We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely stay here and enjoy Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moorestown, New Jersey
1 review
“Definitely stay here and enjoy Charleston”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My grown daughter and I just stayed here for three nights. The staff was very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The fitness center was small but very sufficient. I would definitely recommend staying here. The only downside is that it is not located in the heart of old downtown Charleston. However, everything was walkable from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you.
We love to hear when one of our guests had a good visit.
Hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    216
    74
    29
    20
See reviews for
155
293
17
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln Park, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed here for a girls weekend. We checked in on Thursday and checked out Monday morning. The front desk service was great! Very accommodating and explained everything very well. They even showed us how to get around the city. They also allowed us to check into our hotel room early.
Our room was very nice and clean! Room service cleaned the bathroom every day as well as made the beds. Very typical. The hotel also smelled very good!
There was a demolition going on next to the hotel, but it was during the day when we were not in the hotel. The demolition stopped very early so we never even heard or saw them.
The only option for the hotel is to valet park your vehicle, because they have vehicle elevator parking. The down side is that it is $16 dollars a day. The plus side, you can pay cash, per day, so that the fee doesn't automatically charge to your account. Also, leaving your vehicle at the hotel is a good option as well, because King St is only one block over and everything is in walking distance. This is the furthest hotel from the shopping district, but it's only one more block down.
The Meeting Room is a great option for tapas when you've ate a late lunch and are just looking for something smaller to eat. I would recommend the buffalo wings and the flat breads.
Overall this hotel is a great option for a stay in Downtown Charleston!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank You.
Come on back.
We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is a new hotel and the room we were in(3rd floor facing Meeting Street) was clean and quiet. The room was well equipped with ammenities: small safe, refrigerator, coffee maker, wi-fi, TV etc.
The fitness room was well equipped with treadmills and free weights.
I had breakfast one morning in the restaurant and was not impressed. The waiter forgot to bring coffee and the cook needs a bit more experience cooking eggs.
Employees in the lobby in the morning were noisy, joking and laughing both mornings I was there. Not a great atmosphere for starting the day.
Valet parking is a plus.
The location is a bit far from historic downtown for walking but the bicycle cabs are a good way to get downtown.
This hotel is on the fringe of an area that is being renovated so ultimately should be in a nice area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay,
I would like to express my sincerest apologies for the problems you experienced with your breakfast service, and I have discussed the matter with the food and beverage manager.
Our staff love to come to come to work, so I will ask them all to tone it down. I certainly don't want their enthusiasm upsetting any future guests.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I always expect a certain quality when staying at a Holiday Inn and this one did not disappoint.
Great location, updated decor, great restaurant and bar. Since parking is often an issue in the Historic section of town, we took advantage of the concierge parking and didn't regret it. We stayed for two nights and never had to move our car. The personnel at the front desk were wonderful and recommended a particular trolley tour which we thoroughly enjoyed and gave us great directions to wherever we wanted to go. Though a little on the pricey side, I would recommend this hotel for people who want to be within walking distance of most of the sights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.
We all value the input from our former guests, and take great pleasure hearing someone had a great stay. Charleston takes care of it's self but we want to ensure you enjoyed the hotel.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My band and I stayed at this hotel at the end of Oct. It couldnt have been more conveniently located to the venue we were playing as well all the food and shops on King St. The hotel seemed brand new, staff was super friendly and accommodating. I stay in hotels at least a hundred nights a year and I couldnt have asked for anything more than this one for our Charleston show.

Room Tip: Try and get a balcony room or a room with a view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overlord215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thanks for the kind words, and especially your comments regarding our location.
We are located on the North Side of Downtown, where all good things are happening.
We strive to deliver the best customer experience and I am delighted we delivered.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I recently came to Charleston and had many different options when choosing where to stay. I decided on this property based on reviews, location and the modern look it seemed to have. Upon check in the staff was very courteous and I was greeted to a very spacious room with a balcony looking out over the pool and Charleston. Everything about this stay was exactly what I needed. This was a mix between business/pleasure and the location, amenities, and most importantly price and value compared to other hotels made this a great stay. I met some business associates in the lobby and before heading out we enjoyed some cocktails and some food at The Meeting Room restaurant where everything was great. Started the night off right and ended it sleeping well. Will definitely be staying here again when I come back in the future.

Room Tip: balcony on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rift20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for being so kind to leave a review following your recent stay.
Everyone here will read it and we all hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Charleston.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was in Charleston for work last week and stayed at this hotel. The rooms are very spacious (I was on the 4th floor), clean, fresh and well kept. The breakfast was great and the older gentleman waiter that served me was a funny and helpful man. For me the best service was from two helpful girls on the front desk Nicole and Jess (Jess AKA "Jingles the Cat" was particularly helpful finding a local CVC - great help, sorting me out with a zombie look for Halloween!). Great staff. I have no hesitation recommending this place and will stay here again.

Room Tip: 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to acknowledge some of our team members.
Sounds like to had a good Halloween in Charleston.
We all hope we can welcome you back on your next visit.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 61 in Charleston
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing