inn is able to offer incredible location at a tremendous value. Though somewhat of walk into the heart of the city, my group enjoyed the experience and found the walk refreshing.

Incredible Service - From the onset of our stay, we were greeted at every opportunity and treated with first-rate service. I find that at my stays with other hotels I rarely elicit a smile from the staff (though, I admit, I can be tough to smile at...). Kidding aside, their kind demeanors made for a truly pleasant experience, and the modern, clean, and spacious rooms offered another testament the the incredible service. Many other reviewers have spoken of the amenities offered within the rooms, and I will attest to their assertions--the room was a truly welcoming experience and provided the elusive home-away-from-home feel.

First-rate Restaurant - I was pleasantly surprised when we chose to eat breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, The Meeting Room. The waiting staff were very helpful and the food was some of the best I've had (the grits are a must try--trust me). While we didn't eat another meal at The Meeting Room, the tapas-style menu looked very appealing and affordable.

Overall, I will definitely return to this Holiday Inn in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnSJR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear John,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review following your recent stay.
I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and pleased you found our location close enough to the heart of the Historic District yet offering much more competitive rates.
I will share your kind words with the staff and pass on your great comments about breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here in March 2013 when the hotel had only been open briefly. The room was clean, fresh and spacious - probably the nicest Holiday Inn room I have stayed in. While we enjoy walking, it was a good 15 minute walk to the main downtown area. Due to the colder weather and distance, we took cabs back to the hotel from downtown restaurants at night. We asked the front desk for directions and were told not to walk down Meeting Street in the evening. We followed the advice and walked down King Street with no issues, but would have been preferable to be in a location without limitations. However for the price, the holiday is a decent value. We enjoyed our breakfast in the restaurant.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Many thanks for leaving a review following your stay in March. I am sorry we only scored an average rating.
We strive to provide the highest levels of accommodation and guest service and it would see we fell short in your case.
Should you visit Charleston in the future I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Within walking distance of all of the popular streets in downtown, I was so impressed with this hotel. When I went to my room I was shocked at how modern and HUGE it was. A corner room, with floor to ceiling windows, I had a kitchenette, dining room table, sectional, desk, tv, then a king bed with another tv, and a really large, gorgeous bathroom. Everyone working there was extremely nice, and I had a great conversation with the bartender. It felt nice to know I had such a great home base while I was traveling alone in the city for the first time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Wow. Thanks for your great view. Based on your description of your room it sounds like you got to enjoy one of our suites.
While you pointed out the Tv's in the living room and bedroom, did you know there is also one in the mirror in the bathroom?
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had a nice experience in the Downtown Holiday Inn, which has been recently renovated. Kristen at the front desk was very helpful to us. She recommended we try the just-opened "The Ordinary" for dinner (from the folks who gave you "Fig"), and we loved her recommendation. One needs to be very clear about the location of the "downtown" in relation to this Holiday Inn. Anyone who casually says you can "walk downtown" is an Olympian. We had a rental car, and it was a must, even if one must pay a parking fee. It is a straight shot to the heart of downtown, but it is a decidedly over-long walk. We ate breakfast in the dining room one morning, and it was fine for the quick bite we were looking for. Two very hardworking young men did as good a job as could be done serving all the diners. About two blocks over a handful of nice restaurants provides close-by dining. Just be aware it is not the ritziest section of town. Although the bedsheets were not as absolutely immaculate as I like them, the room was pleasant, had a new feel, and was clean overall. The swimming pool is quite tiny, but we were not looking for that. We decided we preferred this at its price, as opposed to the $500 a night B & B's downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toran I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the hotel following your recent stay.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and glad you liked Kristen's recommendation for dinner.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on any future visit to Charleston.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

From the time we checked in the level of friendliness and service was amazing! The front desk was so helpful. And the hotel Restaurant was sooo good. We were tired and didn't want to leave but didn't really expect much at the hotel restaurant...suprise.., it was one of the best meals we have had in a long time! Kudos!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andicj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you for your rave review following your recent stay.
I am delighted you both enjoyed the food in the restaurant and experienced great service from the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,881 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: £93 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing