We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Service!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Service!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Excellent modern property less than one mile from the Market and the downtown historical district. There's a free shuttle nearby, or a $7.00 cab fare to any of the sites. A special thanks to Kristin at the front desk. When we return to Charleston...this WIILL be our hotel of choice! King Street located one block behind the Hotel is becoming the up and coming area of Charleston with a variety of restaurants and clubs. The valet was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind remarks following your recent stay, and taking the time to acknowledge Kristin.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    199
    63
    26
    19
See reviews for
145
276
14
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I came to Charleston for a get away weekend with a girlfriend. We had a wonderful balcony room and there are tons of yummy restaurants within walking distance. Kristin at the front desk gave us an excellent recommendation about Second Sunday. We enjoyed strolling down King Street and loved the great "locals feel". We really enjoyed lounging out by the pool area and are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lacrossemom35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Valet was very courteous front desk was not helpful and actually gave wrong info. regarding shuttle bus. Restaurant was a complete disaster - waited 45 mins for very disappointing breakfast service was absolute terrible. Will not recommend and will not return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3lamkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the problems you experienced during your recent visit.
Our guest service staff are usually recognised for their outstanding service so I am very dissapointed to read your comments.
I would also like to apologise for your experience in the restaurant.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Let me address the issues about the neighborhood. I think the people with issues about the surrounding area haven't stayed in an urban city before. Yes, if you walk one block over you will be near govt housing. But this is any city you stay in. If you go a block or two in the wrong direction you are bound to be in an iffy spot. The hotel has a night guard and keyed entry. At no point did I feel unsafe except for when we went to the Bi Lo down the street. DO NOT go to the Bi Lo. To get to King street (bars/shops/restaurants) you literally turn left and walk a few yards up Woolfe St and you are in a great district. Tons of places to eat. Close to bars and shops. The hotel is in a great spot. The view isn't spectacular but really who spends that much time admiring the view from the room? The staff were awesome. Be sure to tip the valets. I would certainly stay here again. The bends were comfy and rooms well appointed and I thought the location great.

Tip: hit up the Saturday farmers market for breakfast and lunch. It's cheap and you get a great variety instead of waiting in line at some overpriced stuffy restaurant. Avoid king street bars after 10 pm unless you want to be surrounded by drunk college students.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you.
I totally agree with your comments and would like to thank you for leaving such a positive review regarding our location.
We are located in the middle of an area of the city which is being transformed each day and within the next year will experience a complete face lift.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look foward to seeing you again.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was a member of the Vietnam unit that had a reunion there on April 8th – 10th.
I was late in obtaining a room reservation, so I contacted "Jessica" and advised her of my situation.
She assured me that I would have a room and would be charged the special $139.00 rate that was being given to the reunion group.
Because I wasn’t arriving in Charleston by bus until about 9:00 A.M. on April 7th, she assured me that my room would be ready early and that I wouldn’t have to wait until the 4:00 P.M. check-in time.
When I arrived at the hotel at about 9:30 A.M., "Tammy" greeted me at the front desk.
When I identified myself, she advised me that my room was ready to check into and that there was no need for me to wait for any length of time.
During my 4-day/3-night stay there, I met with and chatted with her several times and found her to be very friendly and helpful and accommodating to me.
When I advised her that my bus would not be leaving Charleston until about 7:00 P.M. on April 10th and that I would be remaining at the hotel until late afternoon, she offered to let me stay in my room for 3 hours past the 11:00 A.M. check-out time.
That allowed me to get some extra sleep before checking out and making the long, tiring bus ride back home.
I never got to meet Jessica, but between her and Tammy, they both made the reservation process and my stay there very easy and enjoyable.
I personally rate them “5-star” employees.

Frank Lavallee
Valrico, Florida

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to recognise Tammy and Jessica, they are both valued members of the team and I appreciate all they do, everyday.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back on any future visit to Charleston.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Came to a home and garden tour in Charleston and stayed at this Holiday Inn and had a great stay. The room was beautiful, we had a great balcony patio and the room was very clean. The people were all very nice. All the valets were friendly and Brendan at the front desk was very helpful and gave us some great advice and recommendations. You can walk to town easily and there are great restaurants near the hotel. And even though they have a restaurant they still offer free coffee in the lobby. I almost always stay at Holiday inns when I travel and this is one of my favorites, it reminds me of an Indigo.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony patio on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyHile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit.
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here one nite recently. It's a brand new hotel and is nice but we were disappointed to see that the neighborhood wasn't better. We were hoping to walk to our dinner restaurant but didn't feel comfortable so we took a cab. If this hotel were several blocks further south, it would be great. We had a drink in the bar which was nice. At 5:30 am, the fire alarm went off. The manager gave all the guests a free breakfast to compensate, which was a nice touch. It seems to be a well- run hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Many thanks for leaving a review following your recent stay.
The hotel is located in an area of Downtown which is experiencing significant redevolopement and I assure you it is certainly safe.
Upper King is only one block away, where some of the city's finest restaurants can be found.
On any future visit to Charleston I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing