We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite an Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
“Quite an Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Holiday Inn located on Meeting Street was excellent. The staff was very profesional and the location provided a great balance between quite and night life of upper King Street. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I look forward to my new destination in Charleston.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MGW610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    200
    67
    27
    19
See reviews for
147
280
14
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We went down for my boyfriends birthday in March. Hats off to all the staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!We received Five star service especially from Mike C. the valet attendant. He went above and beyond and delivered excellent customer service. This hotel was so clean and nicely decorated. This is hotel is in a great location, near so many restaurants and bars. On a good day it's a great way to get exercise by walking to the places on King Street. The area was quiet well lit on the outside. The pool and fitness room has a nice decor as we'll very clean and sturdy equipment. I normally have a difficult time sleeping away from home but The bed was very comfortable and I slept well!!!!!!!!!!!! I will definitely return to this hotel. This has been the best hotel I've stayed at in Charleston!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! At one point I was second guessing The Holiday Inn but this location has changed my mind for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robinson43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for the great review.
I am delighted you enjoyed both the hotel and our great location adjacent to Upper King St.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was a great hotel. We weren't sure of the area at first, but once we got there we were very pleased. It close to King street right on edge of the historic district, but walking distance to everything. On site valet parking. Friendly staff. Clean room. Great hotel in a great city . Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red70d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay.
I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on any future visit to Charleston.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My partner and I travel to Charleston each year for the annual BB&T Wine and Food Festival. We waited to book our room and our "usual" hotel was booked. I am an IHG Rewards member and so I decided to just trade some points for the new Holiday Inn. I am so glad I did, this hotel was perfect from the first impression forward.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Austin. He got our baggage and had our car parked while we checked in. We were quickly served at the front desk by Tammy. She picked us a great room, and offered a map of the area. We were happy to find that the hotel is next to King Street (where all the shops, bars, and restaurants are located. (I went for a run on Saturday and the location is 1.8 miles from Patriots Park- end of the peninsula) Austin took us up to our room and explained the features of the room and locations of additional hotel services.

After our daily city adventures, we enjoyed a nightcap in The Meeting Room (the hotel bar and restaurant). We were happy to find Tammy again! Therefore, excellent service here too!

Throughout the trip the valet service was fast and helpful. This hotel also receives high marks from us due to the cleanliness of the room and the property. The rooms are very clean and very comfortable with nice large showers.

This property must have an excellent employee training program! We would stay here again....the rooms are nicer than other more expensive properties in the area...and what the property lacks in "glamour" (Club Rooms, Spa, etc.) They easily compensate for in service.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a patio or balcony. They offer good views and you can enjoy the outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for leaving such a comprehensive review following your recent stay.
I certainly appreciate your kind comments and will ensure I share them with the team.
Tammy does a wonderful job and I am also fortunate to have a great group of people who take pride in both their work and the hotel.
On closing thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Wonderful Experience, New rooms with lots of space, North end of Meeting street, not so crowded and very close to excellant restuarants on King Street. Great price compared to hotels in heart of city . Only a few blocks to everything you want to see. Excellant shopping and good food . would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Good view from 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardgenoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent stay.
I am glad you highlighted our location.
As you will have seen the area is undergoing a huge transformation and we are pleased to be part of it.
As you pointed out being on the Northern side of the Historic District by Upper King we definitely offer a more economical option than many of the other hotels in town.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel was awesome. From the moment we walked in Tyler Dockery the GM was so accommodating and polite. He answered all of our questions and got us checked in quickly. The hotel/rooms are amazing. Everything was so new,nice, and comfortable. The location is ideal as well as our hotel party walked to dinner on King st. Don't forget to eat breakfast the next morning as the food is excellent. I've stayed in all the best hotels in Charleston and would rank this one right there at the top. A must stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shako02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit.
We very much appreciate the feedback we receive from our valued guests, and I am pleased Tyler took good care of you.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was our first trip to Charleston and not sure where to stay. This Holiday Inn was the best value for the money. It was close to shopping (King Street) and the visitor center for tours.
When you visit stop by the bar and greet Kevin...he knows all the great eating places. The valet staff was the best...greet Mike C...he went above the call of duty (even vacuumed the inside of the car). Front desk people are always pleasant and willing to help.
You have a lot of hotel choices in Charleston, consider Holiday Inn first. I'll be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjojlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your great review and taking the time to recognize some of the team members you encountered during your visit.
We are delighted your stay was a good one, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing