We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New expensive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New expensive hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We arrived in the Holiday Inn, Charleston without a reservation., We had never visited Charleston before. We stayed for one night and charged £180.00 for the room, breakfast was extra. The room was clean but average. The walk into the centre of Charleston was about 1 mile and the area near our hotel was a little bit seedy. I feel this hotel was very over priced but for a one nighter, ok . The reception staff were friendly and the staff on duty at breakfast excellent!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carto9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for the review following your recent visit.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Regarding our rates we are actually one of the most economical options in the Downtown area.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    207
    70
    28
    20
See reviews for
148
288
15
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Recently traveled to Charleston, SC for a Bestie's Weekend! Our friend found the hotel prior to our trip! She researched it and said it was off the beat'n path. Honestly, it was a perfect location, we were one block off of King street. The location was IDEAL! We walked everywhere!

The young gentleman, Brendon greeted us the first day and he was FULL of FABULOUS information and suggestions! Every suggestion he gave us was a HIT! We started calling him Full Service Brendon, yet unfortunately he was not on staff for the rest of our vacation. The hotel has a lovely pool area and great coffee AM!

Places we went were: The Grocery, The Belmont, Husk, Stars (great roof top deck), Hominy Grill, Craftsman, Pearlz Oyster Bar, Jim and Nick's BBQ.

We did not do any tours, but really explored the area. Wonderful weekend trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for the kind words.
I am glad you had a great weekend.
Brenden does a great job and I will ensure I speak with him personally when he is next at work.
Hopefully you'll plan another trip.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on 22.April 2014. This hotel is quite new and looked fine online as it did in person. We arrived in the afternoon and had one of the king rooms with a balcony. I had never been to Charleston before and on the Map the location looked convenient. However, as a well travelled person, I didn't feel too safe in that area. It is just on the wrong end of Meeting street.
On the next morning we woke up covered with bed bug bights, we literally had 40 bites per person. Upon check-out we mentioned this, the reaction was very swift and we were reinbursed promptly. I however wanted you to know that this hotel is infested by this problem. Even if we didnot have to pay for this room it left our stay in Charleston with a very bitter aftertaste.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VicSu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
While we gave you a free stay upon your departure we had our "Bed Bug" company do a thorough inspection of your room. There was no evidence of bed bugs. To date there is still no evidence of bed bugs. If desired I will gladly send you their report.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

New and very clean hotel. On the edge of the historic district but a very easy and safe walk to the historic area. Many great restaurants and shops on nearby King Street. Large rooms with good bedding. The fitness room has a good amount of equipment but the room could be bigger. Nice outdoor pool. We picked this hotel because we were told they had valet and self parking. Upon check in we were told they only had valet which was fine. But we were told the reason for no self parking was that their garage used lifts. Even more understandable for valet only. However we were very surprised when walking to dinner that night we found our car parked behind the hotel in a dirt lot with no signs of security. Our parking issues aside very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
I appreciate you leaving a review following your recent visit.
We try and park all of our guest's vehicles in our garage, unfortunately, due to the popularity of SUV'S and trucks our number of accessible spaces is sometimes limited. Our over flow lot is monitored by our security company and I am pleased to say we have not had a single incident.
With the exception of parking I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were traveling around for vacation and stayed 2 nights at the hotel. We are Platinum members so normally staying at IHG properties. This one was new and felt very clean and up to date. Liked the layout. As Platinum members, we are used to being given upgrades for our room but they must have been fairly full as we did not receive that. They did give us 2 free drink coupons which was nice.

We had a king balcony room. Nice layout. Not a great view as our view was of the liquor store, convenience store and dinner place. We did sit on our balcony to enjoy just looking around BUT strangely enough twice in a brief period of time, had the unlucky view of men relieving themselves right next to the dinner place. Just popped around the corner, upzipped and went! Since we saw this happen twice, fairly close together, we must assume this is NOT the first time this occurs here.

Other than that faux pas, really everything else was fine. The service is good. The restaurant was very good for drinks and for dinner. We had good service and very good food. Plus, we liked the layout of the restaurant. Many hotel restaurants have no ambience but this one actually does and lets you feel like you are eating at an upscale dining establishment.

It IS a long walk to much of the sight seeing areas. We are big walkers so this was not a problem. A few blocks away there is the visitors center along with a trolley so that is a good option for "non walkers". King Street has many good restaurants so we did walk there and had dinner one night.

Overall, we had a great time. Loads to see and do with quite a bit of walking (fine with us). Were a bit let down by the Aquarium as it seemed expensive for what was all viewed although it still is a very nice option especially for people with children.

Would I come back to this hotel? Probably but might wait until some of the area right around this hotel is "renewed" maybe. However, it is a nice, new property with tons of potential and offers very good value and service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
As an IHG Rewards Platinum Member we thank you for your loyalty.
We are indeed very limited in our upgrade options, however, if any of our suites or premium rooms are available, we make it a priority to ensure our Elite Members are upgraded.
I apologise for the unfortunate incident you experienced while sitting on your balcony, but am pleased to say that in a matter of months the building adjacent to the hotel is indeed going away.
Another upscale hotel is planned which will futher add to the sigificant redevelopement in the area.
On closing I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back on any future trip to Charleston.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Probably the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. We were upgraded to a balcony suite with a pool view. Bed was comfortable and clean and shower looks like it had never been used. There are free shuttles that you can jump on to take you all over town. Some of the best restaurants are minutes away on King street. Saturday hosts an amazing farmers market. Next door to the hotel is a bi lo supermarket if you need anything. I would definitely recommend

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AaronandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay.
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and our convenient location to King Street.
Hopefully we'll see you back on your next visit to Charleston.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have visited Charleston several times for our anniversary, but this was the best yet. We came to celebrate our 28th and was very pleased that we chose this hotel. I am a clean freak and was so relieved to find one of the cleanest rooms we have ever stayed in. All of the staff were wonderful, especially the valet guys. Austin and Matt went above and beyond to serve us. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a king room with a small balcony on the 4th floor. I enjoyed sitting in the chaise lounge in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southerngirl1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Many thanks for the kind words following your recent visit.
Matt and Austin do a great job and I'm glad they took care of you.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 61 in Charleston
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Address: 425 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-5526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing